Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lutz Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 584 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

Luts is ok, hate the 5th grade part of it, had to change teacher because favoritism plays a Huge part of alot of what goes on in class between teachers and students!!! but 2nd grade teachers are The best!!!!super assistant principal!! Dont see much of the principal at all.Kindergarten is very disappointing, they play alot and do pre k work for too long, class sizes are not balanced in any grades and the school does need a make over alot of the class rooms. The smell of mold in some of the 1st grade class rooms is over powering at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

Love lutz elementary when their myself as a student 4th and 5th grade still friends with my teacher love her and always when.out.of her way to.help me


Posted August 22, 2013

Lutz Elementary is not only consistently an A school, it is very family oriented with a great traditions. My husband's family were pioneers in Lutz and we've had family members attend ever since the school opened. My grandson now attends and is in second grade. Even if we move out of the area, we would still seek special assignment just to attend. Keep up the good work and thanks for educating our children to the maximum and for keeping them safe day after day, year after year. WE LOVE LUTZ!


Posted May 2, 2012

I have absolutely loved the school and staff. especially kindergarten and now first grade teacher Mrs. Hoffman! she has shown my child so much love that not sure how we are going to continue our lives with out her. I am certain LE will live up to our standards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Very disappointed in the 5th grade teachers, all but one. In my opinion 5th grade at LE needs an over haul. The principle has her blinders on when it come to 5th grade at this school. Many problems have been brought to her attention and year after year it is the same, nothing is done to improve or remove the teachers that cause the problems! Take your child out of this school before they reach 5th grade it is BAD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

LE is an ok school. I have to say that my kids did enjoy the teacher they had and that she did well in teaching them. However, the school overall just seemed dirty and old not presenting a "culture" for learning. I asked if my children could be tested or offerred advanced lessons to match the ability they were showing, and was told no due to age rules. We were disapointed. So, we have left Lutz Elementary as we felt the status quo was all that they could offer, not the best enrichment education our kids needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

The faculty and staff make me feel welcome and truly care about my child's wellbeing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Teachers like mrs.mcglynn gave me hope that may child can achieve her goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Outstanding elementary school!!!! The staff are the most caring group of people. They treat my children as if they their own and the principal is phenomenal. She loves her school and is very dedicated to achieving 100% student and staff success and satisfaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Excellent school. Teachers and staff go above and beyond their duties. They always put the children's academics and safety first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

After having three children I wanted to let everyone know that Lutz Elementary is absolutely the best. The teachers and staff go above and beyond for the children and definitely put the children first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Great elementary school! Some of the best teachers and a FANTASTIC principal who always puts thekids first!


Posted August 23, 2009

I have two children at Lutz, every teacher we have had has been exceptional, the administration is on top of everything. My chikldren have had small class sizes. I dred them leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

We have been truely blessed to have such a great school for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Not the same great school it use to be. It's good but over the last few years it has changed. Still some great teachers though!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Lutz Elementary provides an excellent education focused on imparting skills that will aide eachchild to determine what is useful and valid rather than producing a child that can repeat information read, and not determine if it is useful, valid, or replicable. The graduates of Lutz Elementary may be found in a variety of Middle School placements but always excelling.graduates of Lutz Elementary are outstanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

My children have gone to Lutz for the last 6 yrs. (my oldest is now in 5th grade) They have loved this school. The staff get to know all the kids. They walk by in the mornings and say hello to them by name. They do great activities to get the kids interested in learning. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Both of my children attend Lutz Elementary and are in the AGP Program. We are very happy with the school, the education, the teachers and the staff. I would like to comment that I am surprised that there is no 'true' security at the school by now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

Lutz Elementary is a wonderful, small-town learning environment without the some of the social/status issues prevalent in many communities. PTA/parent involvement is very high and the team relationship between the administration and the PTA provides many added features for the children. Music, art and PE are provided with the additional of cultural days throughout the year. It is a smaller school that provides more one on one attention and communication than most schools. The environment for families is friendly and welcoming which encourages volunteerism and interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

We are very pleased with Lutz School! All three of my children have had wonderful teachers who truly want to see them succeed. I really appreciate that whenever I call with a question or concern I am responded to almost immediately. Both the Principal and Teachers are very approachable. Volunteer parents are in abundance and are welcomed by all. The music program is wonderful. I would like to see more extracurricular activities though. If I were grading schools I would give Lutz Elementary School an A.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 4% 23%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%67%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

202 5th Ave SE
Lutz, FL 33549
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 949-1452

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT