Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,133 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Martinez Middle School 5

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
When reading the recent reviews for this school and having had two children educated there it is very easy to determine that the bad reviews were written by the same parent. From my experience at this school, when an overbearing or overprotective parent feels their child is being singled out or not being treated fairly, the parent makes a huge stink, demands to meet with administration and if they aren't able to strong arm the administration to get their way the parent then lashes out in some public forum. I have witnessed bad parental behavior first hand while in the office picking up my child for an appointment. My advice to parents who have issues with their child's teacher: 1. make sure you have an Edsby parent account so that you can stay involved in your child's education. 2. Talk to your child's teacher. They really DO have your child's best interest at heart. 3. Hold your child accountable! Your child has to WANT to take an active role in their own education. We, as parents are responsible helping to instill this behavior in our children. Don't expect the teachers to both educate AND raise your children. 4. Volunteer and participate at the school. Not just through PTSA. Ask your child's teacher what you can do to help his/her classroom. I have volunteered to come to school to help on science lab days, just to be another adult in the room to assist the teacher and students and the teachers were overjoyed and very appreciative. 5. Follow the issue protocol-- talk to teacher first, if issue is not resolved, talk to your child's guidance counselor (they can be very helpful too and can often refer you to outside resources that you can use to help your child like tutors, self-study websites, virtual classes, social and psychological services.) and if your issue is still not resolved or if you feel your concerns still have not been addressed, schedule an appointment with an administrator. And lastly, please behave like an adult; Remember, you ARE a role model for your child. -Satisfied Parent of 2 Martinez "graduates" (BTW...one of my children was recognized as a National Merit Scholar so clearly he got exactly what he needed from Martinez Middle School.)

Martinez Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Johns (band) is the bomb!!! The kids love him AND he's a good music teacher with solid leadership skills!!!


Martinez Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
I think the kids are required to act respectfully to their teachers and to "special" kids - - no outright obnoxiousness I've heard of or observed - - but the clicks and snootiness aren't true respect.

Martinez Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
They teach it - - but don't observe it!! Perhaps a "special" kid can thrive here, where they would be teased of bullied elsewhere - - but the average new kid (who would be accepted anywhere else) is very blocked to keep the "clicks" strong. It's bad!!!

Martinez Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
The "clickiness" is supported... Most of these kids have been together since birth - - very proud of their money and belongings - - and so in that sense "we're so awesome" these subjects are taught... but it doesn't seem to get through to the heart. It's not ugly as in super violent and druggy - -but ugly in possibly a more vicious way.


Martinez Middle School 3

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
As a military family we have seen many schools! I have no complaints about the education or programs - - some (music, specifically) are exceptional!! My struggle with this complex (Martinez & Steinbrenner) is the "clickiness" of the kids. It's the worst we've witnessed in 16 schools total (between my three kids). Beware, if you're choosing this town for the exceptional schools!! The doors to friendship are hard to open.

Martinez Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a student
This school does not develop honesty, integrity, or fairness in its students; Staff members and teachers here are very hypocritical and stereotypical.

Martinez Middle School 1

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
I am (unfortunately) a student at this school, and, throughout the years I have been here, have noticed countless problems with not only the staff members and teachers, but with the school itself. Just to give you an idea of what being a "student" (or should I say "prisoner") of this school is like, these are among the things I have experienced here: - In the cafeteria, there is always a staff member yelling at you to "sit down" and "stop wandering around", even though she, along with other staff members, loiter around the cafeteria for the entire lunch period, when there are chairs specifically put in the front of the cafeteria for them to sit in. - Numerous times whilst outside, I have smelled cigarette smoke. (Note: this did not come from any of the students.) - In 2013, MMS had a fundraiser, and told parents and students that its proceeds would be used to build a covered walkway for the school. Two years later, this has still not been built. - On a testing day, I had been absent for the 2 previous days, and my homeroom teacher had failed to mention the time and place I had to take my exam. - On a testing week, my HR teacher had given us the wrong schedule for the day, so I had to ask the principal which class we had to go to next; he didn't know, and had to ask a student for this information. - The lock was broken on the "handicapped" bathroom door, and was never fixed. I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND enrolling your child at MMS!


Martinez Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
The teachers act like your child is a number. They assume that your kid is lazy or irresponsible. Homework gets lost because grades are not entered in a timely manner, and the child gets a zero even if they did the assignment. I recommend having your childs teacher initial a sheet stating the received the homework, putting the responsibility where it belongs.

Martinez Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
Science project: my son worked tirelessly on his project. He followed all the rules. Then you see a child who barely put in any effort at all who also got an A. It makes the hard working child feel there is no point in putting in their best effort if everyone gets an A.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martinez Middle School
5601 West Lutz Lake Fern Road, Lutz, FL  33558
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (813) 558-1190
Last modified Martinez Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top