Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quest Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 861 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

The office staff is warm and friendly. The child care program is excellent and has hours geared to working parents. My son has been at the school for 4 years and all his teachers have been awesome. He loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

Moved from the northeast where all you hear about is how great the schools are so when we moved to Florida I did my research and decided on Brevard county. Quest has excellent teachers and assistance for students who need speech, Ot, pt. they communicate well and the front office is super friendly. There are threethings that bother me greatly about the district that is why I am only giving it three stars. They start the small kids so early in the morning when they are the ones that need the sleep and are hardest to take care of in the morning. It bothers me so much when I see 8th graders waiting for a bus at 9am while I had to wake my five yr old up. Secondly there is NO security at all. Anyone can just walk into the building and the kindergarten classes are right there, very scary. Lastly, they teach too much to the fcat and not to the specific child's needs. Overall, I am happy with quest just wish they would make some minor adjustments and then it would be five stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

I am a student at quest and I have been here since Kindergarten and now in 5th. I have always loved this school and is a great place to be , the teachers are very nice, they have realy encouraged both other students and I to do our very best.


Posted August 11, 2012

Quest is a great elementary school. Both of my children attended for k-6 and had very good experiences. Any issues I had with teachers were taken seriously by the staff and principal. I have not had any bad experiences with the current office staff. I rated 4 instead of five simply because of a lack of extra opportunities who high scoring students who are not gifted. Unfortunately, fact testing in Florida restricts time and what good teachers can do for kids...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

The office staff is what ruins this school. I have never seen someone so disrespectful and condescending to parents as this office attendant. It is a shame because first impressions are everything and she successfully ruins Quest's. The principal is virtually non existent. The teachers are excellent. They really do care about the kids and are equally appalled by the disconnect from the staff and principals. Quest has so much potential if they remove the toxic people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The staff is very friendly, My daughter loves her second grade teacher, the activity teachers are so nice. I love that they have family theme nights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

It is very welcoming to parents and my son loves his school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I LOVE how friendly the staff is and how motivated the teachers are. I appreciate all of the welcomed volunteer support to assist the school in being successful. I am thankful for all of the parent support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

It has some good teachers, that's for sure! In my opinion, poor communication on the part of the principal, with parents and children alike. Major safety issues with the location of the office way past the lobby and front doors - the doors should be kept locked!! Lots of extras for those behind, but not much for those ahead of the curve who don't qualify for AP
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

We were SO fortunate to have our children attend Quest Elementary '06-'09 before we transferred out of state. They left us with a very high standard for our new schools. The teachers truly CARE about the children and they interact with them in their lessons so creatively. This makes the kids want to learn. My children will forever benefit from the writing WOW lab. The principal, however, could interact more with the kids in a positive way. Overall, Quest is Best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

We have been at Quest for three years. I have mixed review about the school. The teachers we have had have been great and my child has done very well in school because of the teacher's dedication and genuine concern for each student. Love the teacher. Unfortunately, I have found the administration staff to be very unapproachable and stand-offish. They don't seem all too interested in parent feedback or concerns and tend to make the same excuses for things that go unaddressed. The new hires in the office seem to have the same disposition and there is no longer a friendly vibe when you walk into the office. Basically, you are ignored. The previous front desk person was very welcoming and personable, unfortunately that person has been replaced with a replicant personality of the administrative team, stand offish and 'too busy' to notice you. Customer service training would benefit this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

This is a great school! I have 2 kids in this school and we are in our 2nd year. Teachers are great, office staff is very nice and they know most kids by name. My youngest needed speech therapy and it is being attended to. Before grades were sent out, teacher called for conference b4 I asked for one-that's proactive! The 6th grade teachers team that my oldest has is great and they try to prepare that grade for middle school. FCAT scores are above average if you're looking for that too. They have creative fundraisers that include the parents too! How cute is it to have a Mother-Son luau and a Father-Daughter dance??!! I love that! Parent volunteers are welcome and it's a great way to know how the school works-if you can do that. I'm very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

My kids loooove this school! They said that the teachers are absolutly wonderful and are the nicest teachers they have ever had. We recieved a postcard in the mail today that was mailed directly to my daughter and it was directly from her teacher(s), welcoming her to the school and a nice personal message asking her how her vacation was. We are so pleased with the way the environment as a whole is so great. To us, it makes a world of a difference if the kids are wanting to goto school.. Every person that I have come in contact with at this school have been very friendly and answered every single question that we have had, and gave us lots of information to read up on, and they show that they are very pleased to have my childeren in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

This school has been awesome. We were in private school prior to this and I find this school to be above the private education my children were receiving. My older son was behind and they have tried to help in so many ways to assure he gets back on line. I tend to think they work with the students who are behind more thna the gifted children but see that the teachers care about all the students. i have a child in 3rd and fourth and have both to be able to meet their needs even by changing their curriculum to do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

My child is in the 4th grade at this new school and we are new to the area. We have found that with this area being so new, they don't have any extra programs for kids that may need extra help. You are just on your own. Not what we we use to. Where we come from the parents and teachers work together, to help all kids. Here if your child isn't top in the class, they don't know who you are. I've been to the school so many times and don't feel like they care. They act like they do but why don't they help these kids more. Not all kids learn the same or at the same rate. There isn't anything wrong with these kids. They may just need a little extra help. This school doesn't have that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 12% 29%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 4% 23%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%58%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 2:20pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elia A Lea
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (321) 242-1719

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8751 Trafford Dr
Melbourne, FL 32940
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 242-1411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Devereux School
Melbourne, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT