Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Jefferson Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 642 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, September 16, 2014

We have had 5 children attend JMS over the recent years and have been impressed with the quality of this school, including: academic focus of the faculty; excellence of the art/music program; friendliness of the administrative staff; facilities; and level of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My daughter is graduating this year from JMS and it's been a tremendous experience for her. She is in the Galileo program and she was fortunate to have the same teachers for Math, Science, English and History for 2 years. The Galileo program is a very challenging program but it really prepared her for MIHS. Truly the teachers are fantastic at JMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I have a daughter that has attendef TJM for several years and us graduating this year. Some of the teachers have been phenominal while others have neen medioaker... the education she has received has been ok, but wish it could have been better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

I am so proud that my son was able to attend such a wonderful middle school. The school was quite proactive on communication with parents and provided many extra curricular activities that promotes soaial growth for a student at this age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

I've been working at Jefferson for 2 years as an ESE support staff member. The staff at Jefferson is very caring and always strives to do what is best for students. There are a lot of extracurricular activities for the students, and academically there are classes offered both for students who need opportunities for enrichment and for remediation. The administration and staff both strive to improve parent/school communication. My children are grown, but I would be happy to have them attend Jefferson Middle School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2013

I have worked at Jefferson for many years and consider it the best school I've ever worked in. The student body is a great group of kids, the parent organization active and supportive and the administration encouraging of its teachers. For high achieving students we offer the Galileo program that addresses the curriculum in ways that appeal to students who are gifted. Our band and chorus regularly receive superiors at competition, and we have many extra-curricular programs outside of the school day. If we were zoned for this area, this is the school I would put my own kids in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2013

I have had three students go through Jefferson am am very proud of the fact that they still consider themselves Statesmen. It is an excellent middle school that prepares the students to be ready for high school. I love how friendly the front office is and now that we have Edline to look at - the teachers are very easy to reach. I feel the best part of the school is how the teachers work together in teams. When I had a question, I can call one teacher and meet with all four. Not all schools do that and I found it very helpful. I also feel the school is very safe because when my son was there he would tell me he feels the resource officer does a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

I love technology and the social media that allows us instant information; however, I take exception when the information shared is not accurate. If you are interested in Merritt Island and coming to Jefferson I ask that you please talk to the parents on Merritt Island. We have an excellent parent organization with lots of parents who would be very happy to talk to anyone about their experiences at Jefferson. To see my school rated so low because of 12 unhappy parents is unsettling. I also, as the principal, would love to talk to anyone interested in my school. I have an open door policy and talk to anyone who come into the school. Thank you for considering that 12 people might not give an accurate representation of an organization the serves over 650 students a year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2013

My child is zoned for a different school and attends Jefferson as an out-of-area student. I have a nephew that attends as well. We have had no problems, it is a great school. It appears that most of the bad comments/ratings are left by parents that have children with discipline problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Thomas Jefferson Middle School is an excellent school. My daughter was part of the Principal Leadership academy, Cheerleading and much more. they have many events for the kids to participate in .. Teachers are great and the Dean keeps the school safe and ship shape
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

I have been very happy with this school. All of my son's teachers are very involved in his education and reach out to communicate with me. The principal is very involved in nurturing this difficult adolescent age and is also very involved in the community at large as well. The parent organization provides great support to the school as well. I believe my son is getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Not the best school in Merritt island. My daughters friend was locked in a bathroom at JMS. I do not reccomend this school


Posted July 21, 2012

Horrible school...very few teachers care about students, the Assistant Principal is a joke (I feel bad for her children), and the Principal is either lazy or incompetent because she NEVER responds to issues, she'd rather sick her little Asst. Principal with no brains or compassion to deal with your issues. Teachers bully children and allow other children to bully each other...my child got into trouble for defending a child who was so badly bullied he told my son he wanted to hurt himself...this school needs a lot of training for staff, and their front office needs an attitude adjustment. School nurse - got her degree out of a crackerjack box or something because she's not too swift. Learning- a joke, moved my son here from up north and he was re-learning everything from 5th and 6th grade in 7th and 8th. After the experience we have had with Merritt Island schools (Jefferson & Tropical), we decided to send our children to school out of this town...I'd rather take a long drive than use this town's schools...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

This school has to be the worst school in the area. The teachers bully the kids. The teachers expect the hormone raging, puberty stage teenagers to have more control than the teachers do. The Dean of Students is the biggest bully of all. She enjoys belittling and pushing students around. If there was another option for public school in Merritt Island, we would be there. I wish more parents could stand together and be heard, but we all know that will never happen. Considering a bus driver can beat up a parent and still drive a bus in the county, could we really expect the county to do anything but support a bully for a Dean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

jms is a very bad school the only reson that everyone gose thar is that is the only middle school in merritt island i went thar and i did not get help from any teathers all the school cairs bout is fcat scors i will never sind my kids to this school.and i dont think any one can say something good bout this school.


Posted July 19, 2011

Horrible school - indifferent teachers, loads of mistakes in grades, edline is non-existing, unfriendly front office, ast. principal a jerk, not sure how they got such a good rating. I, parent of a 14 yr old, am looking elsewhere to place my child. Very mediocre learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

I am a student at JMS and i am very unimpressed. Most students there are mean and many find school unimportant. I know because in many of my classes students don't seem to care. I've also experienced bullying on a severe level so bad i was afraid to go back to school. On the bright side the teachers and staff are conciderate but few see what realy goes on. Over all I'm happy I'm moving to a diffrent school next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

This school has been wonderful. Aside from a slighltly odd Guidance Counselor who should not be working with children, we have been happy. Teachers are kind and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

This has got to be the worst school in the district. The teachers do not care, the school is over populated and run down. FCAT scores are the only thing this school worries about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

School is overcrowded. Primary goal at this and any Florida school is FCAT ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

301 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 76%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 7%
Black 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 134%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. LORI A SPINNER
Fax number
  • (321) 459-2854

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1275 South Courtenay Parkway
Merritt Island, FL 32952
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 453-5154

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tropical Elementary School
Merritt Island, FL


Courtenay Christian School
Merritt Island, FL



Brevard Private Academy
Merritt Island, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT