Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

877 students|Seminole
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rock Lake Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2016
- a student
The school will always be my favorite but the only issue is the super strick rules there like rips on your thighs or a womans bra strap showing. I was wearing a simple v-neck t shirt and made me change because of my breast. Most teachers are very vert strick and are like robote with no fun in the class room, some amazing teachers are Mrs.Waldo the band teacher is the sweetest. Mr.bugos understands what kids have so much eork and tries giving less work so kids don't have ti stress so much. The worst thing about the school is lunch and free time they get 2 mins after lunch to talk and have to sit in line order with class, dismissed by table, it serious feels like prison at lunch, but yea shoutout to Mrs.waldo for being the best teacher

Rock Lake Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 03, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Waldo and Mrs. Lugo were instrumental in making Luke feel welcome and a part of the team.


Rock Lake Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2016
- a community member
Our son will be entering the 7th Grade at Rock Lake for the coming school year. He spend 6th Grade at Rock Lake, and it was a very positive experience. He comes in with some challenges... ASD, ADHD, Dysgraphia, and EFD. He is mainstreamed, and the assistance provided from the IEP staff has been stellar. Gifted teachers are outstanding. There is a bit of fighting at this school, but it seems to be addressed and handled immediately. The Band teacher is amazing, and my son thoroughly enjoyed this teacher along with his Science teacher. Great school, great admin... all in all, a terrific experience.

Rock Lake Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
shes no longer there but shout out to Rachel ostrow. she strived to help my son receive the education he deserved

Rock Lake Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
boring and lack luster the teacher remaining lost their passion to educate. as well as update teaching methods to accodmate different learning styles


Rock Lake Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
this is neutral/ several boys instigated my son into throwing gum at a girl he got suspended and the other boys involved did not get reprimanded at all

Rock Lake Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
the students were more caring and compassionate and help to my son than most adults here

Rock Lake Middle School 2

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
my son with an IEP was singled out and bullied not by the students but by staff . One going as far as to saying my son with autism was turning it on and off at his convenience. The teachers have favorites and are likely due to whose parents make the most money. it is a good school if you are wealthy and . and plan not to have a child with any type of disability


Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a community member
Rock Lake Middle School is basically a jail. The students are treated like prisoners with overly strict rules, the manditory use of lanyards, and the lack of freedom. The school is in major need of updating. The students have only the option to choose band, chorus, and robotics as their electives, all other electives are randomly given out to students. Some teachers are not prepared to teach their class, especially in the math department. Teachers lack enthusiasm and rarely do anything fun in class. The kids have no choice on where to sit in the cafeteria and only have 2 minutes of free time outside. Overall major improvements are needed at Rock Lake.

Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
My experience is that this school has shown many examples of poor leadership, surprising unorganization with lackluster enthusiasm. There are some great teachers who stand out, but not nearly enough. Many of my child's teachers have no passion and are just dead lifeless robots. Too many teachers display a sense of dissatisfaction and unhappiness there. This school is not impressive, it gets a grade of a C - .

Nearby schools

Rock Lake Middle School
250 Slade Drive, Longwood, FL  32750
(407) 746-9350
Last modified Rock Lake Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top