Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sherwood Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 530 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2011

Our neighborhood got rezoned from Longleaf to Sherwood. We protested at the school board meeting but to no avail. Reluctantly our daughter went to Sherwood for 3rd grade. Contrary to our fears she loves Sherwood. The teachers are very nice. The principal and vice principal are excellent. She is having a much better time here than in Longleaf. Thank you Sherwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

I have recently moved out of the area and I truly miss the great teachers and the wonderful atmosphere for the students and the very young children. Thank you Sherwood Staff ! Keep up the good work 'A' School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

This is a great school, both of my children have thrived in this nurturing environment. The teachers have been helpful and understanding and seem to deeply care about each and every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Sherwood has wonderful Teachers who are always with smiles on their faces and wonderful attitudes. This in turn pass down to the students and the students feel completely cared for. However, several times my kids experienced uncooked chicken nuggets from the cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

They are a great school for kids growing up...they really teach you you well and the teachers are great!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2007

Sherwood has been a great school for my step-daughter. Going from a private school to a public school was an easy transition for her. We love the school involvement for all grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Sherwood is an awesome school. I have put one child all the way thru and am working on the second. I feel confident when I drop my child off he is in a safe, caring environment. Both of my children have thrived there. The principal and vice principal are available and responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

They have a bully program to start teaching the kids early on how to handle bullies. The fifth grade has an excellent zoo school. I have two boys who have attended this school for two years and I am impressed by the staff and their willingness to help. This is a great school with wonderful teachers who take the time to make sure the kids are learning and growing. We are moving this year, but I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I truly did love this school----unfortunately we all had to move back up North. But the faculty was excetional and my child loved each teacher. Sherwood has given my child a strong foundation and a love of school..Thanks so much...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 8%
Black 6%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%58%61%
Master's degree 53%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CYNTHIA L WILSON
Fax number
  • (321) 242-6478

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2541 Post Road
Melbourne, FL 32935
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 254-6424

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ascension School
Melbourne, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT