Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Osceola Creek Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 617 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2011

I am extremely happy with Osceola. Mr. Alfonso is an excellent principal caring but at the same time strict about following the rules. I particularily admire how serious bullying is taken at Osceola. Also I cannot say enough about Mr. and Mrs. Aldoretta. The school district is fortunate to have such dedicated teachers. I just hope that I have the same to say about Seminole Ridge. You will be missed. Maria Grosfeld
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Teachers only notify you when your child is failing and is too late to do anything. Every week I get not only 1, but 3 phone calls with automated messages that you cant understand. Teachers do not update Edline. I am lucky to have an update from 1 teacher every 2 weeks and that is only because of their pay schedule. They send important notifications home with your child and if you dont get it, oh well! So tired of the school system and I cant wait to have all the kids out of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I have had my children in public school for many years. I was amazed to see the progress that my son is making this year. The exceptional way in which one teacher has influenced his life astounds me. I have received multiple phone calls from Mr. Winkles letting me know my son's status in his class, areas for which he needs improvement. Mr. Winkles also calls me when there is good news to be shared!. In all my years of public education, I have never experienced a teacher so involved in the desired success of his students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Overall this school is great, but there ia a prejudice going on in the school. Students from Belle Glade and Rivera are treated much different and have to go the extra mile to be accepted in this small community. New teachers have been place here and are only there to receive a pay check. The principal is on point has handles situations with a great deal of care, but if i had to do it all over again although i can afford private school i would send my child to Lake Shore Middle School where she would be accepted no matter her race.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

This school is the best school you will ever find in Florida! Great principal! Really strict but thats what makes this school live through the day. Only 1 problem. The county is making them ship in kids from belglade. And Belglade is a Horrible place. So their making the school a 9 NOT a 10. Im not racist but 89% of the school are African Americans. Most of them are REALLY abnoxius and don't know how to behave. Its awful, my science class always have them screaming, and craking Jokes, and being really annoying. Its not that im a goody goody, but my science teacher gets frusterated! And she's soooo nice. And she tries to make science fun (it is fun) But she dosen't desirve that. But other wise great school I totally recommend it!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

This school is wonderful i am going to 7th grade i play the trumpet in band and i have seen the school gets better and stronger every day.Some of my friends think mr.Alfonso is the worst principal well they have never had a real 'mean principal' mr .Alfonso's wife was my teacher in 5th grade so i know the little hints they tell you all throught the year the nurses, cleaning staff, teachers , all coaches , and of corse the wonderful band teachersare very nice and funny this school rocks *****go bears****
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

This School is a Amazing School. Mr.Alfonso (Principal) Is very Strict and takes no nonsense. Im a student going into 7th Grade and Im exieted! We have a Different Variety of sports & after school Activities. But there are a lack of fun classes like art and drama. School has to cut but cause of the economy, but other then that I reccomend Osceola Creek Middle to EVERYONE! <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

If you want a private school education on a public school budget, this is the school. Whether your child is at risk or advanced, there are programs to assist and enhance their education. The administration and faculty believe that their students can succeed, and give them every opportunity. There are incentives and rewards for those who give it their all, and consequences for those who choose to ignore three simple rules . The only negative thing I can point out is the lack of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

this is my 3rd year here and it is an outstanding school. it has a great atmosphere, wonderful teacher, amazing students, and marvelous classes. the band here is the best, the band directors are ready to help any student and are will to come in extra hours just to see us succeed. thanks ocms for making my middle school years great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

This school is disgusting. The kids here are such cogs! The teachers play favorites with the 'Popular' kids. Dress should be slightly stricter. I feel like my only choice toward learning is to fail or become another 'cog' as i said before! The principle is pretty good, can't lie about that. His rules are baffling though!From the moment i step on the bus i'm assigned a seat,When i step into class i'm told to go to my seat like a dog to the corner, At lunch i have to sit with my corresponding class and am stuck with people who hate me based on oreintation! Yet i'm aloud to listen to my ipod before classes and at lunch? He's rewarding only the rich kids! It's completely backwards here! Thank god i'm leaving for highschool!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

This school is bittersweet.It's cool because the band is awesome and the teachers are fun. The sad part about the school is .....nothing ! It's the best school in Palm Beach County!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2008

I really don't like this school. The teachers don't give me enough time to finish my work and don't explain things clearly. There's too much violence here because they're shipping kids from other schools that don't belong here. Students aren't disiplined enough and dress code isn't strict. The teachers act like they don't care and they never listen to what the student have to say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

I'm very happy with this principal. He's very strict and at the same time he's very involved, actually cares about the kids and motivates them. All schools need someone like him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I attend Osceola Creek and I love it!!! This is the best school ever! Osceola Creek has the best students, the best principals, and the best students in Palm Beach County! Go OCMS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2007

Great school Great teachers Great principle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

This is my daughter's first year at this school and I can't say enough good things about it so far. We opted to send our child, who is gifted, to this school rather than the other local school that offers the gifted program. We felt like we made the right choice. Smaller school, small class sizes and a fabulous education! A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

This is a great school. My daughter learns a lot and enjoys attending. There are many advanced classes along with sports programs to keep the children focused and out of trouble. This is her second year attending and we couldn't be happier with this school. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

The teachers dont give me enough to finish work on time and dont explain things fully
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2007

I loved going to Osceola Creek Middle. The teachers were awesome and the kids are so nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2007

Teachers - wonderful, nice, caring! Great communication through email. Guidance counselor - wonderful! Was a lifesaver in working with my son's schedule. So nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

200 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

216 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

277 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 24%
Black 14%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 39%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%73%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. NICOLE DALY
Fax number
  • (561) 422-2510

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6775 180th Avenue North
Loxahatchee, FL 33470
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 422-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT