Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
We have children at Gardendale for the past 9 years. It has always been a wonderful school, with fantastic teachers. Both of my children have been in the the performing arts magnet and have excelled both academically and artistically, with credit going to ALL of the teachers they have had since Kindergarten.

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted December 03, 2012
- a parent
Gardendale is great. I changed schools so the kids could attend band, chorus, art and have hands on activities to learn math and science. Kids learn real life experience with MicroSociety. Teachers, Staff and Principal are exceptional.


Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
Gardendale is a true GEM. Even though it meant bussing over SR-520 every day, we decided that their intangible offerings were more important than a newer or higher technology school. By intangible, I mean Reasonable student population size for elementary school Year Round School (9 weeks in school followed by a 3 week mini vacation;summer break is 6 weeks) Practical use of garden maintenance Practical use of banking system with GEMS Dollars Hands on experimentation of various art forms Allowing students to choose a focus of study at 4th grade Morning Mile (running group before school) Great Teachers Great Staffers Student Safety Great Principal Great Parent willing to Volunteer While most of the intangibles are fueled by volunteer teachers(ie. parents), I would like to point to Mrs. Moeller, the principal, as our adventure coordinator. Not many principals would agree to a garden program or morning running program and so forth even if they had volunteers.

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted September 23, 2012
- a parent
Gardendale Elementary Magnet has been a godsend to our family. After moving to Brevard County two years ago and buying a home in an area based on school rankings I was dismayed to find out that one of the top performing schools in this county, while impressive turned out to be a rather sterile learning environment where the vast research on learning styles was acknowledged but not being implemented. After watching my once 'excited to learn child' slowly wilt and doubt her previous success in academics in an environment where they "teach the test" by which repetition/drill/memorize/regurgitate is the favored method, I knew I had to do something to get her excited about learning again. I found Gardendale in a desperate search for a school that encouraged creativity and innovation in addition to maintaining high academic standards. As soon as I read the description, I knew this was where she should have been all along (if only I had known about schools of choice and our options). My daughter's confidence in her academic abilities have been restored as she is once again making stellar grades and she also gets to explore her interests while learning through her magnet program.

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Gardendale has great teachers who care about their students. It is a Magnet school and year round so we have different times to plan vacations. It is a Grade A School with a lot of hard working parents and teachers.


Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
Gardendale has an amazing program, offering many choices and paths for its students. The faculty and kids are both awesome!

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a teacher
We are a magnet school that teaches students in a hands-on, integrated manor that keeps kids interested. Students have the opportunity to choose which magnet they are interested in (math and science, microsociety, or performing arts) and generally excel due to the interesting and effective curriculum.

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
I love the Integrated Thematic Instruction and how the teachers use many hands on activities throughout their classrooms to make an impact on the students. There is also a family atmosphere among the teachers and staff and this helps build community among the students.


Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a teacher
Gardendale provides all students with a positive learning environment. Teachers use hands on activities that engage students and promote a deeper understanding of the concepts being taught.

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a community member
For 17 years Gardendale has been going strong as a year round magnet school. The four magnets provide an opportunity for hands-on experiences that allow students to growth in a non-traditional setting. The dedicated faculty and staff goes above the call of duty and the students are the 'Best In Brevard'!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gardendale Elementary Magnet School
301 Grove Blvd, Merritt Island, FL  32953
(321) 452-1411
Last modified Gardendale Elementary Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gardendale Elementary Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top