Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Learning Gate Community School

Charter | K-8 | 801 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

186 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2014

Learning Gate is truly a unique and wonderful place! Kids get to be kids, explore nature, appreciate the outdoors, get dirty, and have fun! Both of my kids look forward to school every day. I am very appreciative of the fact that Learning Gate is not obsessed with FCAT testing and other standardized tests. The kids do take the tests, but the teachers don't stress the kids out over them. My daughter got a perfect score on her FCAT reading test, without all the ridiculous obsessive preparation they do in traditional public schools. Some of our favorite things the kids get to do include growing and tasting fruits and vegetables in the huge garden, bird banding, and community service projects. The school also has a great gifted program! The princi al is very personable and always has her door open for parents! We are so happy to be a part of the Learning Gate family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

Principal at this school is tremendous if there Are any issues with your child. We found that teachers were hit or miss however. Very nice but some not very prepared or as strong as others from a curriculum perspective. Our kids began the year a little ahead of age requirements and are ending the year a little behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

This is our first year and so far we are very happy! wish we had known sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

This is my 5th year with LG. I continue to love the atmosphere and environmental setting of the school. I like the innovative ways the school works to save money (no trash lunch program) and help the students and families become more "green" in and out of the school. I enjoy the level on communication school wide and personally with my teachers. They are always willing to answer to any concern and work with me. I waited two years for this school and have been involved for the last five years, it was worth the wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Beautiful Campus! Great Teachers! Awesome Environmental Theme.I wouldn't have my boys anywhere else. This school is not for everyone and that is what I love about it. It feels like it was created for my kids! Love that they use facebook, I feel we are much more connected now. This year has started off great for my boys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Learning Gate is a Special Place! As a long time parent I have seen the ups & downs. I definitely see this new principal as a positive and much needed addition to our school! The previous administrator was out of site & out of touch, ruling with a reign of intimidation. With the growth of the school some things have changed, but I still see more positives than negatives. My children still receive a quality education and get the many outdoor learning experiences that drew us to the school. The new changes to aftercare are also very exciting, more structure and guided play is making for a better environment for my kids, they say it is in their words "way better!" We are excited to see what transpires this year. My children are excited to go to school everyday & come home with that same enthusiasm. We have been very blessed to find such a great place for our kids to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

This is our fourth year at Learning Gate and I can confidently say things are changing...and not necessarily for the better. I'm definitely not impressed with the leadership of the school or the administration. School communication is marginal at best. That special feel on the campus has disappeared and there's a overwhelming air of concern for the future of Learning Gate Community School. For the most part, teachers are great although, there are a handful of instructors who really should consider another career path. I'm really having to reevaluate going forward with this school. It's sad, in its hay day this school was special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Learning Gate Community School has the most fantastic, creative teachers I have come across. My children have been blessed with teachers who don't have a "job" they have a calling. Children are taught more than the basic curriculum, they are taught about the environment, gardening, physical education and social skills. They learn how to care for themselves and nature and they learn about helping others through various community service projects. When your child attends Learning Gate, your family become part of the Learning Gate family. The volunteer hours allow you to get to know the teachers, parents and other children at the school, as do the yearly events. Each year Learning Gate sponsors a Festival Under the Stars, Ecofest, Casino Night, and several other events, which provides additional opportunities to get to know other families. This year a PTSA was started as well. This is a school that I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a well rounded education from exceptional teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Our children have gone here for the last 6 years.I really liked it for my one son but not the other. It depends on your child and I think they have made a lot of improvements on children being taught to accept other children in their group then they did in 2007. All in All the school I think is excellent. The no trash rule is a little annoying...ok very annoying, how is this teaching children to recycle when they are taught that they can't use a trash can? but I love how the school brings the parents and kids together. I have had a great experience with my younger child going here for the last 6 years and he has made lots of friends. The new principle is very nice and has went out of her way to help some of the students. As for my older child, he just never got accepted in any click and didn't have a wonderful experience. The teachers are great at Learning Gate, however the Gates (middle and High) brought in some new teachers that I think they should have been a little more picky on choosing the right ones for this school. The principle over there is great too and easy to approach. If your looking for a change in schools this is the place to choose. I will miss it afterwards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

We are finishing our 2nd year at Learning Gate after leaving a traditional public school. So far we just love the teachers and experience in general. I have one over achiever and one with A.D.D. Both of my kids just love the school and are doing exceptionally well. They both love the amount of time they spend outside during the day. The campus is beautiful. Most of the land is in it's natural state and the school uses the grounds as an opportunity to teach. In addition to academics, the school has an environmental theme. My children are learning all about recycling and composting. They collect rain water and grow gardens. Learning is very hands-on. They are planning to build a high school a couple miles away from the current campus. I noticed the comment about the principle being unapproachable, we have had the exact opposite experience. Usually when I go on campus she is in the office area and is always very friendly. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

My parents put me in this school for daycare before I was even a year old and I attended until 8th grade. Overall I had a mixed experience here, the elementary and pre-school were great in my opinion but once you hit middle school things start going downhill. After 5th grade we no longer got any physical education, the administration started to make promises that were never fulfilled, and their 'project based learning' is just a big waste of time that the students used to finish homework they didn't do and play on the computer rather than making actual projects. Among other things they have terrible planning skills when it comes to expanding and I had to spend an entire year with class in the cafeteria because they had nowhere else to put us. I spent 14 years at this school and they didn't even give the 8th graders a proper graduation because they're opening their own high school which is also poorly planned out as far as space goes.The lack of loyalty they show is extremely saddening. If I were to do it all again I don't think I'd stick around for middle school.


Posted March 25, 2013

I have 2 children at LG, and it's a mixed bag. As previous reviewers have said, not every school is ideal for every child. The school doesn't emphasize academics, and my gifted children are generally bored from an academic standpoint. We've also encountered problems with bullying, and the current principal is either unwilling or unable to put a stop to it. She is generally unapproachable and uninterested in receiving any parental input. The administration disbanded the parent association two years ago, which says a lot. None of my children's teachers have done much to differentiate instruction for the varying academic needs of their students, but I've heard that there are teachers who do so. Our personal experience has been that the school caters largely to students with special needs (behavioral issues, ADD, etc.) at the expense of the other students. LG offers no foreign language, no music, and no art until 4th grade. PE is 2x/week, and garden and environmental education are 1x/week. The campus is amazing, and most teachers genuinely care about their students. I like that the school is small, but wish that academics were a higher priority. Pls do your homework before you come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

After several years in Pasco public schools, my kids were lucky enough to be accepted into Learning Gate and Gates. My kids went from seeing school as an obligatory chore to looking forward to what exciting lesson they will experience each day. I love that my kids are learning more than reading and writing here and that are becoming responsible stewards of their environment. The transformation in just 2 years has been amazing to watch and I am so excited about the interesting and wonderful people my kids are becoming with the nurturing and positive influence from Learning Gate and Gates. We feel blessed to be a part of this school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

Way over rated and not parent friendly. Not very sure how much of a quality education my child got as the teacher was fresh out of college and did not seem to have a clue as to how to explain material. If you are just looking to segregate your child in a non diverse and homogeneous environment, then this is for you. Be prepared to pay an extra price for this "public" school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

Our son attends Learning Gate since 2nd Grades. This school is great fit for him who loves nature and wants to be a marine biologist. When it comes to education, one shoe does not fit all. This school is not regular public school or private school. Learning Gate's achievements as a school speaks a lot, but unfortunately all publicity and recognitions make parents want to send theirs children without doing homework - do your research, understand what kind of learning fits your child. I am sad to see negative comments on this site, most of them are caused by lacking of parent's research. One of the comment especially caught my eyes : "I graduated this year and am glad to be leaving after 9 yrs". What were her parents thinking? Sending her to the school she does not like for 9 yrs when other options were available? WHY??? If you are looking for a school your child thrive, you need to do homework. Children do not lean or thrive if learning is not fun. Do not expect the school does what you wish for. Involvement of parents makes difference no matter which school your child attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

My son attended this school for years until we moved. My daughter also attened for a time. Most of the teachers are very good, but there are some that could use some people skills. The homework is minimal in elementary, which I appreciated. The kids loved school. That is my reason for 5 starts more than anything...they get the kids to love learning (which should be a goal of every school). Volunteer hours are required so parents are involved, but I think many would be anyway. It is a good environment for the most part..."good" influences on my children. Aftercare is not good (only 2 stars for it). Unless you have to, do not put your kids in LG aftercare program. The kids are mostly on their own with little structure and passive supervision. The office staff is also not helpful, and parents have this is common (and chat about it frequently). Even with borderline emergency situations, the staff is not helpful. That said, I would enroll my kids there again in a heartbeat because they learn an adequate amount (I have gifted kids and they do get bored because they aren't always challenged) -- but they LOVE it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

this school is bad the teachers are bad and also to much work for a high schooler
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

Don't believe all the hype. My children have attended Learning Gate and Gates for the past several years. The school is more concerned about being "Green" and receiving accolades than anything else. They even make the children bring home their garbage in their lunchbox. No trash cans for students but, yes for teachers. They have no gym and no sports (neither does Gates). They wait for donations to buy necessary materials but, have no problem spending the money elsewhere like a "Green" building. All of the older comments about the principal are correct. However, the new principal is much better. The downside is that the old principal (and founder) still advises and has a say in everything. She is the most unfriendly, rude and ungrateful person. Pressure is put on parents and children to donate to their annual giving campaign. A high number of parenting hours are required. Bullying is out of hand. It's not at all what their loyal followers say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

This is our 2nd year at L.G. My children just love the entire school experience. I love how much time they spend outside and engaged in hands-on learning. The Principle is very personable and really seems to listen to parental input. I highly recommend L.G. to anyone looking for a better learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

EVERYTHING kids need for a well-rounded, thoughtful, and holistic foundation. Including incomprehensible amounts of parent-involvement compared to 99% of public, private, & other charte schools) WOW
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 23%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%67%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 50 combination schools in state (2006)
  • 5th year as an A rated school (2007)
  • First LEED platinum rated school in the country (2007)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20
School end time
  • 3:35
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELLE MASON
Fax number
  • (813) 948-7587

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parental involvement is mandatory.
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
More from this school
  • Learning Gate is truly a unique school and therefore many of the questions asked on the survey can not adequately reflect the true environment of the school and the setting. Teachers have the flexibility (within boundaries) to choose "how" they teach the required educational standards. That flexibility allows for creativity and the ability to take advantage of teachable moments.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16215 Hanna Road
Lutz, FL 33549
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 948-4190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT