Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK, 9-12|Public district
2,032 students|Brevard
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Viera High School 3

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
My child attends VHS and is currently a Jr. One of the issues that I have with the school is the inconsistency with the teachers posting information to Edline. I think I may be one of the few parents of a Jr who still visits Edline regularly. We have had unpleasant several conversations with our child concerning not turning in work on time, only to find that it was turned in, but not posted to Edline in a timely manner. I am not sure if this is the case with the other high schools in the county, but this has been my experience with VHS. May be a minor issue to some, but it is an important issue to my family. I wish the teachers would do better.

Viera High School 4

Posted August 22, 2014
- a community member
Viera High School (FL) Four stars for teacher quality, principal leadership, and parental (NOT "parent") involvement.


Viera High School 3

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Teens find support from a great teacher Ms. Hummel, She helps in education and support to group teens with Autism, and my Asperger's daughter 15 years old, who needs another teacher special for she can speak pretty good English. Now school doesn't have money for this. More resources give good possibilities education for young people that are future.

Viera High School 4

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
My son graduated from Viera High and my daughter attended to 11th grade. Very pleased on the programs offered and focus on academics. The JROTC program is wonderful and as with any school, some teachers are phenomenal and some are less than desirable but the good outweigh the not so good. However, if your focus is athletics this may not be the school for you. Nevertheless, over 95% of the children attend some form of higher education and the bonus is under the Collegiate High program students can receive their AA degree with high school diploma. Furthermore, dual enrollment allows students to conquer some college classes FREE of charge (text books included).

Viera High School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
this school is really nice and my daughter enjoys this school. the teachers are great. nice area surrounding the school.


Viera High School 1

Posted April 03, 2013
- a community member
Terrible administration that can't prioritize the real issues at hand. Selfish teachers and even worse faculty.

Viera High School 1

Posted November 13, 2012
- a parent
Unfortunately, Viera High has significantly lost its reputable image. They lost a wonderful administration in 2011 and their new administration doesn't compare. It's a shame. My first child had 4 incredible amazing years and thrived. Sadly, for my other children, they have attended under the new administration along with a string of new teachers and it has been extremely disappointing, They lack sincere concern for the students and run the school rather militantly. Some of the teachers do not have the maturity level to handle teenagerrs and should not be teaching high school. If you are considering Viera High for your child, I would strongly urge you to educate yourself before making that decision,

Viera High School 3

Posted April 09, 2012
- a community member
This school is okay, but some of the teachers are unfair a cruel. I'm a sophomore here and I recently just got yelled at in my face by a teacher for not putting on her jacket because my shirt was too "revealing" where as there are other students in my class who wore shirts that showed their bare back/ bra and they didn't get called out. It's not very professional to have a teacher yell and point in your face like that and it's rather degrading if you ask me. As for the students, they're extremely fake and the school is just plain old weird. You have people yelling random things in the hallway, then you have the stuck up people who just don't want to get to know you at all. Then you have multiple teachers taking out their bad moods on the students. The principal is amazing though, kids here are smart but all I hear about is parties and alcohol and weed. The school is in a very boring area, not much to do around here. I've been to three different high schools since my freshman year, this being my third and it's got to be the worst staff wise, the teachers are unfair and they abuse their powers and think just because they're teachers they can yell at you however they want to.


Viera High School 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a community member
Good school, considering the previous principal was fired for a hiring scandal (along with the latest football coach, vice principal, and a secretary.) The (current as of 2011) football coach, which is the 4th one since the school opened, and 3rd since my freshman year, has made viera have its' first season with a decent team. The choice of classes is huge, with having the first program in the county with computer labs dedicated to digital media, to the AP classes. Another good thing is they have the largest marching band and music program in the county, if not the state. Unfortunately, the administration is not as good now as it was before 2011, so they are much more strict. +Good teachers and hard classes - Strict administration, some poor quality teachers

Viera High School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a community member
From a recent Graduate who transferred to this school Junior year, VHS is an exceptional school. Easily one of the best schools in the State. The Faculty is amazing, great teachers all around, AP and Honor classes. The Principle is a great guy. Really cool and fair. To think that Viera is only a couple of years old and we are already a powerhouse in both athletics and academics. Pretty much every teacher prepares you well for college and life. On average, the students here are extremely smart! We have the highest AP test scores out of the whole county... even better than Westshore and Coco Beach. Dominated for two years in a row for the all athletic trophy. Besides football, we are pretty dominant in sports, especially in wrestling, golf, tennis, track and field, were in swimming and diving, but we lost a lot of seniors... and some other sports. Best marching band in the county... yes, even better than EauGallies. Student Government is good, other clubs are good, NHS is a joke here. all you have to do is turn in hours and keep a 3.5 and thats all you do. The only negative thing is that it is a new school, so there are no traditions etc. and everyone seems to be... fake, sort of.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Viera High School
6103 Stadium Parkway, Melbourne, FL  32940
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (321) 632-1770
Last modified Viera High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top