Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Suntree Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 644 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2012

There's too much pressure on students to produce high FCAT scores. Beware of Suntree's high voluntary retention rate in 2nd grade which gives the school another year to get these students up to grade to produce high 3rd grade FCAT scores. Some schools are gaming the FCAT with our kids. Instead of providing academic support to struggling students, retention is usually recommended. Administration and teachers are approachable and friendly. There is great parent involvement and participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

This is a great school!! It seems as though it is hard to please EVERYONE. Every school will have parents who complain about something, so keep that in mind. I have had a great experience the past 2 years. My sons 2 teachers communicated very well, and encouraged parent involvement. I have no complaints about their administrative staff or after school child care staff. I have a friend who got re-zoned to Long Leaf and she said Suntree was a much better experience. We moved to this location for this school, and we couldn't be happier! My daughter starts Kindergarten next year, and I can't wait for her to have the same Kindergarten teacher as my son, Ms. King.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

This is a good school but other areas schools are better, Quest & Longleaf, in particular. The music program is horrid. The academics are good, but they have a high "voluntary" retention rate because they really encourage repeating grade in the early years to avoid problems (that don't exist) from happening later. If you have a choice, go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Academically the school teaches to the average student. After switching from Suntree to another Brevard school my son's overall academic level went from average to excellent, and his reading level went from below average to above average. The administration is unapproachable and rigid, and seem more concerned about test scores and school image than the students. There are many involved parents, which helps, but many Brevard schools have this element.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Regarding 'FCAT-focused' curriculum, the beachside schools are no less guilty than anywhere else in the area - I'm moving from beachside and was disappointed that the beachside hype was not justified. Based on the numerous reviews I've read, it looks like you'll have to choose a school based on factors such staff experience, test scores and parent reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

Pretty good school. Needs to expand, though. More teachers would be nice too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

I go to Suntree Elementary and I know for a fact that not all of the teachers are 'overly focused' on FCAT. I'm in Fourth Grade I my teachers are teaching me better than fine. The beachside schools are the one's I don't like. And besides, I got a great score on my FCAT! Take that, parents!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

Suntree is way too FCAT based! No extra curricular activities here. There are much better public and private schools elsewhere. I've got a son in kindergarten and a daughter in 2nd grade at Suntree & I'm looking at pulling them out and putting them in Ascension or Holy Trinity where I believe they'll get a real education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Don't know what all the hype is about this school. Yes, it is an okay school, but not the best or even good. The teachers are so overly focused on FCAT that they do a grave injustice by pressuring students to live and breathe nothing but passing FCAT so school administration & teachers don't lose their jobs. Before FL implemented FCATs into schools, Suntree was ranked between avg-above avg. and it was beachside schools that ranked the best. If you want your kids to get a real quality education at a public school, move elsewhere. Beachside schools are so much better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

My son attended Suntree for 4 years and I really thought it was a good school but then I relocated beachside and found myself thinking differently. Suntree was all about the fan fare. It lacked the down to earth atmosphere I have gotten at beachside. The volunteers beachside seem to be there because they want to be there..unlike Suntree where I felt they were waiting for their gold star for their hours put in. Suntree really lacks in music education... and the arts. It is unfortunate because indirectly these two subjects directly aid in math and reading skills. If you are relocating your would be better served beachside overall. The school building may be older but overlook this and get inside to what really matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

We just moved to the area and my girls absolutely Love Suntree and so do I. We are blessed that our girls can attend this blue ribbon school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

Great school, but there is an overemphasis on homework for the school to remain in the top. I was a math major in college and graduated with a BS in math. My 1st grader brought homework under the 'Allstars' program and the math questions on the homework astounded me, even as a math major. The level was beyond what a 1st grader, and even 5th grader should know. Kids should be kids and sports/PE should be given more time at school. Life is not only about learning, it is about knowing how to act in all social contexts, and sports activities would help in fostering that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Great Teachers, great discipline, great students. But what I feel is that Kids need to be kids, and for that they should encourage sports and more after school activities. I feel that PE needs to improve, they need to learn sports rules and to practice them, too. Kids like to compete, they do it all day at school ( reading, math, science, etc) and at home with siblings or friends. Kids love to play sports. Also, they should improve their music program and start it earlier, not in 5th grade. I will love my kids to learn a 2nd language. It could be spanish, french, etc. Is the best time to learn. Then I will score not only an A ++ school, I will say THE BEST.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

For average students, its Great! I've had to go to other agencies for help only to find out they were offering their services at Suntree elementary. Only when I mentioned it was it offered to us.They will not lead you in any way to assistance for your child.Retention was their answer.I was warned about retention every report card conference, including the 1st one.My son's IQ? 128. He can barely write a sentence.The proof is in the pudding.#1 would not be my score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Nice school. Healthy competitive environment for kids. Offers several afterschool programs including Mad science and all sports. Has an excellent students program. Ms Smith is an excellent KG teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

Suntree is a wonderful school if you value mainstreaming. But, if you have a child that excels, go elsewhere. Suntree's gifted program meets one hour/week. The rest of the week, kids have to work at grade's pace. They are not allowed to work ahead or go to the next grade for reading/math. This stems from the principal's leadership. She is a teacher's principal and consistently puts the needs of students second to her teachers. There are no after school sports and the only club that meets on school grounds is a weekly chess club. There are parents who coach Lego and OM teams. But, they are not allowed to meet at school. They have to find their own meeting space off school grounds. Why the great scores? Great teachers and great kids from a great neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

You will either love it or hate it, they are very focused on the FCAT in order to keep the school A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

I love this school. My daughter has been there 2 years, and we have been very pleased. The faculty and staff are generally caring individuals. The education has been excellent, and there are no issues with violence or bullying to my knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Its a good school if you are very structured and rule oriented. Also, if your child is average to above average, then this school will do fine. They put a strong emphasis on the FCAT to the point that it may put some stress on your child. They have very high expectations for the children. I thinks its a beautiful school. They haven't seemed very flexible when it comes to their dealings with the parents. Its their way or the highway for the most part. This is probably why many people want to go there though. Just haven't been my cup of tea.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

I believe Suntree Elementary is blessed with great teachers although these teachers have to choose between what is good for their students and what is expected from the students in test scores. If you are a volunteer you have opportunity to see the inner workings. I do enjoy that volunteers are welcomed at this school. I feel that the Elementary Specialist added much benefit to the children and the administrators. I also think the school could impove in spite of their super-star rating. As stated, the teachers are great, they need support to carry out their true duties as educators. My rating for safety is a 5. This is excellent and I appreciated the guidelines for safety very much. Discipline is a 1, because I feel there could be much improvement in that area; the discipline should match the offense.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 9% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 5% 3%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%58%61%
Master's degree 51%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Natioanl Honor: NCLB-Blue Ribbon School (2007)
  • Five Star School (every year)
  • #7 School in Florida based on state recognition program (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 2:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mecheall M Giombetti
Fax number
  • (321) 242-6485

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • An active volunteer program is run and an highly dedicated pto exists at suntree elementary. several events are recognized as annual opportunities for fun such as our fall festival, father/daugher dance, and mother/son events. classroom teachers utilize volunteers regularly in their classrooms helping with students and/or assisting with materials preparation at their homes. a volunteer workroom is maintained where materials and supplies are kept and work stations allow for groups of adults to organize themelves in a social setting while working as well.
More from this school
  • The community atmosphere at Suntree Elementary School is uplifting. High academic standards and the building of student's self-esteem are areas we take pride in where children enjoy coming to school and taking on new challenges. The family support greatly contributes to student success. Teachers go the extra mile daily including adding on certificate endorsements or pursuing national board recognition to keep themselves abreast with new instructional techniques and self-reflect on their instructional methods.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
DeLaura Middle School
West Shore Junior/Senior High School
Johnson Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Jordan Blass Dr
Melbourne, FL 32940
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 242-6480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Devereux School
Melbourne, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT