Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy

Private | PK-12 | 830 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Melbourne

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Great school - outstanding academics with strong focus on STEM, Arts and Music. Athletic program provides opportunities for all kids to get involved and many go off to play sports in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

This school is not worth the tuition they charge. Some of their teachers are not caring and their staff are money bigots.Education is below public school standards. I would not recommend this school to my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy in Melbourne, FL is a wonderful school (ps-12th grade). They are known for their challenging academics, caring teachers, wide variety of extracurricular activities, and small class sizes. My daughter is in Kindergarten and has attended since preschool. It's a big investment financially but it is well worth it for our family. I honestly believe my daughter would not have the same opportunities or be treated with as much sincere love and care elsewhere. She loves going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Love this school. Was an easy transition from public grade school to upper school. We were so thrilled with the teachers and communication. Is an expensive school, but worth the comfort of communication on a daily basis. And a happy middle school child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

Our children have attended HT's lower school for 4 years, and we are thrilled by the growth we've seen in them during this time. The academics are advanced with a rich curriculum including Singapore math, hands on science, dynamic music and art programs, Chinese, Library, computer sciences including programming, STEM lab, PE everyday and more. All of this is offered in a Christian environment where character education is a priority. The teaching staff is warm, bright, dynamic, and simply wonderful! We have found both the teacher and administration to be caring, open, and accessible. In addition, HT has an impressive offering of extracurricular activities that has something for everyone. Our children have participated in sports that they otherwise would not have given a chance. As a result, they have developed skills, confidence, and friendships along the way. We believe that HT truly teaches the whole child: mind, body, and soul. Brevard County has some of the best schools in the state, and we toured several of them in area. The decision to send our children to HT was based on the well-rounded approach to education described above. This is absolutely the right school for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2014

I went to Holy Trinity from pre-kindergarten until 9th grade when I transferred to Viera. I was also at Suntree Elementary for a short while. I can say with complete honesty that the quality of education is no different from any public school. The only difference (aside from thousands of dollars in tuition) is that Holy Trinity makes you wear a uniform and has 15 minutes of chapel each day. Some of the teachers were good but the faculty was just awful when it comes to playing favorites and singling kids out. I am not up to date on the lawfulness of recruiting athletes, but because Holy Trinity has a waiting list for prospective students (or at least they did when I went there), they tend to accept more African Americans. Going from 6th to 7th grade, my class went from having no black students to having upwards of 20, almost all of whom were on sports teams. Do your child a favor and don't waste your money. There are schools in the area with the same (if not better) quality of education that won't cost you tens of thousands of dollars in tuition.


Posted February 11, 2014

Holy Trinity is an amazing school. I have two children at the Lower School. They both started in preschool. The school offers so many opportunities for educational, social, and emotional growth. I love the character education program at the school. It teaches them how to be the best they can be. It also offers many extra activities, sports, and clubs before and after school. Just recently my child began learning "Scratch". It is a computer coding program. She is also learning how to make movies on the iPad. It is amazing what they come home and teach me. My children love going to school and are always so excited to share their day when they come home. I have found all the teachers to be loving, caring, and open with communication. I love being a part of the Holy Trinity family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Good school but favoritism of staff kids is legendary...down to a "others need not apply" rule regarding any school production/activity. Parents do complain but with futile results. I do believe they keep many students (and their parents) enrolled simply due to the economy. They are rather ineffective in dealing with socially troubled kids (once again, and their parents) in that you will see these parents at the school "shadowing" their children as often as they can. Daily lunch with Mommy and Daddy continues even into the 6th grade! I suppose I have been rather harsh in my comments but these items have caused quite an uproar among many parents. We still think it's the best school in the county, but these concerns are very troubling for many of us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

My two children have attended Holy Trinity since they were three years old. My oldest is headed to the Upper School next year and we are thrilled with the education they have received. The social climate is exactly what we are looking for and the teachers are so nice. Every year my children think they have had the best teachers! If I ever had concerns, I found the school to be responsive. I recommend the school without hesitation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

We are a Holy Trinity family with our son currently in the Lower School. He started 8 years ago when he was three and as parents we feel it was the best decision we did for him. The school has a rigorous curriculum with a low student to faculty ratio, very successful programs of extra-curricular activities such as chess, boy/girl-scouts and many athletic activities. Most importantly though, Holy Trinity share the vision of an academic community based on the love of God, self respect & respect for each other. The kids learn to give back to their community at a very young age through the very special Character Education program and that is another quality that sets the school apart from any other school in Brevard. Unmistakably Holy Trinity is the premier private school in Brevard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

I have two children that have attendend Holy Trinity since Early Childhood. My older child attends the Upper School, and I feel it was a seamless transition. He was well prepared, both academically and socially. My other child currently attends the Lower School, and loves the enrichment opportunities (music, art, PE, Chinese, STEM, computer lab and library). The teachers have open-communication with the parents and the character education program is fabulous. I have been consistently impressed by the quality of teachesr and the academics offered at both the Upper and Lower school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

I have two sons that graduated from Holy Trinity and I appreciate everything that was done for my children. I can hardly believe how lucky we were to have been part of the HT family. I wish that all students could receive the counseling, encouragement and education that HT students have. There is a marked difference between what HT does and what the typical school does. My sons received a foundation beyond academics... they were encouraged to develop spiritually, morally, athletically, creatively. They weren't perfect and they made mistakes during and after but through it all, they had the basic foundation to draw from and see them through the bumps. The college counseling was phenomenal. I haven't spoken to anyone who has had anything like it elsewhere. People are amazed when I tell them how my kids' high school led them through the college process starting from the 9th grade, ensuring that they got Bright Futures and other scholarships. One son will be finishing up with a masters in engineering this year with a job! My other son has graduated from college and is now attending medical school. Mr. Chiarella had an extremely positive impact on both of my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Our child attended the lower school. She has been bullied, asked to sit at a lunch table with kids of her own ethnicity (by other kids) and ridiculed by other children. When we discussed this with other parents they had seen the same thing for multiple years with their kids. The staff tepidly acknowledged the issue and did nothing to remedy the situation. We have always sent our child to private schools and this is by far the worst experience we've had. The impression we get from the staff is that we are not customers, we are simply "lucky to be here". Academics at this school are fair at best but not worth the money being spent. The "care factor" from the staff is frustrating for parents who truly care about their child's education. The response to concerns is even more frustrating. You are not a customer her... your child is not the primary concern of the staff... don't be foolded by the hype.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

While it may seem as though this school has much to offer, and will prepare your child for the college and subsequently, the real world, all of the claims to fame are simply just that. As a student now about to graduate college, I can say the only positive attribute of HTA for college was the aid in the application process. After 3 years in college, I have struggled with Math, Science as well as Physics. The classes were anything but challenging, and the more your parents donated, the better you were treated. The community was not "family-oriented" or morally sound, as they claim to be, as most parents and kids seem to think they are better than others. I had many friends in a rival private school, as well as a few public schools, and they have had much more success in college than my fellow classmates from HTA. For these reasons and many more, HT, if anything, prepared me for the opposite of the real world and college alike. My recommendation, save over 50,000 for for years of high school and pay for a real education in college. Sincerely, Past student.


Posted August 5, 2011

I have to disagree with the snob factor claimed by another review below. I have had my three children in Holy Trinity for seven years, and truly enjoy the environment. I have seen the difference in the education my children have received. The focus at upper school is definately college prep and I feel my children are more ready to embark on the next step in life because of Holy Trinity's programs. The Teachers are wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

My two girls have been here since they were three years old. They are thriving with the caring, loving teachers they had had through the years. This year they are loving Chinese!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

My children attend both the upper and Lower schools.HTA is one of the best experiences and value I can provide for my children.This school provide rigorous academicas and a tremendous athletic program with story after story of success.But most important to my family is the character and development of the child that HTA is providing,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

HTA is a great school but not the Academic Holy Land made out by some parents. If you can pay tuition, then your child is pretty much in. Parents will put-down the local public schools to make themselves feel better. There is a definite snob factor so decide if you want to expose your child to this atmosphere (that they are 'better' than other children, and not just academically.) There are area public schools with great academic and character education programs. I do not feel the lower school was worth the tuition, but the upper school is a better investment as they provide a staff member whose sole purpose is to find scholarships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

My son has been at Holy Trinity for 4 years. We have watched him develop confidence and his academic skills are far more developed than his friends who are attending other schools. This school will push your child to be their best and there is a definite emphasis on academics, but the whole child is nurtured through great enrichments and extracurricular activities. Kids at this school go on to great colleges, so while it is expensive, it is an investment in thier future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I am an alumni of Holy Trinity and now my children attend as well. It is a great, open friendly atmosphere with friendly and caring teachers. They offer so much, not just academics, but enrichments and character education as well. I feel my children have received an incredible education to date and know this will continue as they further their cademic carrer there. My child recently went through the first grade program and I can't sing enough of their praises.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 44%
Asian 7% N/A
Hispanic 5% 24%
Black 3% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (321) 308-9077

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5625 Holy Trinity Dr
Melbourne, FL 32940
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 723-8323

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT