Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Longwood, FL
Students enrolled: 942
 

3 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

30 reviews of this school


Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a community member
Rock Lake Middle School is basically a jail. The students are treated like prisoners with overly strict rules, the manditory use of lanyards, and the lack of freedom. The school is in major need of updating. The students have only the option to choose band, chorus, and robotics as their electives, all other electives are randomly given out to students. Some teachers are not prepared to teach their class, especially in the math department. Teachers lack enthusiasm and rarely do anything fun in class. The kids have no choice on where to sit in the cafeteria and only have 2 minutes of free time outside. Overall major improvements are needed at Rock Lake.

Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
My experience is that this school has shown many examples of poor leadership, surprising unorganization with lackluster enthusiasm. There are some great teachers who stand out, but not nearly enough. Many of my child's teachers have no passion and are just dead lifeless robots. Too many teachers display a sense of dissatisfaction and unhappiness there. This school is not impressive, it gets a grade of a C - .


Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted June 10, 2013
- a community member
Overall the majority of the teachers are great. They are very helpful and supportive towards kids, and they are respectful. There are always those few teachers though that should not be teachers. The administration, mostly the principle, is the main problem of the school. The students are no longer allowed to sit where they choose at lunch. They are required to file into the lunch room by class and are assigned seats. They then have to wait to be dismissed from the table to go buy their lunch. Throughout the lunch time they have to raise their hand to get up. Students are required to wear lanyards with their student ID's on it. Kids here are treated like elementary students who are given no freedom. In some areas even elementary students have more freedom then the middle schoolers at RLMS. I am very disappointed with the administration, and think there needs to be a change. The academic area is very high, and kids receive a good education. Their leadership program is very unsuccessful, and all they do is lecture students during their meetings, but nothing is ever really accomplished. I loved my 6th grade year, but once changes were made I hated my 7th and 8th grade years.

Rock Lake Middle School 3

Posted December 08, 2012
- a community member
Okay as you can see from the comments below this school isn't AMAZING but really what school is? In my current experience of rock lake middle school as a student I can tell you they have ups and downs. There is bullying as stated before but I don't think its really that 'big' since its rare to see. The teachers has LOTS of favoritism which can bring some students who try their best to get attention from teachers but you get use to it. Their band is AMAZING!!!! I always can't wait til band class since it's always so much fun because the teacher is funny, has no favoritism and teaches us greatly well. All the teachers I had does a great job with teaching the class! The lunch food taste great! but sometimes I wish they change up the food in every line and not only the value meal line.

Rock Lake Middle School 4

Posted November 30, 2012
- a community member
The School has a weird and messed up Bell Schedule. If I were to go there, it would be so hard and confusing. What kind of school goes to a certain class period 3 times a day? They also have early release 3 times in a row!


Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
Can you believe the rock won an award for a Bullying program, the Bullying continues everyday as if there was no program in place. The staff are sick of dealing with it. The kids are sick of being bullied! The school simply does know how to deal with all of these out of zone kids that do not fit in!. The students are NOT allowed to sit with there friends during lunch. The admin. is punishing the zoned students for the admin. errors!

Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is finishing 8th grade, and althought we as parents have had no real problems with her teachers, we are sick of the school and the administrative dept., as well as many teachers, just turning their heads at bullying. Thankfully, our daughter has not had issues herselt until 8th graade.......the school can care less. Also, shame on you for bringing in a Christian group called Beta Club. The world is not all Chirstian and this is part of segregation. The rules instated by the school re: ID Badges (which do NOOOO good except for giving bullies the name of the person they want to bully) and assigned LUNCH seating. You are taking our kids and treating them like NO ONE and NOTHING. We, as a family cannot wait until she graduates. You administrative people and the principal have alot to work on.

Rock Lake Middle School 2

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
Administration brought in a Christian based group called Beta Club under the idea that u must be a top notch student. The problem is, Administration is deceiving the students and parents and has NOT informed them that usually small back woods Christian schools are members and supporters. Shame on You!


Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted October 02, 2011
- a parent
My son recently completed 3 years at Rock Lake and he is my second child to attend this school. It is not the school it once was. The principal and current administration are the primary reason for the decline. The principal rules through fear and favoritism. No longer is there an atmosphere of respect and fostering growth and positve encouragement - along with high academic achievement. Parents are not welcomed as Dividend volunteers and are treated with hostility. Sadly my son was not adequately prepared for high school due to the low expectations of the curriculm. Very dissappointing considering the experience my older child had before the current principal arrived.

Rock Lake Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2011
- a parent
My son just completed 6th grade at Rock Lake. The teachers were great and the administration was accessible and involved. My son is an IEP student and he received the extra attention that he needed to succeed. I highly recommend RLMS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rock Lake Middle School
250 Slade Drive, Longwood, FL  32750
(407) 746-9350
Last modified Rock Lake Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rock Lake Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top