Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Florida Air Academy

Private | 6-12 | 300 students

Best Known for Flight and Aerospace Engineering Programs

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Melbourne

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $81,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2008

This was our first year at FAA and I was surprised/excited to actually get four emails from four different teachers saying 'positive' things about my son. Sad to say, but even though he is a good student and always has been and has attended another private school previously from pre-K till sixth grade...the only time we ever heard from the teachers at his other school was when it was something negative...so it is great to hear positive things that actually make the child want to do better...Thank you FAA, Lynne Narmore
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

We are so impressed with the personal touch that the entire Florida Air Staff has demonstrated this past year. When our son, Cody, made his first solo flight, it was 'celebrated' by many. During Spring Family Weekend, we had several FAA staff members congratulate us on Cody's accomplishment. Living out of state, we feel connected to FAA because of the warmth and interest of the FAA family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

My son attended FAA as a day student and boarding student for 5 years. It was a great experience. He graduated with numerous AP and Dual Enrollment credits. The teachers were so supportive and always did a great job of communicating with every parent I know. His tactical officers(dorm supervisors) taught him to become a leader and helped him grow into the successful young man he is today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

Sending Jonathan to Florida Air Academy was the best decision I could have ever made. Actually, it was Jonathan that discovered FAA and requested to attend after coming to an Open House. He was treated with respect upon entering the building. I tell people all the time that it has been the best investment I could have ever made. Jonathan has done exceptionally well here. He has become a great young man and has learned how to set goals and reach them. He has been molded into being a leader and given responsibility while being held accountable for all his actions. The teachers at FAA truly care about the students. At home, most of his friends ask him about FAA. His comments, the school is great, we have a lot of fun and all you have to do is follow a few rules ! Thank you, Denise Wallace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

I hate this school. It really has a lot of problems, the worst among them being how bad the facilities are kept, my roommates ceiling had a rather large hole in it and it wasnt attended to for weeks, and when they finally did come to fix it, it was just patched up and proceeded to mess up again. This was just one instance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2008

Good academics but unacceptable boarding conditions. Theft, vandalism and bullying occur regularly. Facilities are poor. Lax supervision. Tuition is too high considering what you get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Our son is in his junior year of high school as a boarding student at FAA. This is his second year and although the initial adjustment was very difficult, the benefits have been tremendous. The teachers are competent and caring. All other staff members are approachable and eager to help. Our son entered as a good student from a large public school. He was never a troublemaker, but one year at Florida Air has matured him in ways we could never imagine. He is more polite, appreciative of us, and considerate of other people. He got to play on a state championship basketball team under a terrific coach. The facilities are nothing fancy, but are adequate. We cannot be very active in the parents' association since we are out-of-state, but we feel very confident about the school's leadership. We recommend FAA very highly for its academics, activities and leadership development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I am a student here at Florida Air, and I think that the academics here are superior to every other school I've been to so far, but the boarding cadet's life here is very bad. The rooms and hallways are dirty, and the cadet staff members are not disciplined. In short, this is not the school for you if you want to be a boarding student, but as a day student you will have a great time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2007

My son, who attends as a boarding student, has made tremendous academic progress. His ability to self discipline and focus has also improved. They keep the kids super busy on the weekends and out of trouble. They offer a lot of sports and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

This school has been very good for my son but there are many short falls fo the amount of money you pay. The facilities are horribly kept; seems more interesst in tuition than your kid; teachers are good and caring. I would not recommend for boarding but for day student, ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

FAA is a wonderful school. The teachers are hardworking and caring. They go the extra mile for the students, because most of the students board at the school. My son has attended for two years and is quite happy. When given the option to return to public school, he chose to stay at FAA because of the strong sense of community. There are plenty of extracurricular activies and a large array of classes, especially for a small school. The only thing he complains about is the food.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

My son attended FAA for four years and now my daughter is on her 1st of 4 yrs. As in any school you get out of it what you put in to it. FAA has great teachers with a small environment in which every child is known personally by not only the teachers but also the staff. The school operates on accountability. The children are held accountable for their actions or inaction. They also offer positive rewards and incentives whereas both of these are generally lacking in the public schools. The Drum and Bugle Corp is of high standards as well as the Jazz Band. The sports are competitive in their district with repeating State Champs titles in Basketball! The parental involvement is great considering many parents do not live locally but when ask to support an event the parents are the most generous you will want to meet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

I will agree the the previous parent who rate this school with a two star rating. Yes, they are strict, but needed when many of the students in the school experienced a rough street life. Do not get me wrong, there are student who come in with honors and good backgrounds. The good students need to be spiritual strong in order to survive the taunting. Strict yes, that is good in my opinions along with proper mannerisms. The school is dirty, food is below average. Poor weekend supervision. Teachers and staff wear a morbid look on their faces. No one smiles. There is no southern friendliness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

My grandson has attended FAA for two years and it has been a great opportunity for him. Not only the academic programs are challenging and interesting but the sports programs are among the best in the area and give everyone a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

This school has terrible boarding facilities. Their math and science departments are disappointing, but they have great electives. Little parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

This is a military style college prep school. The Academic programs and the teachers are excellent! My son went from a B/C student to being on the President's List! Music programs are limited. They have a great Drum & Bugle Corp but nothing much for strings, winds or keyboards. This school has about 500 cadets (students) with more than 3/4 being bording students... the rest are day students who go home at night. This is the first year females have been accepted to the school. I thought this wasn't a good idea at first but it worked out fine. Parent involvement is not very high only because many parents live in other states & countries. In general, if I had to do it again, I would delinetly send my son here. I am proud of him and what he has become, thanks to FAA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

Great communication with teachers through Netclassroom. Definetely not recommended for boarding school, concerns of safety and supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2005

Very strict. New students will doubtless struggle with the rigid and opressive enviornment. This may be ultimately beneficial for the student, but your child will need support to accomodate the rather drastic change in lifestyle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

Great school. Great involvement. Great teachers. Great everything. Love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

Young teachers... School promises 8 -12 students and classes are max'ed out between 15 to 20. Additional costs for tuttoring, weekend restriction, Medicine despensing, avg to below avg food, etc. By far one of the dirtiest schools I have seen. Dorms are not properly cleaned. Kids are not properly supervised on weekends.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Hispanic 18% 29%
Black 15% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:05 am
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMCS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1950 Academy Drive
Melbourne, FL 32901
Phone: (321) 723-3211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brevard Christian School
West Melbourne, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT