Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mowat Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1005 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2013

Mowat middle school is the best middle school in bay county. They have a wonderful staff. The teachers teach, nobody gets picked on before school, The dress code is now not strict you can untuck shirts They have a great lunch, You should send your child to this school i would send yours to Jinks because its a bad school with gangs, fights, and a lot of racial harrassment


Posted May 10, 2011

I have found that I am very disappointed in the Staff of Mowett Middle School. All my children have went to this school and some has even graduated out of high school, all my children are A students, Some of the teachers remarks to my children for disciplinary I found to be un professional and their rules I feel are a bit strict. Children are not puppets or robots. They are in their most memorable times. Teachers should help children to excel and achieve high goals not bring them down and make them feel incompetent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

Both my children have attended this school. The school is average as far as education. Over the past 2 school years it has become concerning as far as safety and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

I will be an 8th grader at mowat next year and have gone there for my 6th and 7th grade years. This is definantly the best middle school in the county. My only complaint is the dress code but thats in all of bay county so theres nothing i can do about that. They also have great sports (im a cheerleader there)!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

it is a good school and has great saftey for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

Iam a 8th grader at mowat middle school, i have been going here since 6th grade. I enjoyed it all until this past year. They have become extremley strict about uniforms and where we sit in the lunchrooms.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2007

School dress code should be removed. Otherwise, my school is awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2007

i have enjoyed this school since it opened in the late 50's. I went to grades 7,8,9 and enjoyed it emencely. i now have gradchildren that go to mowat and they love as well as i did. the teaching staff is great as are the principals and assist. the meals are just as good back in my day as they are now. it's a great school and i hope to see my great grandchildren attend it. former student, mother and grandmother
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I have been very pleased with the overall experience of Mowat Middle School. The principle does a very good job making sure the students' needs are met and employs teachers that work very hard making sure the students learn the required curriculum. Safety is a big concern at this school and taken very seriously. There are many ways students who are having trouble academically can get back on track. Parent involvement is very high at this school. I contantly praise this school to my friends and those that I encounter that are inquiring about middle schools. I would not let my daughter go to any other school. After being an A school 5 yrs in a row, what more could you ask for? This school is the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

The school is pretty good. I'm not so excited about the new principal though or some of the subsitutes.Theres not even very many extracurricular unless your super smart or good at sports.I hope this will change.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2006

This school is very good. The teachers are nice, the principal is very good. Overall, this is the place to go to school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 6, 2005

Mowat Middle school is an excellent institution. The teachers are as a whole very concerned about the success of the children. The office staff is very kind and considerate and know every child by name. The environment at the school is very positive with an overall air of connservatism which is refreshing given our overly permissive society. We have had two children go through Mowat and will have two more to attend in the future. The school has a strong gifted program as well as an excellent band program and strong athletics. Mowat is definitely an 'A' school in our book.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

327 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

293 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

322 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

319 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

298 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Black 18%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%63%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 33%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ED SHEFFIELD, JR
Fax number
  • (850) 265-2179

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1903 Highway 390
Lynn Haven, FL 32444
Phone: (850) 767-4040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hunter Academy
Lynn Haven, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT