Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Learning Gate Community School

Charter | K-8 | 801 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

185 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2009

LG is a wonderful school; however, it is not for everyone. If you want your children to be independent, creative and critical thinkers, if you want them be good citizens that care about the earth, if you want them to enjoy learning their subjects through hands on involvement that allows them to express their creativity then you'll love LG and your whole family will fit right in. If you want a strict, structured, and cold classroom, or you care about material things more than about nature then you are better off somewhere else. I have two daughters at LG, I volunteer quite a bit in their classrooms and see what is going on, and although the school is not perfect (who is?), it is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

Basically the principal leadership would be described as a dictatorship. The teacher quality is lacking tremendously. Communication between teachers and parent is horrible. Extracurricular activities are pretty much nonexistent. Parent involvement is quite good considering the way the principal and teachers communicate with the parents. The best thing about the school is how they teach the students about the importance of protecting the environment and Mr. and Mrs. 'C'. I am suppose to have one middle school student there next year but I am seriously thinking about a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Best school ever!! My children are in 2nd and 6th grade and love school now! Every day is a learning experience and if they come home dirty then I know it was a great day!! What other school out there teaches your children gardening and the importance of recylcing and learning outside as well as inside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I graduated from Learning Gate last year. I have been going there since pre-k and have really enjoyed the school. The staff is really nice if you treat them correctly unlike the High School i go to now. I really want LG to be around when my kids are old enough because they are going to go to the very same school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

My son attended Learning Gate since preschool. We are grateful for a couple of amazing years. However once he completed Kindergarten he was no longer challenged. If you are looking for advanced curriculum this is not the place for you. This school is better suited for the child who needs less focus on academics and more on field trips and out door experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I love Learning Gate!!! I cannot sing the praises for this school enough. The natural setting mixed with supportive staff pair an education facility like no other. I am grateful for the stellar education my children receive at Learning Gate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I have only been going to learning gate for 3 years now and I am in 7th grade. I love most of the teachers but the principal is not nice at all. My mom doesn't think its a bad school because she thinks it's so cute. But parents don't let it fool you! I don't think there is any principal partisipation. In the morning the staf is nice to the parents but the second they leave they turn on us. I think they have awesome ideas but don't follow through,'it looks good on paper!' I've talked to my friends who have been going to the school since they were in pre-k, and they all hate it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

I am a 7th grade student and have been at Learning Gate Community School since Pre-k. I love Learning Gate and its teachers and I love how their going eco-friendly by building the green buildings which are runned by solar power. All the teachers are soo kind and the principal is really nice too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2008

This is the 3rd year my step-son has attended Learning Gate and this is also the 3rd year he has had an unexperienced teacher. During his 3rd and 4th grade classes, his teachers changed during his school year and nothing is every consistant with the school, except for unhelpful administration, who don't seem to have a clue what is happening in the classrooms or how the teachers are assigning work/grading papers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

Learning Gate has the potential to be a great school, but things fall apart because they operate in constant chaos. After my son attended for three years with 2 ineffective teachers, I enrolled him in a public school to find he is below level. The leadership is not visible or really in tune with what is going on-although they pretend to be There are many inconsistencies throughout, the grading is very subjective. The property is extensive and the best part of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

The environment at this school nurtures and encourages learning and creative thinking. Teamwork and respect for everyone and everything is fostered here. My daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

My children have attended LG for 7 years. I have been happy with the elementary years overall but not with middle school so far. Some of the teachers are not experienced and they do not have many elective options included in the curriculum and most extracurriculars cost money. The biggest problem is politics, administration, and poor planning with fundraiser money distribution. The campus is great, safe and has improved greatly over the past year. On the other hand, we don't offer music, foreign languages, band, typing, and they really don't teach organizational skills to those who lack them. I don't see much cooperation to better a student having difficulties. The turn over of staff is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I love Learning Gate Community School. My children have attended this gorgeous campus for three years. I feel the Principal, Staff, parents and students are all a family. The community feel is evident from the office trickling down to the classrooms. My children have excelled in this school & we feel very lucky to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

My child is in 7th; has been there since 1st. My oldest attended from 3rd-8th and now takes Honors and AP classes in high school. LG students do exceptionally well in high school. The principal is a great educational visionary. Unfortunately, business leadership/management isn't her strong suit. But as far as quality education, competent and engaged teachers who teach (not just to FCAT) and care about students, and families who live the concept of community, no other school comes close. They have soccer, speech and debate for middle school. I would like PE in middle school, and foreign language in elementary, but considering all the other great things (environmental science/stewardship activities, gardening, art, drama, Latin are just some), they have only so many hours each day. I investigated other schools during LG's worst growing pains. I'm very glad we stayed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

Our family has been at Learning Gate for over nine years. We started when it was a private school and have gone through all of the growing pains of taking it from there to a charter school. It is true we have lost some good teachers but I don't see it mentioned that we have kept some great ones too. Some over 15 years. I am so greatful my children are able to experience a school like LG. They are very very happy here. They are thriving and improving all the time. It is like a big family, a community, and the parents are required to volunteer but they also really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

Every aspect of this school is wonderful,my girls are in kindergarten and just love their teacher. Their teacher has set such a wonderful foundation of learning for her class and all of her kids love her.The school offers a great variety of extracurricular activities that the kids love to join.Parent involvement is expected,and the level of involvement is high. The school treats their families as just that family. Parents are always eager to stay involved.The school is filled with wonderful,loving,caring,and generous teachers and staff.It makes you feel proud to be a part of such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

This school is one of the best I have ever known. The environment is very friendly and most of the teachers are great at what they do and wonderful with kids. They definitely push your child to do his/her best, resulting in high academic skills. There are plenty of fun activities for both kids and adults including Casino Night, Fall Festival, and Soup Under the Stars just to name a few. They also offer many extra curricular activities like Latin, garden, p.e., art, drama, ect. I highly recommend this school to any one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2006

There is great variety in the willingness of the teachers to teach to the student's ability. Therefore, some years are great, others are not. The school does not adequately prepare for teacher maternity leave, resulting in numerous non-teacher substitues for months on end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

My daughter has gotten the attention she needed to advance in mathematics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

My Child attends Learning Gate and has received the best education I could ask for. I have a child that is special needs and the school is very committed to his success. I believe the school is going through some growing pains, but remains an excellent place to send your child. The administration change has been difficult, but there has been an effort made to fill these voids. The vice-principal and curriculm specialist that left, were exceptional and their absence is clearly missed. However, I think there are great strives toward filling the large shoes these people have left behind. All-in-all a wonderful school that I would highly recommend to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 23%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%67%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 50 combination schools in state (2006)
  • 5th year as an A rated school (2007)
  • First LEED platinum rated school in the country (2007)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20
School end time
  • 3:35
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELLE MASON
Fax number
  • (813) 948-7587

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parental involvement is mandatory.
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
More from this school
  • Learning Gate is truly a unique school and therefore many of the questions asked on the survey can not adequately reflect the true environment of the school and the setting. Teachers have the flexibility (within boundaries) to choose &#34how&#34 they teach the required educational standards. That flexibility allows for creativity and the ability to take advantage of teachable moments.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16215 Hanna Road
Lutz, FL 33549
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 948-4190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT