Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Milwee Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1229 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, October 14, 2014

The teacher and staff are great, and the curriculum is something to die for...when it's done right. I have many classes which I immensely enjoy, gaining pleasure and knowledge from each lesson I learn, but there are classes that lack in this. Greatly, might I add. This isn't the teacher's fault, but mostly the students. Let me just say, many of them are plain rude, disrespectful, pompous, and they do nothing but laugh and mock the teacher whenever s/he tries to ask them to stop. Some teachers are able to bring the noise level down, but if a student is unfortunate enough to have an overly kind teacher, well, they're aren't going to learn very much from that class. Not only that, but bullying is quite evident here. There many students who cuss one another out, laugh at a kid who's a bit different, or basically talk about one another behind their back. I even hear kids repeatedly call some girls ugly behind their back, or do horrid crimes such as disparage another classmate who's nationality is different from theirs. Some even proclaim that they smoke weed, and expect to be highly praise for it. Overall, taking a shy kid to this school is like giving him a ticket to hell.


Posted March 17, 2014

As I do understand, many people that will read a review from a child probably will not take it into consideration, but, I have the best first hand evidence than any parent or visitor could have. I am in 6th grade, enrolled in the pre-IB program, and wouldn't leave this school for anything. I am absolutely astounded by the quality of the school including fellow students and teachers. However, I would have to say that I do not recommend the standard program. Most of the school is focused on the pre-IB students. So if enrolled in the standard program, your child will learn, but not blossom as much as other schools. However, if your child is qualified for the pre-IB program than I more than welcome you to attend Milwee. Seeing my older brother transfer from Teaugue middle school to high school was a sad thing. He was qualified to attend the Pre-IB program at milwee, but decided upon Teague. He was not as prepared as would have been, but managed to somewhat succeed his first year as a freshmen. Milwee is a wonderful school that does dozens of classes and projects that could never be attended by any other school. Going to school is very fun, especially with the amazing teachers.


Posted November 7, 2013

My child has attended for 2 years now, and we've had no issues at all. The PTA is lacking a bit but the IB program my child is in is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

i hate this school and wish i could take my son out..so much bullying and bad language... teachers seem to not care... if i could giive 0 stars.. i would
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

Yes, there are fights. Yes there is a "ghetto" mentality, gangs, drugs and even sex in middle school. So why am I giving this school 4 stars? Because the Pre-IB program is pretty amazing. The teachers were among the best my child has ever had. The counselors care, too. The problems academically here are all common throughout the county -- not enough funding and too many "sunshine state" rules. The teachers, however, were amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

I see after thirty plus years this school hasn't changed on we bit. Why hasn't the state come in and improved the school? This is 2013 not 1970


Posted January 27, 2013

Education: Bad, other schools are much more ahead. Bullying/Fights; A lot of fights and don't be surprised if you get bullied here Teachers: most are nice but some don't do their job well Electives: Ok. its fun to have band to get your mind off of schoolwork


Posted January 10, 2011

unfriendly, bullying, loud screaming children on buses, rude students, and many bystanders that do nothing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

I attend Milwee. I know you may be thinking that I am a child and I don't know anything, but, unlike any parent, I have more first-hand experience. I believe the standard program is a terrible learning environment, so if your kids aren't the brightest, they won't blossom. As for the pre-ib program, it's amazing! They have the best teachers money could buy! These classes challenge you and make you grow. Most everyone is positive and willing to help you out. As for the person below me, I doubt they even know what they are talking about. We barely have any fights, and the ones that do happen are taken care of by the wonderful deans. I don't think the principal is qualified though. She comes from a rich school with many assets. Milwee is a poorer school and she throws around money like its nothing. Did she really have to paint the lamp posts?... I think this school needs work, but it's a pretty good experience.


Posted October 21, 2010

I am not sure what the prior person experienced who stated they only cater to GIfted, I don't see that , My chiild Struggled with the Language arts , he was in Millwee for 6th grade and is now in Milwee for 7th grade. I stay in communication with the teachers and they correspond with me also we work as a team. My daughter was struggling in 5th grade and had a very hard time barely making C's, she is now attending Milwee in the 6th grade and she is flourishing, she is practicaly a straight A student. They are very strict against any violence wether in self defense or not they want the children to find non physical ways to resolve conflicts and while parents maynot agree, in todays society I dont think educators/parents can give a thumbs up to any violence kids dont use just fists anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

This is the worst school I have ever sent my children to. I will me taking them out as soon as possible. These teachers have no clue on how to disipline a child~ no leadership skills and if your child isnt 'perfect' forget about sending your kids here. They ONLY cater to the gifted kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

This is a wonderful school, we come from Colombia and my son began on 6th grade without knowledge of the English language, and he received a excellent support by his teachers, now in 7th grade he is in advance level of ESOL program, and he is a PRE-IB student with a great grades. I think is the best place for my son study and preparer to his high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

5 Star school! Better than a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2008

I attended milwee in the 6th grade, then moved to tampa, but i thoroughly enjoyed Milwee. Great teachers, great environmet, great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

I am a current student and love the JROTC. Pre-IB is a great program for any one who needs a challenge
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2006

The gifted program has outstanding teachers who constantly exceed our expectations. We have had two of our children go through the program, and both have repeatedly stated that they were more than prepared for advanced placement classes at the high school. We are consistently amazed at the breadth and depth knowledge they have acquired in three years of middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

Acedemic programs are stellar, extracurricular activities are available to encourage independent growth, teachers are fantastic, and parent involvement could improve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 5, 2004

I am a student at Milwee Middle School. I have experienced a great deal of learning experiences, hands on activities, and have met some wonderful people. I am currently part of the gifted program and I cherish all my time spent there. The teachers which I have are so wonderful it's beyond words. I wouldn't transfer schools for anything. For me, Milwee has been perpetual bliss!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2004

I just moved from NY and I am very disappointed in the quality of education at this school. It is a few weeks away from the end of the school year and he is still being taught things that he learned months ago in NY. I went to Milwee the other day to a cultural day event that was being held. I was shocked at the total state of chaos on the school grounds. Most of the teachers seemed as if they did not care and did not want to be there. The kids were basically 'hanging out.' My son hardly gets any homework and he has a substitute teacher almost every day! I don't think I will keep him in this school. He is very bright and I don't want him to lose that. Worse case scenario, I will send him back to NY to live with his dad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2004

Milwee is an outstanding school. The teachers are very dedicated and caring. They take great pride in each child's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

391 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

412 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

411 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

424 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

425 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

423 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

346 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
76%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

12 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 46%
Hispanic 28%
Black 19%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 194%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%53%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. MICHELLE WALSH
Fax number
  • (407) 746-3899

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1341 South Ronald Reagan Boulevard
Longwood, FL 32750
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-3850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Smith Prep
Longwood, FL


Ampersand School
Longwood, FL


St Mark's Kindergarten
Altamonte Springs, FL


Altamonte Christian School
Altamonte Springs, FL



The Trinity School
Fern Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT