Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

544 students|Brevard
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sherwood Elementary School 2

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
We are Air Force and move a lot, but my daughter has always excelled in school. She was in gifted classes for 1st and 2nd grade in Tampa. We came here and she immediately started having problems. Her 3rd and 4th grade classes were so full of troubled students with behavioral problems that she has not received a good education or been challenged academically in two years. Teachers are too busy dealing with bad kids to spend time with the good ones. We are transferring next year and until they do some redistricting, I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.

Sherwood Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Due to the high level of kids with behavioral issues and general lack of respect or kindness, I feel students have to develop a thick skin.


Sherwood Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
For the most part I have not found my daughter's classmates to be respectful to adults or each other.

Sherwood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
With the exception of a few of my daughter's friends, most of the kids in her class and in the after school program, seem to be very rude and we've had issues with bullying.

Sherwood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Due to recent redistricting, over half of this school's students are economically challenged residents of a poor neighborhood directly across the street. These kids tend to have more behavioral issues and so teachers spend most of the day reprimanding trouble makers instead of teaching lesson plans or life lessons like honesty or integrity. I often feel like my 4th grade daughter is just in a day care program with no real learning or social benefits. She has also picked up several bad habits from her classmates since attending this school.


Sherwood Elementary School 2

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
Let me start out by saying that my Son has been going to Sherwood since kindergarten and has missed the very basics. He is now in forth grade and was retained in third due to a lack of compression. He has had a great third grade teacher the second time around but they are now trying to put him into fifth and he struggles with forth grade. His current teacher is lazy, doesn't test the children weekly like the other teachers and rarely checks his work. During the first night of parent teacher night she stated that " i don't want to grade 21 papers". I have had enough and I'm going to be putting him in a private school. Thoroughly disgusted!

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
Our neighborhood got rezoned from Longleaf to Sherwood. We protested at the school board meeting but to no avail. Reluctantly our daughter went to Sherwood for 3rd grade. Contrary to our fears she loves Sherwood. The teachers are very nice. The principal and vice principal are excellent. She is having a much better time here than in Longleaf. Thank you Sherwood.

Sherwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2009
- a parent
I have recently moved out of the area and I truly miss the great teachers and the wonderful atmosphere for the students and the very young children. Thank you Sherwood Staff ! Keep up the good work 'A' School


Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school, both of my children have thrived in this nurturing environment. The teachers have been helpful and understanding and seem to deeply care about each and every child.

Sherwood Elementary School 4

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
Sherwood has wonderful Teachers who are always with smiles on their faces and wonderful attitudes. This in turn pass down to the students and the students feel completely cared for. However, several times my kids experienced uncooked chicken nuggets from the cafeteria.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sherwood Elementary School
2541 Post Road, Melbourne, FL  32935
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (321) 254-6424
Last modified Sherwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top