Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Martinez Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1061 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Martinez Middle School seems to focus to much time on FCAT instead of teaching students about life skills. The teachers seem to hand out good grades even when the students don't earn them. My student isn't handing work in on time, sometimes weeks late and still earns full credit, do they want to set the students up for failure, or do they want to teach them a sense of entitlement because that is what they are doing, there are no consequences for their actions. Is it because teachers now get paid on how the children do in school if that's the case, the next generation will consist of a bunch of adults that will think they don't have to do their part and expect to get paid for it. Some of the teachers reply to emails quickly others don't reply for weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

Good school socially for sure - this is not my son's first year year there and in our conversations he says he hasn't witnessed any bullying thus far, nor has he heard anyone with drugs or talking about them. With all the craziness out there, that alone would make me happy. It's in a fairly affluent area so you have many involved parents and the upkeep of the school (cleanliness, etc.) is great. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is that I don't believe the academics are that challenging. My son is in the most advanced classes possible and it still requires very little effort for him. Math, in particular, is a bit of a weakness. The elementary school next door is known for winning or placing at all the county-wide math competitions and yet Martinez does not do well at all. When taking Algebra 1 Honors as a 7th grader he said it was "all lecture all the time"....it actually lessened his interest and enjoyment of math. Overall I really like the school but I think there is an opportunity to improve the academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

I signed up to get information on the different middle schools. I will be purchasing a house and I thought this would help me make the correct decision on what area I should purchase my home. I only entered this rating because it wouldn't let continue without filling that out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

Martinez is a very good school. The bullying here is almost non-existent and MOST everyone is nice to everyone else. The amount of potheads and thieves here are about 1/90th of those of other schools! Most of the teachers are great and very experienced! They know all of the tips and tricks on how to teach the teenagers. The school is pretty strict and has uniforms. Teachers care a great deal about their kids, (i WOULD KNOW) and if they see a distraction, they alert the guidance counselor and change your schedule. Teachers are open and ready for conferences and don't give too much homework overall. Martinez has a very structured curriculum that's challenging to the kids. By 8th grade, about 1/2 the students are taking AP courses! It's been rated an "A" school several years in a row and I don't expect anything less from them. If you want a safe, fun, and challenging learning experience for your kids, Martinez is some of the best they have to offer.


Posted June 12, 2011

We moved to Florida from out of state and chose Lutz area because of Martinez. We have been very pleased with the school. At times I think it is a little easier than the school my daughter went to out of state, but socially she is happy and the kids are good. No bullying. I want her to get a great education in a safe environment and really think Martinez offers just that. Thanks to all the teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2011

I disagree with the part about the teachers not being very caring or responding to emails. This is my son's 1st year and he is in all AP classes. I have emailed his teachers and I usually get a response immediately. The principal, however is another story. I could probably get a sit down with Obama easier than with her. She is visible during dismissal, but absolutely unavailable to parents. She is too inexperianced. The Vice Principal woud make a much better head of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

This is our child's 3rd year at Martinez. She is in all Honours classes . 2 classes, are for high school credit's this year. The kids are expected to do their very best. She loves her teachers, and talks about how the teachers Do care. They do expect the kids to work hard, if not there are concequences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

The teachers are not very caring at this school. There is no parent communication. I send emails and most of the teachers either don't respond at all or finally send a response two or more weeks later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

They excel in every thing they do. It is rated one of the top schools in HIllsborough county. The majority of the students are in honors classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

Martinez is so fun, the teachers are very nice and the school is very clean, Martinez rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2008

Martinez is a wonderful school. My daughter is going to be a 7th grader here next year. The only downside in my opinion is that the teaching staff does not respond to the students needs fast enough at times. The FCAT seems to take over and some children fall into the cracks so to speak, but for the most part, I love this school for my daughter. If they stopped the FCAT, I believe the children would respond to the ciriculum instead of focusing on the testing and the teachers could teach again, and be more in tune with the students on there level of learning instead of the state pushing and the students would retain much more of what was being taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

This Is One Awsome School!! My Child Loves It There!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

There is so much to offer and they have awesome faculty snd staff and give a decent amount of work and decent lunch
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2008

This school claims to be one of the best middle schools in Hillsborough Co. but the administration is unresponsive. They are so concerned about maintaining their image that they ignore serious issues like bullying and parental concern about classroom instruction meeting state standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

Martinez is an AMAZING school! The teachers are all very nice and will do everything possible to help students. Also, Martinez has a very comfortable environment with great kids, so making friends should be a breeze for anyone. :] Overall, Martinez is a superb school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

This is the best school ever! I'm a student at Martinez and everyone is awesome from the teachers, to the students to the parents!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2007

I love martinez it is good but his teachers sometime [give] to much homework !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My son has been at Martinez for almost a year. Great School. No complaints. High caliber of teachers and administration. Safe environment compared to other middle schools. Take a tour. You will be pleasantly surprised. A private education for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

Martinez Middle School is a excellent school. Starting with the principal and overall with everything, my son has been at Martinez for two years and we have no complaints about it. Is a pleasure having my son in this beautifull enviroment. Teachears are excelent. Thank you Martinez Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

A fairly new school with a culture of student care and staff professionalism and commitment that is substantially better than other public schools that my child attended throughout the Hillsborough County School system. Principal Flannagan and Vice Principal McRae set high standards, are very responsive to the needs of individual students, and lead with a high standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

381 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

380 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

273 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 23%
Black 5%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%67%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DALLAS JACKSON
Fax number
  • (813) 558-1226

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5601 West Lutz Lake Fern Road
Lutz, FL 33558
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 558-1190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT