Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Orangewood Christian School K-6

Private | K-12 | 700 students

Orangewood equips students to transform the world for Christ.

 
 

Living in Maitland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2013

Caring guidance,academics, respect, friendship, faith, well planned and organized curriculum, loving environment, infrastructure, safe, welcoming, open communication. To name a few reasons why our son has found self confidence, happiness, achievement and the perfect fit in Orangewood Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

We started at the school when my children were in 4th and 6th grade. We have been there for two years. I have been impressed by how well the kids are known. During conferences with the principal and teachers, they know these kids intimately. Know their personality, are interested if there is something going on that they should pray for or help the student through. When any issues between students arise, they are dealt with in such a caring way and resolved quickly. As far as extra curricular, both my daughters play sports and have enjoyed the experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

I was looking for a school for my child with not only a solid education but also a christian education. Orangewood has been a perfect fit for our family. I have been thankful for the partnership between teachers and administration to help provide my child with all he needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

Orangewood is everything we were hoping for and more! I love that Christ is woven into every aspect of my child's day, from reading to math to praying for one another! The academics are top-notch, the entire staff is just amazing, and the students soar! My child has always been very shy but she is learning that she has nothing to be self-concious about at school and is now volunteering to recite scripture and read books in front of the class. They are taught that they are all precious in His sight and the confidence that they gain in that knowledge is priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

All you have to do is spend a little time in Orangewood's K-6th grade and you will notice that love flows freely here. The Bible is not merely mentioned but taught. While much is expected academically, students are provided with such thorough instruction, solid tools and heartfelt encouragement that they become successful without tons of stress. Creativity is embraced and sparks of giftedness are fanned into flames. Care has been taken to provide the right balance between seat work and wiggle time in each grade level. Our family has truly been blessed by the principal, teachers, support staff and even parent volunteers here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Orangewood has teachers that care about their students. They take interest in what their students do by attending their games, art shows, plays, and programs. The teachers love Jesus and share that love with their students. OCS provides a great education and other opportunities in sports, art, drama, choir, band, photography, and community service projects for students to be involved. We have parents that volunteer a lot of their time in so many ways. We have a special group of parents that meet weekly to pray for our school, teachers, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

OCS is the best school - an outstanding, fun, well-rounded, Christian education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

Without exception, the teachers truly love what they do and it shows in their enthusiasm and willingness to teach each child, individually if necessary, and do whatever needs to be done to help every child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I would encourage anyone looking for a great school for their child to attend to schedule a tour of Orangewood Christian School. I enrolled my children when we moved here from Texas ten years ago. My daughter is now a sophomore at University of Florida and my son is in the 11th grade at OCS. Our experience with the administration and teacher's has overall been very positive. I do not believe you will find another school in the area where the staff has as much love and concern for the students as at OCS. Academics at OCS are top flight as are the fine arts departments. Boys and girls will find plenty of clubs and sports to choose from for extracurricular involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

We moved to Florida five years ago and put our kids in public school. We never felt welcome and Florida was never "home". Three years ago we found Orangewood. We chose it for its Christian atmosphere and academics which have exceeded our expectations. What we were not expecting but were so thankful to receive was a FAMILY, and Central Florida is now HOME.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

The academics are top notch. The Christian education and values that OCS teaches are just an extension of what are girls have grown up with. It's nice to know that the Christian values we have taught them is reinforced at school and not denied or scoffed at. Our oldest daughter, who is senior, is in position for a college scholarship and we owe it all to OCS. Our youngest, a freshman, is also doing well. Orangewood is a well rounded school that provides high quality education at a fair price. It also has a superb Fine Arts program and a competative Athletic department. Orangewood Christian School growing, but, in the right direction. I give this school an A+ !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

We found this school 5 years ago when we moved to FL. I couldn't wait to enroll my 4 year old in the pre-k program. She is now in 3rd grade and Orangewood Christian has lived up to our expectations and over-delivered in so many ways. It truly is a "family", academics are wonderful, the leadership is strong and Christ-focused and my daughter has without fail looked forward to going to school everyday. It is exceptional value for a private school. OCS is a great "all-rounder" - athletics, Fine Arts, academics and most importantly soul guidance - after all your soul lasts longer than your brain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I love Orangewood Christian School because they have the best teachers and staff who really care about the kids. The curriculum really challenges the kids. It goes from K-12th grade. Orangewood is not ashamed to put Christ at the center of everything they d.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

OCS is the best school! They look at each child as an individual and help that child succeed based on their needs. They love our children unconditionally and everything is based on God's Love and the Bible! Even in discipline, they base the discipline on the Bible. It is amazing!!!Our children can't wait to go to school each day and the teachers are dedicated beyond dedicated!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

This is definitely a 5 star school. The staff is well trained and the students excel in every field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I have had 2 children attend Orangewood. They are very different academically. My daughter that graduated 4 years ago had been in a public elementary school and struggled academically. She had some learning disabilities that required just a little extra time from her teachers. The teachers at OCS consistantly give of their own time to help their students succeed. My daughter ended up graduating with honors and went on to attend college. My son, who is graduating this year, is very gifted academically. OCS challenged him with advanced classes and in high school AP and Dual enrollment classes. He was accepted to every college that he applied to, not only because of his outstanding academics but also because of all the extra curricular activites offered at Orangewood. Award winning sports and fine arts programs. If your looking for a great school that will prepare your child for life send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

I Do Not agree with the comment about OCS that it is a 'cult' like enviroment. It is a loving,caring,nuturing enviroment with teachers who genuinley care about your /our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

This school not only prepared me academically, but provided a community of believers to encourage me, pray for me, and guide me during my middle school and high school years. The relationships I built with students and teachers, I still maintain today. I felt the faculty wanted me to succeed and do well academically and athletically, but most importantly their goal was to point me to Christ.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

Orangewood is a great school committed to Christian and family values. My children have received a great education as evidenced by their SAT scores. The family experience of a school this size cannot be minimized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

This school is a very closed, protective, cult-like environment, best suited for the kids and families that stay with the school from elementary school thru high school. Outsiders at later ages are considered potential threats to their way of life. The students, their parents and the faculty do no live in the real world. The academics are not even respectable. It is high priced baby sitting. However, If your older child has issues that require that they be treated like an elementary school student until they are 18, this is the appropriate place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 8% 29%
Black 6% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • 30 languages online
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Luanne Schendel
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (407) 339-4148

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • 30 languages online
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Bowling club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Sailing club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our goal is that children of believers will be mentored and taught academics, technology, fine arts and athletics from a reformed, Christian perspective, encouraging them to discover and use their unique gifts and talents to God's glorify.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1221 Trinity Woods Lane
Maitland, FL 32751
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 339-0223

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hopper Center
Altamonte Springs, FL


Lake Orienta Elementary School
Altamonte Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT