Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2013

We have children at Gardendale for the past 9 years. It has always been a wonderful school, with fantastic teachers. Both of my children have been in the the performing arts magnet and have excelled both academically and artistically, with credit going to ALL of the teachers they have had since Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

Gardendale is great. I changed schools so the kids could attend band, chorus, art and have hands on activities to learn math and science. Kids learn real life experience with MicroSociety. Teachers, Staff and Principal are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

Gardendale is a true GEM. Even though it meant bussing over SR-520 every day, we decided that their intangible offerings were more important than a newer or higher technology school. By intangible, I mean Reasonable student population size for elementary school Year Round School (9 weeks in school followed by a 3 week mini vacation;summer break is 6 weeks) Practical use of garden maintenance Practical use of banking system with GEMS Dollars Hands on experimentation of various art forms Allowing students to choose a focus of study at 4th grade Morning Mile (running group before school) Great Teachers Great Staffers Student Safety Great Principal Great Parent willing to Volunteer While most of the intangibles are fueled by volunteer teachers(ie. parents), I would like to point to Mrs. Moeller, the principal, as our adventure coordinator. Not many principals would agree to a garden program or morning running program and so forth even if they had volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

Gardendale Elementary Magnet has been a godsend to our family. After moving to Brevard County two years ago and buying a home in an area based on school rankings I was dismayed to find out that one of the top performing schools in this county, while impressive turned out to be a rather sterile learning environment where the vast research on learning styles was acknowledged but not being implemented. After watching my once 'excited to learn child' slowly wilt and doubt her previous success in academics in an environment where they "teach the test" by which repetition/drill/memorize/regurgitate is the favored method, I knew I had to do something to get her excited about learning again. I found Gardendale in a desperate search for a school that encouraged creativity and innovation in addition to maintaining high academic standards. As soon as I read the description, I knew this was where she should have been all along (if only I had known about schools of choice and our options). My daughter's confidence in her academic abilities have been restored as she is once again making stellar grades and she also gets to explore her interests while learning through her magnet program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Gardendale has great teachers who care about their students. It is a Magnet school and year round so we have different times to plan vacations. It is a Grade A School with a lot of hard working parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Gardendale has an amazing program, offering many choices and paths for its students. The faculty and kids are both awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

We are a magnet school that teaches students in a hands-on, integrated manor that keeps kids interested. Students have the opportunity to choose which magnet they are interested in (math and science, microsociety, or performing arts) and generally excel due to the interesting and effective curriculum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2009

I love the Integrated Thematic Instruction and how the teachers use many hands on activities throughout their classrooms to make an impact on the students. There is also a family atmosphere among the teachers and staff and this helps build community among the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Gardendale provides all students with a positive learning environment. Teachers use hands on activities that engage students and promote a deeper understanding of the concepts being taught.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2009

For 17 years Gardendale has been going strong as a year round magnet school. The four magnets provide an opportunity for hands-on experiences that allow students to growth in a non-traditional setting. The dedicated faculty and staff goes above the call of duty and the students are the 'Best In Brevard'!


Posted June 13, 2009

This is the second year that I have had my daughter at GEMS. She is doing great. Her confidence is through the roof. Since she has been there they have noticed her talents and help to cultivate them. This has made her feel very successful. Thanks to the staff they have helped us involve her in some special programs for art and writing that I, as a parent, was not even aware of. It is a very friendly and positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Gardendale provides an EXCELLENT educational experience for my children! There are NUMEROUS extra-ciricular activities, significant community and parental involvement and good after-care facilities. My daughter LOVES school there and does not want to miss a single day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

We recently left our neighborhood school as my daughter who use to get upset at missing school when she was sick, started begging not to go. At Gardendale, they are driven by the student's needs and interests not jsut FCAT. My daughter has told me many times how much she never wants to go back to her old school and thanks me for going out of my way to take her to Gardendale. We could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

You need to be involved to make any school successful. Mrs. Moeller cares and wants parent involvment. She really cares about the students and continues to make performing arts show it's best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

This is our first year at Gardendale. I have been very impressed with the schools response to special needs of each child. They trat everyone individually and address each child's different way of learning. I love the variety of classes and ways of learning. I love the communication between administration and parents. We are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Since starting Gardendale in July of 2005 our children have not enjoyed school more! The teachers are thorough, and seem to really care about their students. The new principal Ms. Moeller has been a great asset this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

The best school my son ever attended. The availability of music, art and traditional learning wrapped all into a performing arts schedule with superb teachers that cannot be matched anywhere. This school is a 5 star school top to bottom. We love it and were sorry to move away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

Excellent magnet school that combines the basics with 4 specialized centers. The school works on a year round schedule which has proven to be successful with their students (An 'A' school for three years in a row). Teachers are great and really care about their students academic and personal growth. Good job folks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2004

I've had two in Gardendale starting in August of 1995. The school was awesome. In the time since Patty Martin the now acting 'Warden, CEO, Boss', I mean elementary school principal has been in power I have seen a huge decrease in volunteers and a decline in the magnets. There was a loss in the Micromagnet lead teacher, Janie Rogers who had gotten grants of over $450,000 this year. There was no Micro program 2003-2004. My opinon as a parent with many volunteer hours is Ms. Martin should be fired! She is not child, parent or staff oriented. She lacks any people skills. She is always right no matter what. Two of the three long time office employees are gone, including parent, PTO, and many good teachers because they all were treated badly. Martin should be a Corporate CEO, not an elementary principal. Sadly, we are done with Gardendale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2004

Our kids have only attended GEMS.This year was the last year for our oldest and there's only 2 years left for our youngest; she'll finish them there. We've come to value the school's student diversity and it's, overall, inclusionary philosophy. As a 4 magnet school the students can get their 3 R's with an additional emphasis in Arts/Cultures, Microsociety, Math/Science and Performing Arts. This begins in the 4th grade. Magnets offer unique opportunities for appropriately inclined students. However, without thoughtful, consistent guidance from the administration and teaching staff these magnets can unexpectedly create exclusionary thinking in the minds of some of their student members. This can lead to segments of the student body feeling a sort of celebrity based on the perceived value of the magnet they're a part of. Equitable allocation of time/resources with increased intermagnet partnering should bring resolution and I believe this effort to be underway. All things evolve!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Black 19% 23%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A9%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%58%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Terri H Moeller
Fax number
  • (321) 454-1094

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 Grove Blvd
Merritt Island, FL 32953
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 452-1411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Merritt Island High School
Merritt Island, FL



Divine Mercy Catholic School
Merritt Island, FL


Kld Learning Center
Merritt Island, FL


KLD Learning Center
Merritt Island, FL


Wise Christian School
Merritt Island, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT