Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bevis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 804 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

This school is top notch! The administration is amazing. Mrs. Cochrane takes the time to know each and every student attending Bevis. I was amazed when she welcomed my child, by name, on the first day of school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

This is an amazing school! The teachers expect that all students can and will achieve in their classroom and tend to the needs of each student. Mrs. Cochrane and Mrs. Thoms are amazing administrators. Keep up the good work Bevis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

More Bevis cool aid please. Who is keeps posting that this school is "outstanding" and the kids are "ahead" and we're all for "lucky" to send our kids here? This was not my experience at all. Like others have mentioned I choose this neighborhood for this school's reputation. I have been very disappointed. Children are passive learners forced to wear uniforms, sit in assigned seats at lunch and they don't have recess everyday. Homework is correlated with higher standardized test scores (but not actual performance) so there is plently assigned. You know what your child has for homework based on the day of the week. Zero creativity. This is the least child centered elementary school I have even seen. Your child will dread school by third grade. Bevis does not care about best practices, only data. When I finally sent my oldest to a different elementary school she was behind in math. But she scored fine on the FCAT so that's all that matters, right? If your child is average they do not want you to attend this school. They want you to choice somewhere else. Ask a question and you will be labeled a troublemaker. So drink that cool aid, conform and go take another AR test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school is outstanding. The fortunate children who attend school there are a step ahead of other students. The teachers and administrators provide a loving and nurturing environment. Most of the faculty members go above and beyond what is required of them. My three children have never had an unhappy day there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

i am a 7th grader, who now goes to Orange Grove Middle Magnet school. Bevis was the worst school i have ever stepped foot in! They don't teach for the sake of the kids, but for the FCAT! I have serious Athsma, so i missed school. I was made to feel guilty and awful about it. teachers htere show favoritism, and the PTA women were just like a bunch of high school girls! Gossiping and talking about other parents who don't drive fancy cars. Please stay away from this "blue ribon school"


Posted July 22, 2013

Awesome - incredible staff who are passionate about teaching and genuinely care for their students. Academically this school is rigorous and prepares students for middle school so that when they arrive they are WAY ahead of their peers! Just a fabulous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

When kids exit this school in 5th grade they are light years ahead of those in surrounding schools. The principal is outstanding, knows the kids by name and is involved. It is an A rated school because they teach the kids. We moved to Fishhawk b/c of the school and it was an EXCELLENT decision. Every school has its negatives and people want to point this out when they don't get their way, but it is hard to argue being a top ranked school. PE, Art, etc is a STATE issue not the school. Just b/c your child can't handle the school, doesn't make this school inferior. Home school them, they can be class Valedictorian of 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

Fabulous school, outstanding administration, dedicated teachers and staff!!!! Bevis is a wonderful school where children s individual needs are always taken into account every day. The principal knows every student by name and always goes out of her way to talk to and get to know students and their families. She is without a doubt one of the most caring and supportive school leaders a school could have. Bevis is so successful on the FCAT because they focus on providing good quality instruction for students. I have had children at Bevis for eight years and with my oldest now in middle school I can t express how grateful I am for the education they received at Bevis. My oldest was a struggling reader in the 1st grade and with the supports and education she received throughout her years at Bevis she is thriving academically and made straight A s throughout her entire 6th grade year! I moved to Fishhawk 9 years ago so that my children could attend Bevis Elementary it was one of the best decisions I have ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

This school is so overated! The principal in condescending and rude unless you have money, social status or on her Board in some capacity. It's amazing to me just how many people are fooled by this school. To put it bluntly, everything is not as good as it seems. Be Careful before you reassign your child here or attend here coming in from another state. They are FCAT driven and that's all that matters to them. I wouldn't even give them a one star if I didn't have to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

What a fantastic school! The administration and teachers do an excellent job supporting, challenging and motivating ALL students. Administration is very involved, responsive to parents and does an excellent job communicating with all families. We've moved here 6 years ago with our 3 children, our oldest child (who has a learning disability) was behind academically and struggling. The support and resources he received from the teachers and counselor at Bevis was outstanding! He has gone on to have a successful and positive middle school experience. Bevis has given all 3 of our children a strong foundation and has prepared them to be successful. We have been fortunate to attend Bevis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

perhaps the guidance counselor should read the schools mission statement on a daily basis.If your child has a learning disability or ADHD,poor attendance record(allergy induced asthma)-BEVIS is not the school for your child.My grandchild was humiliated, embarrassed and made to feel inferior,so much so, that tears would be streaming down her cheeks on the car ride to school. The several" talks" the guidance counselor had with her(that I was never informed of) left her feeling terrible-that was the objective and I am so glad I took her out of the BLUE RIBBON SCHOOL. I am so grateful for the wonderful teacher she had who tried desperately to undo the damage that was being done to her self esteem. My grand daughter is a right brain learner and is thoroughly enjoying learning again.The staff at Bevis is more concerned with statistics and titles than the CHILD. SHAME ON ALL OF YOU!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Bevis is a great school! The focus is on learning. I love that the administration does not allow interruptions during instructional time. I have never seen a school with such a strong focus. Teachers are generally positive and less gossipy than other schools. Be aware that if you come from another school, your children may be "behind" by Bevis standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

We are so fortunate to have our children at Bevis Elementary. (We moved to this community- as so many others did- so our kids could attend.) The teachers, administration and staff do amazing things with ALL children who have different educational needs, and go above & beyone each day. The parents at Bevis are more like family and all pitch in to help each other both in and out of school. The school and it's organizations do an excellent job of communcating with all families. There are a lot of opportunities for anyone who wants to get involved in any capacity (both at home and at school) to participate. Information is communicated via email from class moms & teachers, notices that the school sends, meetings, a weekly newsletter, etc. (So it would be hard not to get involved because EVERYONE is invited!) It's #1 in FL for a reason!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

The academics are very good for Florida. However, writing at the 5th grade level is almost non-existent which is a major concern for anyone moving to states with schools rated above 40th in the nation. Bevis is a very political place which can be detrimental to some children, particularly those that do not come from two parent households. Some members of the PTA executive board misuse their position as a platform for gossip, often in front of children (holding a hand up in front of one's mouth while badmouthing does not keep the sound down.) The incoming PTA executive board voted themselves in by holding a meeting on stage just before the 5th grade end of year play (where less than 1/8 of the school parental population attended and precious few took seriously.) Try an inclusive Survey Monkey nomination/ballot system - much more transparent when huge donation spending is key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

If you are moving to the Tampa area, I highly recommend moving to FishHawk and specifically to a home where your kids can go to Bevis. Top, top quality school. My child is learning much more than friends in the area at other schools. Highly Recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

We moved here 5 years ago when Bevis was the no.1 elementary school in Florida, this year it again is No.1 in Florida. We have always put our children in private schools until we moved to FishHawk. The principal knows each child by name and truly cares about them succeeding.Their PTA is so involved... Bevis has parents lining up to help.. other schools in the area are begging for help. I know several famiies that have chosen school of choice just to get them in Bevis. They have a choir, chess club, math teams I can go on and on... There is a reason why Bevis has beat out all other 'A' rated school in the area and repeatedly has been rated number 1 in Florida. Kids that come out of Bevis truely have an advantage over other schools when they go on to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

we LOVE Bevis! We moved to FishHawk for the school. Not only does it have high academic standards, but all of the adults are friendly and loving towards the children. There are a ton of parent volunteers, also. We've attended a school in the past that stressed test scores only - and Bevis is NOT that kind of school. It is high energy, fun, rigorous and positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Love the princpals and cant wait for my kids to start in the Fall. FishHawk is such a great community i know its goingto be awesome for us all. We are very blessed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

To the person who said 'stay away!' from this school because they focus on FCAT is mistaken. The FCAT is at every school and thats the way it is - it might not be what we all want for the kids, but that's not the school's fault. It's the states requirement and the school is just doing it's job.


Posted March 1, 2009

When we moved to Fishhawk with pre-school aged children everyone told us how much we would love Bevis. I did not realize exactly what they meant until my daughter started Kindergarten last year. The principal is enthusiastic, involved, friendly to the students, and responsive to the parents. All the teachers that I have had experience with have been exceptional. Their gifted program is wonderful. I am also very pleased with the art, music, and PE programs. It is difficult to really explain the positive environment at Bevis. My child, who is now in first grade, loves going to school every day. The PTA is very well organized. The parent involvement and sense of community is superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%67%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5720 Osprey Ridge Drive
Lithia, FL 33547
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 740-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT