Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rise Academy School of Science and Technology

Charter | K-8 | 310 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

my school is horrible never send your kid there the techers are horrible the student are bullied they lie about sports and i pads and they have horriable lunch and some teachers are very rasic also they treat your kids very horrible please some one needs to tell broward county about this


Posted January 8, 2014

Rise Academy is an awful school. Its like a jungle of kids because my son has a bunch a trouble with these kids. They curse AND bully him but he knows how to protect himself. The teachers are nice but the food isn't. The only food my son likes is pizza Friday because the buy pizza from Pizza Hut. Every time my son is trying to tell the teacher how the students misbehave, they always call him a snitch. This is the first AND last time in Rise Academy Margate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

Rise Academy is a horrible school, if you are planning to enroll your child I suggest you run to another school as fast as possible. The FCAT grades just came out and they are an F school. My daughter attended second grade and she will not be going back for third grade. The administration is poorly organized and Dr. Morton was full of empty promises that were never fulfilled. My daughter who is a straight A student and always enjoyed school would beg me to keep her home. She would tell me that the kids were too loud and that the teacher spent more time yelling at the kids then teaching. They did not provide textbooks for the kids the first half of the year. They are out of control and unprofessional. They were more concerned with the appearance of the uniform then the childrens behavior. This was a nightmare for me and my child and I am so happy we are moving on to another school. A school that has already sent me a detailed calendar for the 2012/2013 school year and school supply list. I never received anything like that from Rise.


Posted April 30, 2013

Just further proving my point here, I wrote the last post, so whats to stop the competition that is down the street at Renaissance from accessing this here "legit" system to make a awesome school seem bad?? Think about it, they are fighting for funding by dogging other schools on here, be the wiser and actually check it out for yourselves, you'll see why Rise is the better charter school. Here's some food for thought, Renaissance couldn't even keep a principle for more than a year, so obviously there is no one set person to blame, they just blame the previous administration(sounds familiar huh?? like the presidency??).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

I HATE THIS SCHOOL AND MY DAUGHTER HATES IT TOO!!!! The teachers are always late but yet the kid get in trouble if they are. The teachers are always on there cell phone in class. There is no playground. My daughter hurt her leg an no one called me and said anything because they said they had no number. Even though I gave it to them 2 times and it is in my daughter agenda. My nephew got stab by a pencil by a little girl who later start drawing on his clothes at school. I found out by the teacher that she got the lesson plan from the dollar store work book. She will not be going here next year this school sucks. They only want the money and I hope they get shut down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

Rise Academy in Margate When I enroll my daughter in this school I was told they would be a play ground area for the kids and music classes. This is her second year no play ground and music class. There is no proper supervision for the kids when playing outside. One teacher for 30 kids. My daughter is being bully during the play time and nothing is being done about it. It seems to me Dr. Morton only wants the money for the kids and don't want to provide them the education they deserved. The kids are being given spoiled milk and mold muffins. The lunch is terrible you would'nt feed to animals. I can't wait for the school year to end so I can get my daughter out of this horrible school. She went from loving to go to school to hating school. Something needs to be done for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

I thought my grandson was going to excel in this school, but after reading the reviews on this school and what we are going through, I have to say a made a drastic mistake in putting him in there. My grandson always had good grades and scored high every year. Last semester he came home with 2 F's, this semester 6 F's and now I have to take him out in the middle of them giving him the test. I always leave messages also and they don't get returned, terrible communication and well they feel it's always the students fault and as far as the other programs, I haven't seen them either. God help and hoping I could get him back on track. They did a terrible damage to my grandson's year and I hope he didn't lose the year yet!!!


Posted December 12, 2012

HORRIFIC - THE ABSOLUTE WORST EDUCATION EVER! The students are bad, the education is terrible, the employees are fake. It's all about the money they receive from the school board. They don't care about the education, nor do they care about your child. They only care about the money. This place is a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

Margate School gets scarier and scarier by the day, I hear the Lauderhill campus is worst, but I am mortified with the things I have experienced and heard. This place is TERRIBLE!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2012

I can't wait to take my son out of this school. Children fight on the school buses. Children fight in the hallways and in the classrooms. Students control the school. There are students in the middle school who can not even write a decent sentence. If you have a child attending school there, you have my pity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

How can I rate this school with zero stars? My son was in private school. Someone that I knew told me how excellent the school is and that I should put my son there because they have a science and technology program and being that my son wants to be an engineer, I decided to do it. Well, the school is horrible. My son went from making straight A's to C's, D's and F's. The teachers should not be teaching. Aftercare is a joke. They had a good company doing the aftercare, but the owner fired the company and they used to help the kids with homework, etc. They started taking all of the money and put a lady to help with the kids with their homework and it was like she couldn't count. Everything was incorrect. There were fights just about every day, children in saggy pants, loud mouth little girls wit no matters or respect for adults. I pulled my son from this school after one year and ended up having to send him to Huntington to get him back on track. He's now back in private school. If you are expecting your child to be incarcerated in the future, you should send them here. If you want a respectable, well-mannered child, stay away from this ghetto sham of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

Do not send your kids to this school. The margate school is so bad. Everything is bad. Teachers are not happy. Parents are not happy. Students are not happy. Your children will not learn anything. I have 2 kids at the school and I am looking to have them in a new school within the next few weeks. A very scary place for your children to be left everyday. Dirty dirty dirty and germ infested with students who look dirty and parents who look just as bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

Rise academy is a horrible school I kept my daughter there because she had a great teacher but after she left (7 weeks) we took our daughter out too! here are the things that they told us she would get a art and performance program , this is only for 3rd graders and up there is no arts teacher , and no music teacher , supposedly they have a music club after school also only available for 3rd graders and up but i have never seen it ! they told us they will offer tutoring after 2 month i have not seen one tutoring class , they do not have a lab or library and the furniture is old !! beside all this things the most disappointing thing is that the administration is very secretive, and there is no communication at all to the point of getting to drop off your child and nobody have the key to open the school or waiting 40 min after-school for your child and nobody knew why the students were not coming out ! after leaving messages after messages for a whole week I still have not received one phone call or any type of information regarding my child teacher leaving or anything !! this is really a bad school ! plus recess and PE are done at the parking lot ! stay away
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

Terrible school. Admin useless. Teachers terrible. They have all the teachers that are either first time teachers with no experience, or teachers who can't find jobs anywhere else. Basically, let the school's scores speak for itself. It is more than apparent that Morton herself wrote the previous reviews (all in the same day) as none of the parents at this school are intelligent enough to speak properly, let alone write a full sentence with proper punctuation. Ebonics amongst the students is the chosen language. Foul language is part of each sentence spoken. Being secretive, or no communication at all, is the form of communication for the staff and admin. The Margate location has problems! Stay away and find a public school with better teachers versus a charter school where you can't get any answers and are left complaining to a single (yes single) board member who makes all the decisions. Ask Morton to see where and how the funds are being allocated, then see the condition of the school and the lack of the necessary equipment to run a school where students are actually receiving an education. What you see and what you get just don't add up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

RISE is a wonderful school! Great teachers, science program and atmosphere for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I am always interested in what the public can do for our future generations and I support the accomplishments of this school. As a non-educator, I share the same vision as that of Dr. Morton and her team of educators. I am just as committed to the success of Rise Academy and cannot seem to get enough of the success stories that are communicated on a regular basis. These much needed resources are certain to guarantee continued success to this school and to the future of our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Rise Academy, is an innovative cutting edge school of excellence within the science and technology framework. I would highly recommend this school to all parents who seek to expose their children to academic excellence, and a dedicated highly qualified staff of professional educators. Dr.Morton is passionate about the success of all the children in her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Outstanding curriculum, faculty and staff teaching science and technology to our children from beginning to end, so that we can compete in the world's marketplace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This school is amazing. It introduces students to the advanced sciences in elementary school. We need more RISE Academy Schools of Science & Technology around Broward, around Florida and around the country!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 23%
Hispanic 20% 29%
White 16% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%53%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carolyn Pikula
Fax number
  • (954) 585-4871

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6101 NW 31st St
Margate, FL 33063
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 404-0192

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT