Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

566 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lutz Preparatory Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
For anyone interested in this school, please request current testing scores. The scores posted on this website are from 2014. They used much different curriculum then, had different teachers and administration. Just do your research for current information about the school.

Lutz Preparatory Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
The children we asked by administration to say nothing to their parents about the teacher physically grabbing a student. The children were concerned for the child, and 2 asked if they could console the child. A few of the children wanted to text their parents because it was a scary event, and the teacher threatened to take their phones...


Lutz Preparatory Academy 1

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
I just witnessed a teacher physically grabbing a student. I went to tell the administration, and they said, "what did the child to to make this happen?" The child picked up a paper on the ground another student threw to put in the trash. I was in there the whole time, volunteering. I contacted the child's parents because the school asked me to keep my mouth closed!

Lutz Preparatory Academy 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
Amazing School with a wonderful academic program! If you child is ahead of the game, this place is for you!!! If they can't keep up, it is not the place for them! Students are extremely engaged and are constantly challenged. Fun is to be had for all ages!

Lutz Preparatory Academy 1

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
Another year gone, and another year of unfulfilled promises by LP. I am still struggling to see how this school provides an education that rivals that of a private school. This year the fees for sports, summer camp, and just about everything else went so high that it has become unattainable except for those families making the most money. On top of that, our donation to purchase the building is being used for what now...? I would like to have the money returned to parents since we fell extremely short of the school's goal.


Lutz Preparatory Academy 4

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 children at Lutz prep. My eldest has attended since the first year Lutz Prep opened its doors. To be honest, every year I have had issues with the school. For instance, my child not being challenged enough, or the principal that was never seen, and appeared uninvolved. I am happy to say this year I've seen a lot of improvements. Teachers are really open with communication on Edsby, grading is updated frequently, a lot more hands on science for 5th grade compared to years before. My child is being challenged more this year. Kids are held accountable for missing work or reading etc. BRAVO teachers! The principal is always involved & helping with carline & students. She makes announcements in the morning (last 2 principals had coaches do it). There is still a lot more growing and improvements for Lutz Prep. I personally would like see a new Chair on Board of Directors, to give opportunity for voices of the parents to be heard. Growth also has to come from parents too- let the teachers teach & be more involved with your child's learning instead of just sitting back & pointing fingers, & spoiling your child with "things." Be that bridge that connects to help academic growth.

Lutz Preparatory Academy 1

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
Shame on you! What does it say about a school when a first year family and a volunteer who has given nearly 300 hours per year is faced with only one choice? To leave the school because the administration could not act to hold a teacher accountable for her job performance. 2 families departed LP last week. And instead of trying to find out how the issues could be fixed, the administration could only say "leave, we have a long waitlist". Wake up LP BoD!! Your school is falling apart because you hired a Principal with zero people skills. Soon noone will want to be on your famous "waitlist"

Lutz Preparatory Academy 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a community member
It is exciting to see the positive school culture that is growing here at Lutz Prep. Walking through the halls, it was wonderful to see how the students were creating posters of encouragement for the 4th grade and higher classrooms. Seeing the students and teachers all in their tie-dye shirts for testing really set a tone of unity and togetherness. This positive learning environment really makes Lutz Prep special!


Lutz Preparatory Academy 5

Posted February 21, 2015
- a parent
These swings in ratings for LP are disconcerting ... from 1 start to 5 starts! Let me tell those parents who complain about LP: I had my children attending some of those well regarded private schools one excellent the other one, at least on paper, as excellent as well. The latter was a nightmare. My child was bullied, underachieving, and the establishment did not care! At LP the Teachers and the Staff DO CARE! I have a HAPPY child who loves LP. I have a terrific kid in all subjects! It shows in the way he speaks and behaves (and on those state exams as well). Friends and relatives praise his intellect, personality, and manners! Not all of it is thanks to LP but a BIG % is! Viva LP!!!

Lutz Preparatory Academy 5

Posted February 20, 2015
- a teacher
A parent recently made a good point that the anonymity of this site provides an easy platform for those who want to state negative comments full of untruths. I m disheartened because these untruths cast a shadow on one of the best schools I've ever had the pleasure of working at in over 15 years in my field. Every single day I see the lessons and rigor taking place in the classrooms, witness the joys of student learning and accomplishments, and most of all see kids progressing! The students are the BEST ones to ask! Observe the student who beams with a smile as they are greeted by name from the ESE Specialist, Coach, or Director walking in from the car loop at arrival. Or what about the student who told their parent that this is the first time that while challenging, they understand slope in 7th grade math because of how teachers are engaging her in an activity where she makes the connection. Ask the 3rd grade students who placed in their respective categories at the STEM Fair competition in Hillsborough County. Teachers ARE teaching and these and many more other examples are alive at Lutz Prep!

Nearby schools

Lutz Preparatory Academy
17951 Highway 41, Lutz, FL  33549
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (813) 428-7100
Last modified Lutz Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top