Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seminole Ridge Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 2424 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2007

This school provides the technology and information for their students to excell. This school is has a safe and respectfull environment. This school has provided me and my classmates with the best possible education possible!!! To those who do not agree it may be because your student is not doing well!!, I do belive though that the smarter students do get the better teachers, that care and work with theri students and the lower levels get the teachers that dont really care, but I do believe that if the students also cared they should be able to achieve whatever it is that they want to achieve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2007

This school is in fact a very good school. Coming from Palm Beach Central I've been nothing but happy at this school for the past two years. Both my Sophomore and Junior year at Seminole Ridge couldn't of been better. Being in hard academic classes, I've had amazing teachers and amazing guidance counselors that have helped me along the way. All this fuss about it being a bad school is idiotic. There really isn't many Palm Beach County Schools with non-crowded buses, or non-crowded schools. Both Palm Beach Central and Wellington are overcrowded. And as for the dress code situation, the school cannot 'address' the real issue. That would be unconstitutional and violate our rights. It is unfortunate but legally they cannot ban one thing and not the other. I think Loxahatchee parents should pay more attention to their children. For they are the one creating problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2007

I am a concerned parent of 2 children .My eldest attended SRHS and was an ESE student. I quickly found out that this school does not always make the proper accomidations as outlined in her IEP. Thankfully the English dept was the exception to the rule and helped her to shine by allowing her to write and express herself freely. I have chosen to send my son to a private school where they will be better able to accomidate his needs. The best of luck to all those attending the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Seminole Ridge is a very well run school with professional well educated teachers who are experts in their fields.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2007

SRHS is a great school do not allow these parents to fool you. If you are involved in your childs life as a parent then things could not be better. They teach a child how to be an adult and that is the rub. Most complaining parents want to be their childs friends not their parents. SRHS has a friendly and helpful staff. Act like an adult and be treated as one. The real issue in Loxahatchee is the parents immaturity, not the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

Wow! Reading these comments assures me I am correct in my thinking of this school. I feel the teachers do not care about their students. My daughter has two teachers that seem genuinely concerned, that is sad considering she has seven classes. Dress code is a joke, why not address the real issue instead of punishing all students. I have had instances where I have left messages for the principal and administrators and not received a call back, one time through e-mail with no reply. We moved here last year and I am sad to say this school has been quite a disappointment. We as parents need to stand up for our students. Let your voices be heard. I hope that the school board superintendant Art Johnson reads these comments and follows through with making a difference. This school is quite new and already needs serious changes that are being ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Teachers dont really seem to care. Needs to be a uniform school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

Seminole ridge has many academies and sports but our sports team isnt that good. Our academies are pretty decent. We now are going to have a new dress code and the school is overcrouded and classrooms are packed and the busses are ridiculos. The staff arent the nicest people in the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2007

I am a Jr. in high school, coming all the way from Massachusettes, and moved to West Palm Beach in Aug. of 06'. A family member reccomended me going to Seminole, it being 'a new and safe school, and considered the best of the area.' I was enrolled in the beginning of Sept. 06.I thought the faculty was very unhelpful-I got more help from students than the teachers! There is not enough buses! There were at least 3-4 kids in each seat, plus kids in the isles. I witnessed kids being turned down rides to school because there was not enough room, and even kids getting off the bus because of how uncomfortable it was, and because of taunting from other kids. It was dangerous and sad. Let's just say I only lasted two months at that school, and I'm happily back home at my old High School in MA.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 8, 2007

Don't believe the enticing details about Seminole Ridge. Being the newest school in palm beach county is one detail most often looked as a positive but the lack of experience at this school really shows. The technology at the school mainly serves the staff by overall making their overall job easier I haven't seen one way in which it is used to help the student learn. The school takes advantage of these luxuries and basically fails at doing the simple task of teaching effectively. It seems as if the school's main priority is to persuade parents that it is a great school by focusing on the size, technology, and the overall experience they can give your child but it fails. The book it program is the most ridiculous thing I have heard of, and block schedule is ridiculous with almost every class being 1 1/2 hours each.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2006

Terrible! No communication with teachers and staff is rude!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

This school lacks leadership, starting at the very top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

The first year the school was opened, I feel it lacked the ability to interact with the parents. They were not aware of any problems my son was having academically, would not return my calls, did not have my child in the proper classes, and just plain didn't care. Many times I went up there in person and just sat till someone would see me. I was not the least bit surprised when the school received a 'D'. Many students have taken the same FCAT 4 times and not passed. This year however, with a new guidance counselor who cares, my son has excelled tremendously. She (his guidance counselor) has turned his scheduled around 100% to accommodate him, and made suggestions on ways to help him graduate. He is now back to a 'B-C' student and finally passed the FCAT! He is looking forward to his future after high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2006

I feel the school lacks in following through with appropriate student dress...all students come to school with the right to an education, but it is a privelege to be able to continue that education...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

This is the best high school in palm beach. Very safe and clean and it is far more advanced then any school in florida
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

This is an amazing school. The technology available for student use is amazing! I think Seminole Ridge High School has outdone all standards previously set by a first year school in every aspect acadmeics, sports and arts. For example, the marching band is amazing. I saw them preform at a football game I was stunned. Is this a first year band? And the sports teams are also doing very well. The teachers are involved with each of the stuidents and makes them feel welcome and they do a wonderful job. The school won an award for the number of parent volunteering hours, the parents are very involved. Also, the community is a nice and safe community. Overall, Seminole Ridge is a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

553 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

551 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

569 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

646 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

350 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

541 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
72%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

429 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
69%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

605 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Hispanic 24%
Black 12%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 84%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%73%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. JAMES CAMPBELL
Fax number
  • (561) 422-2623

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Golf

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Seminole Pratt Whitney Road
Loxahatchee, FL 33470
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 422-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Southwide Educational Ministri
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Education Place
Wellington, FL


College Assist
Wellington, FL



Hooked On Learning
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT