Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atlantic West Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 638 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

AWE is a lovely elementary school! The teachers and the office school are very helpful and friendly! My daughter was an ISO student for the year 2012 and truly I can't believe how much she has learned this past year at AWE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

There seems to be a lack of discipline in the staff at AWE. They really need to review their dress code for the teachers, I was appalled when I saw what the teachers were wearing. The lack of communication is frustrating and everything seems so unplanned and last minute. Today was the first day of school, there were no notices sent to us prior to school starting. Their excuse was they were trying to save money (it would cost no more than $300 to send each houshold a postcard). In their infinite wisdom, they decided not to have an orientation day this year, needless to say nobody knew who their teachers were nor where their class was. This confusion was easily avoidable, but was not. The school website needs to be made current. Alot of the communications issues could easily be resolved by having current content available on the web.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

I'm not too thrilled with the staff. I'm also disappointed with the funding or lack of funding needed to provide these children with the tools and knowledge necessary to advance to the next grade level. It seems more acceptable for a child to fail and repeat a grade then to provide them with every opportunity necessary to further their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I am excited to say my son started his 1st day of Kindergarton today at Atlantic West. I have to say I was very nervous because of the reputation of the middle school in Margate. I thought it may have simular problems and i envied the children who went to Coral Springs schools. I have to say much to my surpise i feel calm and confident because of the warm welcome and kindred spirit Miss Smith offered us. From the meet in greet to the 1st day of school she warmed the air in the class and made me feel great. She appears to be a great teacher so far! Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Although the school is organized and most of the staff seem nice, the school lacks family events. Unfortunetaly parents are not involved and is hard to keep contact with the kids outside of school. Overall Atlantic West is a good school, but could use some improvement in promoting parents to be involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

This was my first year involved with AWE. I found the experience to be a great one. My son went to Kindergarten in 2004/05. Mrs. Smith was a great teacher. My son learned a tremendous amount in math, reading and social skills. He had art, music and PE and enjoyed each experience very much. The PTA is great! I had the pleasure of volunteering a lot of hours in many different capacities and was welcomed in each area, from classroom participation to helping with Sunshine Math and many other opportunities. The office staff is friendly and the lunch staff seemed very helpful to the kids. They just completed a new building that will open this year. I am looking forward to 7 more years there, since my daughter will start kindergarten there in 2006/07. The only drawback I have found so far is they have no pre-k program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

All 3 of my children attended Atlantic West Elementary. My daughter leaves for middle school this year. The teachers and administrative support staff are the best that I have seen. They all know each student by name and recognize parents when they see them. They strive for academic excellence and promote each students' strengths. My children were heavily involved with the music and art programs and the teachers were and still are very dedicated. As I was not as involved with the school as some of the other parents because I work a lot, the school is full of parent participation and a lot of the parents work at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

I moved from Coral Springs into Margate so I had to register my kids in the boundary school here. I tried to keep them at Coral Springs but unfortunately I was told with the class size reduction I was denied. My main concern is that I dont like the system at Atlantic West at all. At Hunt elementary the school is fence in and not even parents are allowed to go into the building at 8:00 only the students.The gates and doors are locked and the only entrance is the office door. My main concern is my youngest daughter just started the 2nd grade and her class is in a portable away from the building. When she has to use the bathroom she has to walk all the way to the building without supervision. I dont think it is safe at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

both of my children went here. they went on to middle school and both were accepted into an all-magnet program high school. their good study habits and foundational learning came from Atlantic West and I am grateful to the principal and all their teachers for shaping them well to meet the demands of their progression in their educational life. Plus, they like school, something that was also instilled in them at Atlantic West.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 23%
Hispanic 24% 29%
White 16% 42%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 45%53%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Janette Hameister
Fax number
  • (754) 322-5340

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 NW 69th Ter
Margate, FL 33063
Phone: (754) 322-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Morrow Elementary School
North Lauderdale, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT