Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mckitrick Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 995 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2014

I have had three kids come up through this school. The academics are absolutely great. However, more than half the teachers have had extremely poor attitudes. There are a handful of good ones, yet plenty of them seem as though they wish they didn't have to put up with the profession they chose. They are dredging through the day, snapping at kids for anything that they are annoyed by. They have this crazy "check" system for behavior. The kids even get checks for having fun at lunch time, the only time they can actually talk to their friends. One teacher is called the "check queen." Thanka to her, my child no longer enjoys school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2014

I am surprised by the negative reviews here - are they talking about the same school my kids go to? I found the teachers outstanding - my kids are very happy here, and are always excited to go to school. This is an excellent school for gifted and motivated kids with no behavioral issues. This school is extremely safe, I would say they go overboard on safety. The teachers we have had are very nurturing, caring and always put the interests of the children ahead of everything. I feel extremely fortunate to be in this zip code!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

My 5 year old dropped off by the bus driver in the wrong neighborhood and left wandering around on her own for 45 minutes. Nothing was done by the administration except to tell me it was hard to get bus drivers who want to travel so far north and I shouldn't make too big a fuss because it might jeopardize the neighborhood bus stop. I have to agree with the earlier comment- a school has to be safe first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

This is my granddaughter's last year at McKitrick. We both are already missing all the teachers, office workers and Principal. This is an excellent school I will recommended to everybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

My daughter is finishing First Grade and I just want to say that Mckitrick is an excellent PUBLIC school. High involvement from the parents make a huge difference as it's really hard for the teachers to keep the Class A classification that the school has with 17-20 kids per classroom and NO helper. The facilities are always spotless clean, the staff is courteous and friendly, the afterschool program HOST is well organized and help the kids with their homework. Some parents confuse the fact that because the school is located in a middle-high class neighborhood they have the right to expect Private School education (low teacher-student ratio/ music and sports extra curricular activities/ foreign languages lessons,etc). The teachers dedicate a lot of their spare time to prepare the lessons and activities and I couldn't be more grateful for the education my daughter is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

This school was not a safe place for my children. There are several highly qualified and dedicated teachers. There are also teachers who do not support recess for event the youngest students. The administration lacks proper vetting of it's staff and personal issues are brought into the classroom. Our family personally experienced prejudice because of this and the environment became a particularly threatening, unhappy place for one of my children. The administration choose to support the offending staff member and I choose to pull my children from the school. Before an education can be great, it must be safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

McKitrick Elementary is a wonderful public school in the hillsborough county district of Florida. As a past Executive Board Member, PTA and 110% achiever, I salute you for doing a great job. My youngest is transitioning to Maritinez this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Generally speaking, I like this school - but I do agree with the post that children with special needs receive little attention. What a parent gets most is a resistance for specialized interventions and lots of empty promises that their child's needs will be met. The administration seems bothered by the fact that you even raise the question - and the Principal, although pleasant, does not, at all, take an interest. She simply passes this burden to staffers who are complicit in doing as little as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

McKitrick does not provide appropriate support or services to the lower 25% of the students in the school. It is too focused on only the upper 10% of students. In fact, at a recent meeting the Principle stated that the reason McKitrick is no longer an "A" school and is now a "B" school is because the bottorm 25% of the students did not show enough growth. To me that is a glaring sign that the school does not appropriately assist those students that are the ones with the greatest needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

McKitrick Elementary teachers have VERY high academic and behavior standards. Testing is an issue the STATE has mandated. As a result of their education, all three of my children did very well and were very prepared for a challenging middle school experience. The teachers are professional and over-all wonderful people. Great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

With the exception of the Principal this school is very disappointing. I have watched my child, who was pasionate about learning and education, be deflated and intimidated to social compliance. Teachers justified their behaviors and never took ownership in the fact that they could not actively engage a child. I don't know who the 5 star teachers were the others wrote reviews about but I am sure it was not the teachers we had nor the Vice Principal. - Choose a Private School if you want your child to advance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

We had a great year!!!!! We would like to thank the entire school staff for making McKitrick the amazing school that it is!!! See you next year!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

Great staff - all the teachers really care and have keen interest in the students growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

The school has very high parent participation, a high overall educational standard relative to other local schools, and for the most part it has a very good school spirit. The teachers are fast to label a child , and it seems that many parents are able to influence teachers and areas of the children's education, that should be above any parent's influence. the same children benefit, and it seems to often be at the expense of other children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2011

Excellent. We moved to this area of Tampa for McKitrick. We love the school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

Great learning environment, excellent teachers leading the students to higher achievements. The students love going to school an indication of the atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!!!! We have been working for two years through school-choice to get into McKitrick and we couldn't be happier! They are more focused on education than anywhere we've been, yet they still have fun! Allison Cline, the principal and Cathy Bishop, the AP are beyond amazing...The administration at our other school cannot even come close to these women! This is where you want your kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

After attending private schools my whole life, I was leary about admitting my child into the public school system, but these schools are so fantastic they can't be beat! My child is attending Kindergarten and I couldn't be happier with the program and especially, the teachers. Every process from child drop-off to the cafeteria to bell work is well thought out and they have the best intentions for the children. My child is a bit advanced in reading as well and their curriculum caters to the varying levels. Way to go, Bobcats! This is such a nice area to live in that feels like a tiny community within Tampa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Because I found this website so helpful in my school search, I wanted to leave a comment about the school that we found. As I read the commment dated April 28, 2010, I have to wonder which school this person could be talking about. Apparently they do not take their child to school in the morning, because if they did they would see Ms. Cline, the principal, smiling and helping kids out of their cars. Apparently they do not stay around for the adorable TV show done every morning by the 5th graders where one or both Ms. Cline and Ms. Bishop welcome the kids to school that day, tell them about what is happening at school and impart a word of wisdom to the children. Apparently they have never had lunch with their child in the outdoor courtyard, because if they did they would see them regularly being a presence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The school itself looks great. However the teachers are quick to label a child. The Adminstration office including prinipal and assistant don't seem to be so involved with the children. I have never even seen either one on campus. I did expect more from school however they are just like any other school in the county. The field trips at school are nothing major. I cam name other elementary schools in Tampa Palms that have more exciting trips for children. The extracurricular activities are very low. However the parent involvement in this school is big.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 17%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 5%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%67%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5503 West Lutz Lake Fern Road
Lutz, FL 33558
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 558-5427

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT