Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hebrew Academy Community School

Private | 1-12 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Margate

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $65,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2013

My children are truly happy to go to school in the morning and continue to sing songs and act out school activities in the evening at home. This school is truly one big family that is there for each other through thick and thin. I couldn't ask for a warmer, cozier, happier, and caring school. It is wonderful to see them so enthusiastic about learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

2 of my children attend this school and while I am very satisfied with their grades and overall good character traits, what I like most about this school is the personal way that the teachers relate to my kids. When we were looking at where to place our children, we checked out other schools that had nicer grounds and more advanced technology but we were drawn to the HA because other parents told us about the personal interest the school takes in every child's success. Seems we made a good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

I have been involved with this school for over 20 years. I have watched it grow and improve and they continue to strive for excellence. The Early Childhood and Elementary grades are outstanding. The Middle School is excellent and offers many hands-on experiences to keep the students captivated. Above all, the teachers love their students and give 110% every day. The administration works with technology, to run more efficiently. I am sure the Rebbe is having much nachas as the students from this school mature into caring, loving adults who are active in their own Jewish communities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I moved my daughter from a Modern Orthodox Jewish Day School in Boca Raton and she is so much happier at Hebrew Academy! She has more individualized attention, from both her teachers and the administration, and loves having only girls in her class. The academics here are on a very high level as they are able to differentiate the learning due to the small class size. (Only 13 students in my daughter's class.) At the other school, there were "cliques" where the "wealthy" girls looked down on the others and the true Torah values were not practiced by the students. At Hebrew Academy, my daughter was warmly welcomed, invited to parties, there is no difference between rich or poor, and all the true values of the Torah are taught and practiced. It is a wonderful environment. The teachers are kind and loving and so is the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

I have custody of my two grandchildren and needed to find the most loving, caring, Jewish environment that I could, as well as one that could help them succeed academically. Hebrew Academy was the one. I am a teacher myself in a top rated public school, but the Jewish values and love given to my grandchildren here at the Hebrew Academy are something that you will never find in a public school. They had to make a difficult transition from out of state and they found the perfect place, Hebrew Academy. I highly recommend it!


Posted May 17, 2007

Depending on what your needs are this school could be good or bad. They have almost no special needs education and their administrative leadership is mediocre at best. On the other hand there are many wonderful teachers on the staff, and parents fully participate in the school life. As a parent and teacher for many years I can tell you that this school is very much an opportunity only for those with the right fit.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2005

I have 2 girls enrolled in the Hebrew Academy. Both LOVE attending and cannot wait to start school again. They have been going to HA for the past 2 years and have consistently improved their academics and social awareness. My wife and I feel that the HA is doing a terrific job of both teaching our children and instilling in them that learning can be and is not only fun, but a good and natural thing to do. We now live in Boca Raton, Fl and there are other closer choices for schooling for your girls, where their friends from Shul go, however, they have shown no interest in changing schools to the more local ones. Obviously, they are very hapy in the Hebrew Academy in Margate. And so are we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

This school is the best private school I have ever been involved with. Besides the normal education. My children receive knowledge in Torah, and the ancient history as well as moral ethics. Being in school 6-8 hours a day is alot. So it is a blessing to know my children are not only being taught everything they are, but they are being taught with love, care and overall respect. I believe that is a big lacking in our public school systems. I started with one child and since now have all 3 in this school. Thank g-d for it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 44%
Hispanic 7% 24%
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NSHDS
Fax number
  • (954) 333-3913

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 N State Road 7
Margate, FL 33063
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 978-6341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT