Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ascension Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Melbourne

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $69,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2007

I am delighted with the new principal. He has shown great, consistent leadership. His emphasis on high academic standards as well as discipline has been wonderful. A calm, happy atmosphere is prevelent throughout the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My little sister goes to Ascension, she cries everyday she comes home because the other students are mean to her...We just moved to Florida. Her teacher is fantastic and is helping her to more than her ability. The students here are very rude, I've seen examples myself. Its a shame parents cant teach their children morals and manners towards other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

The new innovative and creative science teacher is wonderful! I sent my child for positive catholic influence and the science dedication
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

Used to be a great school. Has really gone downhill since administration has changed and so many good teachers left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Wonderful school. Great teachers. Love the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

My childrren ejoyed their time there. Class size was large but there are teachers' aides. Teachers really take an interest in their students and work well with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Ascension has always excelled academically. It has a wonderful new gym and many sports programs. The music program is great with many opportunities for kids to be involved in choirs and band. Parents are always around volunteering. It has a real family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 23, 2005

School is a good example of a Catholic elementary school. Family-oriented and not too expensive. Good quality for a reasonable price.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 27, 2005

The activities are good and so is the facility,But if you send your kid here you will regret it,I switched to Holy Trinity(it rocks).What ever you do don't send your kids here.They won't be given the attention they deserve.I am an 8th grader now and I still cringe,at that school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2004

Mt son has done well in the positive environment at this school. He is entering third grade and is looking forward to the challenges. Although class sizes are large, there are few discipline problems and the teachers are able to present material without interruption.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 16% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FLGA-LCMS
Fax number
  • (321) 259-0993

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orlando
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2950 North Harbor City Boulevard
Melbourne, FL 32935
Phone: (321) 254-1595

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ascension School
Melbourne, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT