Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

877 students|Seminole
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rock Lake Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
shes no longer there but shout out to Rachel ostrow. she strived to help my son receive the education he deserved

Rock Lake Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
boring and lack luster the teacher remaining lost their passion to educate. as well as update teaching methods to accodmate different learning styles


Rock Lake Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
this is neutral/ several boys instigated my son into throwing gum at a girl he got suspended and the other boys involved did not get reprimanded at all

Rock Lake Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
the students were more caring and compassionate and help to my son than most adults here

Rock Lake Middle School 2

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
my son with an IEP was singled out and bullied not by the students but by staff . One going as far as to saying my son with autism was turning it on and off at his convenience. The teachers have favorites and are likely due to whose parents make the most money. it is a good school if you are wealthy and . and plan not to have a child with any type of disability


Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a community member
Rock Lake Middle School is basically a jail. The students are treated like prisoners with overly strict rules, the manditory use of lanyards, and the lack of freedom. The school is in major need of updating. The students have only the option to choose band, chorus, and robotics as their electives, all other electives are randomly given out to students. Some teachers are not prepared to teach their class, especially in the math department. Teachers lack enthusiasm and rarely do anything fun in class. The kids have no choice on where to sit in the cafeteria and only have 2 minutes of free time outside. Overall major improvements are needed at Rock Lake.

Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
My experience is that this school has shown many examples of poor leadership, surprising unorganization with lackluster enthusiasm. There are some great teachers who stand out, but not nearly enough. Many of my child's teachers have no passion and are just dead lifeless robots. Too many teachers display a sense of dissatisfaction and unhappiness there. This school is not impressive, it gets a grade of a C - .

Rock Lake Middle School 1

Posted June 10, 2013
- a community member
Overall the majority of the teachers are great. They are very helpful and supportive towards kids, and they are respectful. There are always those few teachers though that should not be teachers. The administration, mostly the principle, is the main problem of the school. The students are no longer allowed to sit where they choose at lunch. They are required to file into the lunch room by class and are assigned seats. They then have to wait to be dismissed from the table to go buy their lunch. Throughout the lunch time they have to raise their hand to get up. Students are required to wear lanyards with their student ID's on it. Kids here are treated like elementary students who are given no freedom. In some areas even elementary students have more freedom then the middle schoolers at RLMS. I am very disappointed with the administration, and think there needs to be a change. The academic area is very high, and kids receive a good education. Their leadership program is very unsuccessful, and all they do is lecture students during their meetings, but nothing is ever really accomplished. I loved my 6th grade year, but once changes were made I hated my 7th and 8th grade years.


Rock Lake Middle School 3

Posted December 08, 2012
- a community member
Okay as you can see from the comments below this school isn't AMAZING but really what school is? In my current experience of rock lake middle school as a student I can tell you they have ups and downs. There is bullying as stated before but I don't think its really that 'big' since its rare to see. The teachers has LOTS of favoritism which can bring some students who try their best to get attention from teachers but you get use to it. Their band is AMAZING!!!! I always can't wait til band class since it's always so much fun because the teacher is funny, has no favoritism and teaches us greatly well. All the teachers I had does a great job with teaching the class! The lunch food taste great! but sometimes I wish they change up the food in every line and not only the value meal line.

Rock Lake Middle School 4

Posted November 30, 2012
- a community member
The School has a weird and messed up Bell Schedule. If I were to go there, it would be so hard and confusing. What kind of school goes to a certain class period 3 times a day? They also have early release 3 times in a row!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rock Lake Middle School
250 Slade Drive, Longwood, FL  32750
(407) 746-9350
Last modified Rock Lake Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rock Lake Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top