Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Christian School

Private | K-12 | 135 students

We are best known for academics, family environment.

 
 

Living in Melbourne

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $69,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

Both of my children attended CCS from 2 year-old preschool classes (don't believe they've had those for many years) until they completed 9th grade. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone seeking a solid academic, Christ-centered education. There are Christian schools out there more in name than in focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I agree with the statement that there is a lack of male leadership at the school. It is run by women. The principal, who comes across as very temperamental and makes hasty decisions based on emotion instead of reason, should step down and allow a level-headed male take over. The high school has low academic standards, and the students don't seem to have any drive to excel. The elementary students are loaded up with meaningless seat work, and they become bored. After what I have experienced, I would never allow a child of mine to attend that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

My children attended CCS for three years, and there is a real problem of not addressing any problems relating to teachers. Your concerns and complaints fall on deaf ears, and the Board will do everything to protect the reputation of a teacher, regardless of the allegations against them. The kids there can be very mean, and I see a lot of people talking the talk, but not walking the walk. There is also alot of nepotism and favoritism. I finally had to pull my kids out because it go so bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Our family feels very blessed to be a part of this amazing school. All of the team members (staff) are loving and caring and spread the message and love of Jesus in their everyday actions and attitudes. My children are SO happy to go everyday and when they return they enjoy sharing all of the great experiences they've had that day. I highly recommend allowing your child the amazing experience they will have if they attend Community Christian School in Melbourne, FL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

There is very litle male role leadership at this school. It's run by all women. There is a male upper school guidance counselor which is nice however there needs to be a main male role model at this school. It is very lacking in that area. The principal needs to step down and allow the school board to hire a man to lead and guide the school in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

This is a wondeful shool! My child has attended several other Christian schools and this one by far is the best! The academic standards are very high and the teachers care so much about EVERY student. There is absolutely NO favortism in this school. The students are great and hardworking. The entire school is very Christ focused without all of the 'religion'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

this is such a great school! i love my teachers! it's my first year and i've already made so many friends! Jesus is so amazingly imporant here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

My two children have attended CCS since 2000 and it was the best decision we made for their education and character development. It is a small school with a family environment where people care about you. The staff are awsome and consider their job to be a ministry rather than a job. The Bible is integrated with all aspects of the curriclum as well as how the children are dealt with outside of academics. God and Jesus are honored at this school, Christian is more than in just the name. My children will graduate with a foundation that will serve them well to serve God well. They are prepared for college and for how to be in the world but not of the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Academic programs are good, your kids will be prepared and ahead if you ever leave this school and go back to public. The Christian aspect is strictly and fundamentally taught so a plus if that is your philosophy. I feel it doesn't teach much about spirituality though, and was very legalistic and unforgiving. There is a lot of favoritism for any families with money or whose parents are involved in volunteering or are on the board. Working moms beware- you will be treated as an outcast. The teachers, principles and men on the board feel women should be home with their kids. If I could be home and not working- I'd be homeschooling and my kids would not be learning the 'religion' taught here... they would be learning Jesus' teachings on love and true Christianity! This school is better than public but could be truer to Jesus' brand of Christianity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

CCS Melbourne is a family friendly school for students to grow spiritually and academically. Affordable tuition and small class sizes keep the experiece intimate and encouraging for parents wanting a private education that's attainable for all budgets. The administration and staff are excellent mentors of Faith and supportive to parents in this journey to 'train up our children' My husband and I are pleased to call CCS the place we send our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Hispanic 18% 29%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 7% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Central Florida
Brevard Community College
Christian Colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Laurel Earls
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • FCIS
Fax number
  • (321) 259-5301

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Community Christian School Accepts Florida's Step Up for Student Scholarships
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Central Florida
Brevard Community College
Christian Colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1616 Ferndale Avenue
Melbourne, FL 32935
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 259-1590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Rising Stars Academy
Melbourne, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT