Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lyman High School

Public | PK, 9 | 2489 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

Lyman High school is the best kept secret in Seminole County. It is a fantastic school with great students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 4, 2014

Lyman High School is now an "A" school thanks to the hard work and passion of the students, teachers, and faculty. This school is highly underestimated and seems to have a bad reputation, but is actually a very good school that is beginning to show its high academic and athletic standards.


Posted September 26, 2013

School seems to struggle with a tight budget, but they seem to make it work. Recently transferred here from a school in a different state, and I can tell you that this school is very laid back compared to northern schools.


Posted January 16, 2013

New principal is making kids hate school. And these are the good kids. The trouble makers should have been weeded out long ago. Now everyone gets to suffer for prior lack of discipline. If you are late to class more than once you have to go to "Wednesday school", missing other classes. If you are late again, you have to miss DAYS of classes! Makes no sense to miss SEVERAL CLASSES because you were late to ONE. That's just stupid. I agree that it is important to show up to class every day, but prison rules are extreme. Only 5 parent notes (excused absenses) are allowed per SEMESTER. So if your child is sick, you need to decide whether they are sick enough to keep home. This of course means that there will be tons of sick kids spreading germs back and forth, instead of just staying home for a day or two. And these new prison policies will make the borderline students who are always 1 or 2 bad grades away from dropping out run for the hills. This will affect the graduation rate and drive the school grade down rapidly. By the way, my child is in mainly AP classes and has to be there every day anyway, and only misses 1-2 days a year. And now hates Lyman. Way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

poor leadership, low parental involvement, no consequences for discipline infractions, students liken the school to a prison and teachers walk on egg shells because of administrators who have little to no experience in the classroom.


Posted February 22, 2011

the teacher do not have respect for the students, I'm a handycap parent who is gravely ill in the hospital, and one of her teachers keeps tellin her that she is using that to make teachers sorry for her in top of that he told her today that he was going to get her out of the school no matter what it takes, the school is Lymman in Longwood Florida
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Lyman High School has some of the greatest hard work teachers and faculty staff. They are doing great things with their students and have awesome programs for the students to excel and enroll in to better prepare them for the Professional Business environment. They push the bar for their students to reach the ultimate goal, SUCCESS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Excellent school, excellent programs! What an amazing group of young adults also. As an alumni of Lyman, it's been wonderful to see my child attend the same school I was fortunate enough to attend. The engineering academy is an amazing addition that offers these bright minds avenues that will enable their success in life after high school. Kudos to Lyman High and the faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

Lyman High School is everything a student and parent could ask for. The opportunities to excell academically are limitless. With programs like the 'Institute for Engineering', 'Teacher Internships' and 'On the Job Training', Lyman High offers a more un-conventional ways to educate and prepare you for life after k-12. They also host a pre-school program where students interested in a career in education can take a course and learn hands-on. OH! And their athletics are awesome. Football games and pep rallys unite the school and the community. A++++
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2008

I am a student of longwood and I love longwood. THe enviroment is so friendly, especially the people, and they give you some great activities that keep you focused and busy. I give this school an A.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

Lyman High School has been touted as 'Seminole County's Best Kept Secret'...I tend to agree with this assessment. As aq parent who has become very engaged with the marching band program at Lyman, I've had a chance to interact with many of the administrators, parents and students and I have to say that Lyman truly exemplifies the concept of community. The Lyman spirit is definitely spreading and we're all part of something very special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

I think this is a great schoo. It not only offers an abondous amount of electives and opprtunities (The Engineering Program), but it also contains an incredible staff of teachers and guidance counselors. I believe that I am very priveledged to be at this school, and nothing would make me more proud than to know that i graduated at Lyman High School of Longwood, Florida.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2007

Absolutely outshines it's somewhat understated reputation. Student bonding is incredible, and unlike some other high schools in Seminole County, Lyman's reputation and student body are one in the same: Fresh, honest, and together. Nothing phony about Lyman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

Lyman is a wonderful school there are so many clubs to get involed in. overall A-
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2006

Good school. Lots of things to do and it is overall a safe and kind enviroment. Although the 2006-2007 schedule is a complete mess and the rules are too harsh along with the tardy/absent policy it is too strict for a Public School. I could understand if it is a private school and we were paying to go to Lyman(yeah right) but it is too much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2006

I am a current student at lyman and i think that it is a good school. not great but good. The teachers are pretty good, but there is alot of segregation among the students. and the principal is 'ok'. there is alot of room for improvement but the school is in pretty good condidtion. i like it here so far.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2006

This is a top notch school. I say this as a PTSA board member for all four years my daughter ahs attended. She'll graduate as a senior this year, and we can honestly say she has been encouraged to be the best she can, and to take advantage of every opportunity the school has to offer. She's been encouraged and challenged to take AP classes (more are available at Lyman than any other school in the district), with AP Psycholgy as the best Lyman has to offer. She's been given leadership opportunities, has participated in athletics, internships, and work study. The help from the guidance staff towards her college aspirations has been terrific. With the support of parents, a student can reach their potential. Even after my daughter graduates, I look forward to continuing my support for this school as a participant in the Seminole County Teach-In.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

Both my children have gone to ANLC since they were 5 years old. ANLC is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. She is a great example of a leader and I will miss seeing her everyday as my daughter graduates this year. Thank you ANLC for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2005

I am a current student at lyman high school and I love it here. It's a great environment and multicultural. The teachers are good, the sports are fine. I think the rules are a little too strict. It was better last year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2005

I feel that this is a very good school. I also feel that this school did not provide my child with the experience with exams for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

638 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 22%
Black 16%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 79%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%53%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN URICHKO
Fax number
  • (407) 746-2006

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

865 South Ronald Reagan Boulevard
Longwood, FL 32750
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-2050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Smith Prep
Longwood, FL


Ampersand School
Longwood, FL



Altamonte Elementary School
Altamonte Springs, FL


St Mark's Kindergarten
Altamonte Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT