Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rock Lake Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 942 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

Overall the majority of the teachers are great. They are very helpful and supportive towards kids, and they are respectful. There are always those few teachers though that should not be teachers. The administration, mostly the principle, is the main problem of the school. The students are no longer allowed to sit where they choose at lunch. They are required to file into the lunch room by class and are assigned seats. They then have to wait to be dismissed from the table to go buy their lunch. Throughout the lunch time they have to raise their hand to get up. Students are required to wear lanyards with their student ID's on it. Kids here are treated like elementary students who are given no freedom. In some areas even elementary students have more freedom then the middle schoolers at RLMS. I am very disappointed with the administration, and think there needs to be a change. The academic area is very high, and kids receive a good education. Their leadership program is very unsuccessful, and all they do is lecture students during their meetings, but nothing is ever really accomplished. I loved my 6th grade year, but once changes were made I hated my 7th and 8th grade years.


Posted February 29, 2012

Can you believe the rock won an award for a Bullying program, the Bullying continues everyday as if there was no program in place. The staff are sick of dealing with it. The kids are sick of being bullied! The school simply does know how to deal with all of these out of zone kids that do not fit in!. The students are NOT allowed to sit with there friends during lunch. The admin. is punishing the zoned students for the admin. errors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

My daughter is finishing 8th grade, and althought we as parents have had no real problems with her teachers, we are sick of the school and the administrative dept., as well as many teachers, just turning their heads at bullying. Thankfully, our daughter has not had issues herselt until 8th graade.......the school can care less. Also, shame on you for bringing in a Christian group called Beta Club. The world is not all Chirstian and this is part of segregation. The rules instated by the school re: ID Badges (which do NOOOO good except for giving bullies the name of the person they want to bully) and assigned LUNCH seating. You are taking our kids and treating them like NO ONE and NOTHING. We, as a family cannot wait until she graduates. You administrative people and the principal have alot to work on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

Administration brought in a Christian based group called Beta Club under the idea that u must be a top notch student. The problem is, Administration is deceiving the students and parents and has NOT informed them that usually small back woods Christian schools are members and supporters. Shame on You!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

My son recently completed 3 years at Rock Lake and he is my second child to attend this school. It is not the school it once was. The principal and current administration are the primary reason for the decline. The principal rules through fear and favoritism. No longer is there an atmosphere of respect and fostering growth and positve encouragement - along with high academic achievement. Parents are not welcomed as Dividend volunteers and are treated with hostility. Sadly my son was not adequately prepared for high school due to the low expectations of the curriculm. Very dissappointing considering the experience my older child had before the current principal arrived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2011

My son just completed 6th grade at Rock Lake. The teachers were great and the administration was accessible and involved. My son is an IEP student and he received the extra attention that he needed to succeed. I highly recommend RLMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

I've been a student here for three years now. The administration is ignorant. The teachers are very rude to the kids and get away with it. The school really is all about popularity. The principal doesn't know what she's doing, and neither do 75% of the teachers. Rock Lake is very unfair with how they pick sides with students and never listen to the other side. They never do any investigation of any situations and automatically pick sides based on who they like more. Don't send your kids here.


Posted January 13, 2011

Very disappointed in this school, more specifically, since the new principal has taken the helm. My son spent the worst years of his life here, being bullied because of a disability. With the exception of a few of the gifted teachers, the faculty is clueless and the principal is running a popularity contest. When I was finally granted "an audiance" with the prinicpal, she told me that my son should "just ignore" being bullied. That, to me, speaks volumes. I am putting my 5th grader in a magnet program at different middle school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

I can agree with previous statements that there have been cuts. I'm extremely disappointed with the administration. Bullying is defiantly a concern. There is also favoritism with students. Teachers lack of experience with special needs children. The principal is one of the worst to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

Rock Lake is an overall outstanding school. Though due to the recession they've had to cut a lot of electives. Teachers really don't prepare you for what's up ahead. The principal is fine, but can be uptight at times. Overall though great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2010

Rock Lake middle school has some really good teachers that do an excellent job teaching, and really seem to care about students. But not all teachers are good teachers and there seems to be an equal mix of the 2 at this school! Bullying is a major problem at this school. From what my children & other students have told me most the teachers and the administration look the other way most the time when it comes to bulling. Then there are a few that go to the extreme favoring one child over another on pure opinion instead of facts. I am personally disappointed with the administration when I had some concerns. There are little to no Extracurricular Activities offered at this school this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

This school is great. It provides you with many learning oppurtunities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2009

My daughter's teachers were definately under my expectations. Half can not even grade papers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

Amazing School!! I think its the best school!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

It's like the best middle school in Seminole County I think :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

i love this school , im a cheerleader for it right now and its the greatest school i have better grades evverytime i get a reportcard they just keep getting better
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2007

I was a student at Rock Lake for all 3 years,h. Rock Lake gives an outstanding basic education but upon leaving 8th grade for freshman year in high school, i found myself drowning in the amount of work and difficulty of work in high school. The teachers did not prepare anyone in my 8th grade honors classes well enough as they should've, and due to this we all have to work super hard to get good grade for the next 3 years. I was involved in band, which Rock Lake excells at, Mr. Hedgecoth is an excellent teacher Safety is also an issue.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2007

The gifted program at Rock Lake Middle School is wonderful! My child was happy and involved throughout her three years there. Make sure you have the teachers email addresses and you keep in contact. There is no reason why you cannot get involved and volunteer. The quality of the parents as well as the children is A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

Rock Lake has outstanding curriculum programs that keep students interested and involved. The faculty members are dedicated to helping students work up to their highest potential. As parents we found it extremely difficult to work with the principal, who is very cold and unyielding. The administrative staff is frequently unable to provide accurate or timely communications with parents. Teacher turnover has increased leading to speculation that the leadership provided leaves something to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

Great academic programs, teachers really connect with students, classes, projects are fun and interesting. The teachers have really awakened academic passions in my two children. I wish there was more time and organization for lunch and phys-ed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

289 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

322 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 18%
Black 8%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%53%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. PAMELA SHELLMAN
Fax number
  • (407) 746-9399

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Slade Drive
Longwood, FL 32750
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-9350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Smith Prep
Longwood, FL


St Mark's Kindergarten
Altamonte Springs, FL


Alternative Choices In Education
Altamonte Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT