Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brevard Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Melbourne

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2012

I love the Preschool! . The teachers are wonderful, professional and loving. The Director is available and is very active with the students. I love checking the web site for my child's work and slide shows of what happened at school. I feel like my child has received a top quality education this year.My child has learned to read this year. The work is challenging but fun. Parents are welcome to participate and observe the classes. Chapel is just awesome to watch. All the children singing and dancing. Even Grandma gets involved in school and enjoyed Grandparents day. My child does not want to leave school at the end of the day. I look forward to seeing the VPK graduation program.


Posted December 11, 2011

I went to this school from 1st grade to the middle of my 10th grade year when I asked my parents to please take me out and let me attend a public school. I had always been told that I was receiving a superior education and that I was far beyond those other students in the public schools. BCS could not have been any more wrong! When I switched to Melbourne High School, I was immediately behind by about a year and a half. The teachers were more qualified, experienced, and there were fewer behavioral issues in the public school, which shocked me. My parents thought that sending me to BCS would protect me from things that I might experience in an environment that wasn't "Christian". The reality was that BCS accepted students that were some of the worst classmates I ever had. I feel bad for the amount of money that my parents wasted at BCS for a sub-par education. If I could go back, I would probably just ask to attend public school.


Posted November 9, 2009

Brevard Christian school is a fully accredited Christian school where every child is known by name. The teachers care about each student's individual needs. It has a family friendly atmoshere that promotes partnerships with parents to help children grow academically, spiritually, socially, and physically. Truly a Bibical approach that can be seen every day.


Posted October 3, 2009

Small K-12 school with small classes,great teachers,wonderful after school programs. This is a small Christian school that is trying to make a difference in the community, by furnishing a good education for all its students on a shoe string budget. They really could use the help!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

I am a previous teacher of the school. When I first started working there I was unsure of the school myself other than that the teacher really cared about the students and loved God!! Things have truely changed over the past few years. I heard that they are no longer going to be using the Abeka which will help alot with accademics and all the teachers are accredited which someone has said they were not. There was a time this may have not been the case but they are now and they are all great teachers! The school is showing major improvements and I am thinking of sending my children. Before I would have given a lower rating but things have truely changed!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 8, 2009

Brevard Christian school is an excellent school. My child has learned to read in k4. The teachers are friendly, loving and live out their Christian beliefs. This is a school where teachers actually pray with students and parents.The school is very family oriented and I often participate in the volunteer program. I like knowing my children are learning and happy while they are at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I am a former student at BCS it was a fun when I was ^ but now when I look back at it brevard Christian it not the best school in brevard county. A lot of things they said they would have like P.E the coach would never show up same with Music class once I order a recorder to play in music everyone had one except myself they kept saying it will be here next week it never came. At brevard Christian I always found myself disapointed I am sorry i would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2007

The academics have never had a good reputation particularly in the Jr High and up. The Elementary teachers were all replaced a year ago and that should tell you something is not right there either. The best thing about the school used to be the athletic program and now it is the worst excuse for a high school program anywhere! If this school doesn't get it's full accreditation back (The one it lost under this great new president) then they should bow out the education field gracefully. Everything rises and falls on leadership. How can they claim that 'students matter' when it's clear only their money matters?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Brevard Christian School has made great strides in the past few years under new pastoral and administrative teams. My daughter learned how to read in the 4 year old program by Christmas last year. Both of my children love the school and their teachers. They really care about the kids and us as a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

The school has good teacher/student ratios'. High turnover rate for teachers. Some thing need improvement like better library, computer learning for younger grades, etc. Needs more after school activities/clubs, hardly any available. School is old and needs to get renovated. It is a loving environment where kids seems to learn and play together . I love the curriculum which is abeka. I think the teachers really do care for the students a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

My two grandchildren now in 5th and 4th grade have been attending BCS since preschool. They are both excelling academically, socially and spiritually. Both have consistently scored above the national averages in all subjects. The class sizes are much smaller than public schools. I'm very please with the level of communication with the teachers. Teacher turnover has been high but the quality of the teachers has been consistently high. BCS substantially raised teacher salaries last year so I hope this will reduce the turnover. BCS has a new administrator this year with great leadership skills. There are many extracurricular activities, in addition to the full sports program for High School & Jr High, my grandson attends an after school chess class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Awesome teachers in the pre-school. My boys will both go there. My k4 son is reading 3 and 4 letter words mid year! There are only 13 students in his class. We love the new pastor and his wife, they have made the needed changes in the past year. 2005. Highly recomended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

Be very carefull! Some classes do not transfer and teachers are not all credentialed. Very bad experiance and a loss of two years of learning in the high school level. Also be aware that just because it is church affilitated chritian ethics are not practised nor are they enforsed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

Brevard Christian preschool has been wonderful for our daughter. She learned so many wonderful new skills. The atmosphere is like no school I have ever experienced. I attended public school but wish Brevard Christian School was available to me. I know several of the graduates from BCS and they are succeeding in college and the real world. They are very polite, smart, well adjusted, christian young men and ladies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

It seems that everytime I visit the school there are children in the halls never doing work and as far as getting college preparation I feel that the only colleges you prepare them for is the Christian colleges and that they don't learn the necessary fundamentals needed to suceed in the real world college scene.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Black 32% 23%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACCS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Dorchester Avenue
Melbourne, FL 32904
Phone: (321) 727-2038

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brevard Christian School
West Melbourne, FL


Florida Air Academy
Melbourne, FL




New Covenant School
Melbourne, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT