Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Margate, FL
Students enrolled: 652
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Atlantic West Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
AWE is a lovely elementary school! The teachers and the office school are very helpful and friendly! My daughter was an ISO student for the year 2012 and truly I can't believe how much she has learned this past year at AWE!

Atlantic West Elementary School 3

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
There seems to be a lack of discipline in the staff at AWE. They really need to review their dress code for the teachers, I was appalled when I saw what the teachers were wearing. The lack of communication is frustrating and everything seems so unplanned and last minute. Today was the first day of school, there were no notices sent to us prior to school starting. Their excuse was they were trying to save money (it would cost no more than $300 to send each houshold a postcard). In their infinite wisdom, they decided not to have an orientation day this year, needless to say nobody knew who their teachers were nor where their class was. This confusion was easily avoidable, but was not. The school website needs to be made current. Alot of the communications issues could easily be resolved by having current content available on the web.


Atlantic West Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Atlantic West Elementary School 2

Posted May 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Atlantic West Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Atlantic West Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2008
- a parent
I'm not too thrilled with the staff. I'm also disappointed with the funding or lack of funding needed to provide these children with the tools and knowledge necessary to advance to the next grade level. It seems more acceptable for a child to fail and repeat a grade then to provide them with every opportunity necessary to further their education.

Atlantic West Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
I am excited to say my son started his 1st day of Kindergarton today at Atlantic West. I have to say I was very nervous because of the reputation of the middle school in Margate. I thought it may have simular problems and i envied the children who went to Coral Springs schools. I have to say much to my surpise i feel calm and confident because of the warm welcome and kindred spirit Miss Smith offered us. From the meet in greet to the 1st day of school she warmed the air in the class and made me feel great. She appears to be a great teacher so far! Thank you

Atlantic West Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Atlantic West Elementary School 4

Posted October 20, 2005
- a parent
Although the school is organized and most of the staff seem nice, the school lacks family events. Unfortunetaly parents are not involved and is hard to keep contact with the kids outside of school. Overall Atlantic West is a good school, but could use some improvement in promoting parents to be involved

Atlantic West Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlantic West Elementary School
301 Northwest 69th Terrace, Margate, FL  33063
(754) 322-5300
Last modified Atlantic West Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Atlantic West Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top