Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Viera High School

Public | PK, 9 | 1976 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

Teens find support from a great teacher Ms. Hummel, She helps in education and support to group teens with Autism, and my Asperger's daughter 15 years old, who needs another teacher special for she can speak pretty good English. Now school doesn't have money for this. More resources give good possibilities education for young people that are future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My son graduated from Viera High and my daughter attended to 11th grade. Very pleased on the programs offered and focus on academics. The JROTC program is wonderful and as with any school, some teachers are phenomenal and some are less than desirable but the good outweigh the not so good. However, if your focus is athletics this may not be the school for you. Nevertheless, over 95% of the children attend some form of higher education and the bonus is under the Collegiate High program students can receive their AA degree with high school diploma. Furthermore, dual enrollment allows students to conquer some college classes FREE of charge (text books included).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

this school is really nice and my daughter enjoys this school. the teachers are great. nice area surrounding the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

Terrible administration that can't prioritize the real issues at hand. Selfish teachers and even worse faculty.


Posted November 13, 2012

Unfortunately, Viera High has significantly lost its reputable image. They lost a wonderful administration in 2011 and their new administration doesn't compare. It's a shame. My first child had 4 incredible amazing years and thrived. Sadly, for my other children, they have attended under the new administration along with a string of new teachers and it has been extremely disappointing, They lack sincere concern for the students and run the school rather militantly. Some of the teachers do not have the maturity level to handle teenagerrs and should not be teaching high school. If you are considering Viera High for your child, I would strongly urge you to educate yourself before making that decision,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

This school is okay, but some of the teachers are unfair a cruel. I'm a sophomore here and I recently just got yelled at in my face by a teacher for not putting on her jacket because my shirt was too "revealing" where as there are other students in my class who wore shirts that showed their bare back/ bra and they didn't get called out. It's not very professional to have a teacher yell and point in your face like that and it's rather degrading if you ask me. As for the students, they're extremely fake and the school is just plain old weird. You have people yelling random things in the hallway, then you have the stuck up people who just don't want to get to know you at all. Then you have multiple teachers taking out their bad moods on the students. The principal is amazing though, kids here are smart but all I hear about is parties and alcohol and weed. The school is in a very boring area, not much to do around here. I've been to three different high schools since my freshman year, this being my third and it's got to be the worst staff wise, the teachers are unfair and they abuse their powers and think just because they're teachers they can yell at you however they want to.


Posted September 22, 2011

Good school, considering the previous principal was fired for a hiring scandal (along with the latest football coach, vice principal, and a secretary.) The (current as of 2011) football coach, which is the 4th one since the school opened, and 3rd since my freshman year, has made viera have its' first season with a decent team. The choice of classes is huge, with having the first program in the county with computer labs dedicated to digital media, to the AP classes. Another good thing is they have the largest marching band and music program in the county, if not the state. Unfortunately, the administration is not as good now as it was before 2011, so they are much more strict. +Good teachers and hard classes - Strict administration, some poor quality teachers


Posted June 8, 2011

From a recent Graduate who transferred to this school Junior year, VHS is an exceptional school. Easily one of the best schools in the State. The Faculty is amazing, great teachers all around, AP and Honor classes. The Principle is a great guy. Really cool and fair. To think that Viera is only a couple of years old and we are already a powerhouse in both athletics and academics. Pretty much every teacher prepares you well for college and life. On average, the students here are extremely smart! We have the highest AP test scores out of the whole county... even better than Westshore and Coco Beach. Dominated for two years in a row for the all athletic trophy. Besides football, we are pretty dominant in sports, especially in wrestling, golf, tennis, track and field, were in swimming and diving, but we lost a lot of seniors... and some other sports. Best marching band in the county... yes, even better than EauGallies. Student Government is good, other clubs are good, NHS is a joke here. all you have to do is turn in hours and keep a 3.5 and thats all you do. The only negative thing is that it is a new school, so there are no traditions etc. and everyone seems to be... fake, sort of.


Posted December 18, 2010

Like most public schools these days they are interested only in the schools, teacher & admin. staff image/reputation. This is very true as far as this school is concerned. The principle needs to get his house in order and stop passing the buck. Then & only then it will hopefully trickle down through the staff/teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

I am extremely happy with this school! all of the kids get along, there is no "popular" cliques. The test scores are one of the best in the state. The teachers all care about students, all classes have less than 25 students in them. Beautiful campus. very safe school! surrounding neighborhoods are very nice, no gangs either. The best school in the county for a kid. All the equipment is less than 4 years old. Put your child in this school if you want them to have amazing high school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My son attends Viera High School and absolutely loves this school. This is the happiest that I have ever seen him in school and the very best he has ever done academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

ha ha ha ha ha great school i must say myself great leadership with the principal and everyone cares
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It is a very progressive school. The principal and staff really cares about every studentl. They know the students by name even though it is a large school and growing larger. I am proud my daughter goes to this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Great School all the way around!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Different standards of discipline for students depending on the ethic group. The school needs a diverse prinicpal that is willing to administer equal rights for all students. Not because of the color of their skin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

It is a great school with great teachers, I have two children here and they love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

I'm a student at Viera High School. The first year they were very strict because they needed to set a good impression. As a junior I'm impressed with the way they treat the juniors and they like to give us some superiority in the school. The teachers are impressive and the principal is wonderful. Anybody who has any problems with this school is nuts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2007

They offer pre-AP courses and AP courses as well and there are so many opportunities in this school that you can choose to excel in your education.As this school is only 2 years old,it is still blossoming in its extracurricular activies but the ones that are present are quite impressive as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

The first day of school went off without a hitch... the buses were all on time and the staff was ready. This school is in its second year and, so far, this parent is super impressed. The kids are great, the teachers are knowledgable, friendly and seem to care about the kids and what they want to do when they get out of school. Viera High School offers vocational and pre-AP courses which count as college credit. Who says that Florida schools are inferior? Not here in Brevard county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

this is my first year at this school and i am allready thrilled, the administration has been extremely helpful, and there is a wide variety of classes to choose from that provide college prep as well as life skills classes like financial planning, and food prep. in addition this school has many extra carricular activities avaliable. the campus of this school is beautiful and is a great learning envirovment.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

472 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 6%
Black 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 93%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAMES C HICKEY, IV
Fax number
  • (321) 433-4338

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6103 Stadium Parkway
Melbourne, FL 32940
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 632-1770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Viera Charter School
Melbourne, FL


Manatee Elementary School
Brevard County, FL


Devereux School
Melbourne, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT