Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liza Jackson Preparatory School

Charter | K-8 | 823 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

(First, I do not recommend this school for boys attending the 5th grade. This opinion is a collective one. It may change but has been the case for a couple years now.) On a broader note, the social scene is welcoming and the teachers support healthy communication among the students. The sports' clubs are competitive. The academic standards are high. The middle school crowd in no way affects the elementary students being in such close proximity. Cursive handwriting, arithmetic facts, book reports, etc. are a few things among other lessons that are insisted upon students to exercise which is not the case in the surrounding area public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

What do you think others should know? BEWARE I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE!!!!! JAIL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

My daughter is in 5th grade at Liza. I agree that expectations are high. If your child can't do outstanding work, and if tests stress them out, it's probably not a good fit. Just to be clear, anybody can petition for a spot here, via lottery. It is not exlusionary in that sense. However, you have to really want to be here, and the lawyers and doctors in town DO want their kids here. If that kind of "exclusivity" bothers you, then you won't like it here. If football and cheer is important to you, it's not the right place, either. If, on the other hand, you want the best education for your kid (and can put up with the whining about uniforms), the aggressive expectations placed on their little shoulders will give them the best public education in the district. My daughter took a while to figure out what was expected of her. Her teachers were tough, but they were always willing to stay and work with her, to help her figure out how to be organized, to manage her time, and to be successful. She has become so much more capable than I ever thought she could. Liza has taught more than the three-R's. It has taught study habits, organizational skills, and self-confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

Unless you start at this school young stay away! My 3rd grader had a blast (uniform being the exception) and I LOVED her teacher. My 8th grader came in late and was overwhelmed and unsupported! I had to pull her from the school 3 days before the end of the the 3rd quarter because she was having such a hard time with bullies and snobby, well-off classmates. If I had to do it over again I never would have put my 8th grader there. The principle did not even ask why I was pulling my student just days before the end of the quarter. Not very responsible in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

I am a former student at this school and I must say it has done wonders for my education! I grew up with fellow students, made lasting friendships, and most importantly I achieved academic success. Now, as a succeeding college student, I attribute my success to this school; I still use many skills that Liza taught me like proper note taking and active listening. I never excelled at math or reading until I got the one-on-one time with the teachers/faculty that the school had to offer; I could always find help when I needed it. As a student, I experienced the highest level of compassion that school/faculty could offer. I was comforted when sick or hurt and was always given the attention I needed in order to do well. There was always a place to fit in with the numerous extracurriculars and the classroom activities. I feel that an inside opinion of the school from an actual student is very important when making the decision on whether or not this school is right for you or your child. Liza Jackson is a phenomenal school and it is safe to say that I would not be the student that I am today without the care and quality teaching this school has to offer.


Posted November 3, 2012

I am a previous student. While there, I hated the discouragement of individuality of students. It is frowned upon to be an individual. They claim to teach open mindedness but in reality it is shoved so far down our throats it becomes the exact opposite. You can not teach a child to be open minded. Also, as a member of student council and many other committees, I spent a sufficient amount of time around the administration. The assistant principal runs the whole school to continue funding her own projects that do nothing to benefit the school. She is a two-faced lying hypocrite. The principal does nothing and seems rather clueless. I am very dissapointed and wish I had attended any other school possible. Though Liza will keep your kids safe, it will make the a miserable robot. Take them to Bruner or Meigs. Anywhere but here. The preparation is awful. Teachers try their hardest to teach, but with the school mandated curriculum, they can't teach what they need to. The school simply cares about its own ratings, funding, and FCAT scores. Keep your child far away from this miserable excuse for a school.


Posted October 9, 2012

All four of my children have gone to Liza. 2 out of 4 have excelled. It's all in how your child is wired. My daughter started there in 5th grade. 6th was a definite challenge, but we worked through it. 7th and 8th were a breeze. When she enrolled at Choctaw, they said they "love getting Liza kids". My youngest has been there since day 1 of Kindergarten, and has loved every moment. He fits in well, and is very happy. My other son went there for a year and a half, and could not keep up with the rigorous demands, and left for a local middle school. My middle son is an ESE student, which Liza is not set up for. Had I known that when I accepted his offer, I would have turned it down. I'm working with the teachers to get some kind of balance with him for the rest of the year but I do not foresee him staying at Liza next year. That's not my child's fault and it's not Liza's fault. They just aren't equipped for Special Needs children. I will keep my youngest son there until he graduates 8th grade. Their Staff is wonderful, and I always feel welcome at the school, even just to drop by a class for a quick hug. If you have an easy breezy student, then this is your school. ESE need not apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

Liza is not worth waiting for... There are far better public schools in the area that offer many more opportunities for students. The administration at this school does not care about its students, especially those who struggle academically. Students who need remediation in math and reading are punished by being excluded from participating in exploratory wheel classes such as art, music, and PE. During the middle school years, this type of treatment is detrimental to students' mental and social well being. The staff and faculty here are great people who work very hard under an oblivious and self-centered administration. Students don't see this, and it is for their own well being that they don't. Liza's administration focuses primarily on FCAT scores, pushing students so hard that young students taking the exam become physically ill from anxiety. These scores give them their A+ rating. They are not an A+ school. They are far from it. Teacher turnover at this school is extremely high, with approximately a dozen teachers leaving this past year alone. Among new hires were teachers that did not have a bachelor's degree in the subject they were hire to teach. Don't waste your time here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2012

I am very concerned with what I am hearing about the band program for this coming year. Many of us are paying monthly rental fees at local music stores so our children can be in a band class with an experienced instrumental music teacher. I am hearing that there will be a "monitor" scheduled to cover the class (without a music degree) and the students are expected to practice what they cover in private lessons. How many will be taking lessons after school hours? Can the monitor help with notes, rhythms, how to put a clarinet together, and the multitude of necessary skills that need to be taught at the beginning level? What happens to the students who started band last year? Are they in the same monitored class? I do hope that we have a teacher with a music (major) degree. The decision to have a monitor cover any band class rates as an unsatisfactory.


Posted April 13, 2012

My son attended LJPS from Pre-K until 2nd grade. I was always very satisfied with the level of communication and genuine interest in my child's development that was displayed during our time there. Our family relocated in early 2011 and I have been reminded by the public system why I loved LJPS so very much. We were accepted today by a charter school with near identical ideals as LJPS and I am thrilled to get my son back where he belongs. To any skeptical parents reading reviews, know that your child's academic development requires the parents, students and teachers to participate. The overwhelming consensus of this school is that it is one of the best in the state. There are so many reasons why and so few why not to chose LJPS. In my family's opinion LJPS is a fantastic place for students and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Liza is just so horrid. I would not recommend it to anyone. The principal is a lazy brood who does nothing but leaves all of the work to the staff. The children don't know the meaning of an open mind
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

The children who go to Liza are living in a jail. The small ones like it, because all they do is color and read stories, but as you progress within the institution, you see how monotone the mental colors of their minds are. They will not teach you about how to survive in life, nor will they teach you properly. It's like they hire the teachers only to scold the students and give them failing grades. The students have no ambition, no goals in life. They are only being taught to sit and take tests, be "smart". The assistant principal is the worst. She is a lying witch who obviously picks favorites. The principal doesn't even do anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

The Liza Way...... Sorry, the school was opened with good intentions and maybe it worked for a while... but all it did for my son was lower his expectations and his FCAT scores.... It is just not the model school that they are selling..... Too many young, childless, beginner teachers who should be listening instead of preaching and too many idealists who should open their eyes and quit believing thier own propaganda. We have moved my son back to the "public-public schools" at least they admit their faults and don't pretend to be better than the rest.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

The idea originally meant for this school was a good one. When my child started in 4th grade, we were very pleased. In the following years we started noticing a decline in abilities of new teachers. We also started noticing a decrease in the original intent of the school, that being a preparatory school. The rules originally in place for acceptance when by the wayside. No it is a school that determines what is done by who holds the most money. The math teacher this last year for my child was unable to keep her word, was poor at controlling the classroom setting, and was an avid lier. Her poor teaching ability is evidenced by the significant drop in Math FCAT scores this year from 93% to 70%, the lowest it's been in at least 4 years. My kids are slowly being challenged less and less. Hiring new teachers with little to no experience doesn't help. Teachers that have been there from the beginning notice the change, and don't like it. Although it rates high now... I can see numbers dropping in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Both of my children attend Liza Jackson. One is in 5th grade and one is in 2nd grade. The teachers greet my children with smiles every morning in their doorway and really care about them as individuals. My 2nd grader came to this school behind in Reading and her teacher has not only realized this, she has put her into a program to catch her up with the rest of the class. The Parent/Teacher organization called P.A.T.H.S. is fantastic. I have begun helping more with them this year and have been impressed with how hard they work for our kids. My older child was in the play Annie they put on last year and had a wonderful experience and joined the volleyball team this year. Liza has made them well rounded, well educated, organized, and happy. I am thrilled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

LJPS continues to grow professionally and personally. There is always room for improvement and we (teachers and administrators) strive for that. Do we have growing pains ? Yes all good schools do. That s how a school continues to improve. Overall, LJPS is a solid learning environment. Both of my children attend LJPS even though they could be attending excellent schools in Niceville. I choose to bring them with me to experience the Liza Way.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2009

Liza Jackson is a wonderful school that exemplifies all the qualities I want in a school for my children!! It is just like the best private schools without writing the check every month!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

This is my lovely school and I love it very much. The best learning and school materials plus amazing teachrs who make it esy for you to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2009

Liza Jackson is an excellent school with amazing and caring professional teachers. My hat is off to them for all of the time and energy that they put into their classes. God bless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

As an elementary school LJPS is fabulous. I would give it 4 stars. The teachers know the students well and it is very much a family atmosphere. Teh elementary administration is supportive and understanding of both teachers and parents. The middle school, on the other hand, is lacking. I would not reccommend it. I give the middle school 1 star. There are too many administrators which has led to great amounts of inconsistency. In order to keep the middle school full (a numbers game) often times students are allowed to slide by without following the rulees and policies set forth. Again, there is great inconsistency. LJPS as a middle school does not even compare to others in the area. It doesn't have the opportunities that other middle school offer. It really is a shame considering the elementary is exemplery.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 75%
Hispanic 9%
Black 6%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/AN/A
Female 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%57%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. MARY GUNTER
Fax number
  • (850) 833-3292

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

546 Mary Esther Boulevard
Mary Esther, FL 32569
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 833-3321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Silver Sands-Excep. Children
Fort Walton Beach, FL



Wright Elementary School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Pre-School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT