Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert L. Stevenson Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 485 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

Our daughter attended Stevenson for fifth and sixth grades after spending four years at her assigned (based on our street address) school. She wasn't being challenged at her assigned school but when she started attending Stevenson the workload increase easily 2x. I think this kind of experience could lead the student and or parent to feel overwhelmed and therefore start asking for help from the school and give negative reviews if their student's situation doesn't change. I could be wrong but my personal opinion is that those giving low markings to Stevenson fall in this camp. So first of all be aware of the increase in workload. However if you or your child are results driven and care about FCAT scores as well as GPA, then this school maybe ideally suited for you the parent (who would be required to provide volunteer hours) or your child (who would have to work twice as hard if not more than a regular school). Based on statistics, if your child is an FCAT 3 category, the school is not for your child. But if your child is FCAT 4/5 student and also willing to work to assignments and projects that go well beyond his or her assigned school, then this school maybe for your child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

Funny how the negative reviews that tell it exactly how it is at Stevenson, disappear!!!! Disturbing. Do not subject YOUR child to this degrading, unfriendly atmosphere. Almost all the great teachers leave and go elsewhere...what does that tell you?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

I am very shocked by the negative remarks on this page about RLS. I am a grandmother with two grandsons who attend this school. I have had over 400 volunteer hours each year they have attended, and I am there for part of every day, so I know a good bit about what goes on here. THERE IS NO CLOSED DOOR POLICY. Yes, you do have to go through the front office to get in. That's a security issue trying to keep the bad guys out, not families! Volunteers are wanted, welcome and recruited! If you sincerely care about the quality of education your child receives and you want to be a part of it, then this is the place to be.This school consistently ranks in the top 50 elementary schools in the state of Florida. Impressive in a state with several thousand elementary schools Children at RLS wear uniforms and sign a behavior contract. There are very few discipline issues and the overall attitude of respect between staff and students creates a positive learning environment.


Posted December 5, 2013

Took my children out of RLS after 2 and a half years. Both children were happy to go. Strangely unbalanced environment. The school and administration seemed too focused on buzzwords and anything that could get attention for the school. Way too focused on testing! Stifling, unfriendly feeling for an art school. Many teachers have left, all teachers there are overstressed. Very involved families and good students. But after my husband was spoken down to by administration yet another time, we made the choice to leave. We now go to Tropical and our kids are thriving in our calmer neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

PART 2/2 If your child is shy, and you want her to be more social, these teachers are so understanding. I used to be the shyest kid. I would barely talk. But my teachers pushed me gently and little by little, I became more out-going. I landed a lead role in the school play! We have plays. These aren't your "1 week put together plays" These take months of planning. The script is written, music selection picked, and complicated dances. And don't be disappointed if you don't get a part, or don't get in a dance. It doesn't mean you're not talented enough. The teachers don't pick favorites. Now are you gonna listen to a student, or someone who doesn't go here?


Posted February 21, 2013

I, too, like several other parents have stated, am so happy that my daughter attends R L Stevenson Elementary School. It is a fantastic school. My daughter has attended since 3rd grade and is currently completing her 6th grade and final year at Stevenson. I am so sad that she will be leaving Stevenson. The previous writer that stated this is not an Arts school, has clearly not been to Stevenson. My daughter has Theater Arts, Drama, Orchestra, Music and Dance every week. In the past she has had traditional art classes and digital art classes. She has been in numerous productions the school has produced. Currently the entire 6th grade class is completing a Capstone project in Animation. This school is all about providing a superior education while offering numerous arts (dance, music, art, drama) classes. The teachers and administration are warm, inviting and extremely professional. The thing I love most about Stevenson is that it teaches each child to expectation, not the medium standard. What a gift that is to our children. My daughter has surpassed the challenge and now far exceeds the norm....YEAH Stevenson!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

I wasso happy when my son got in to Stevenson .He has been for 3 years now .Excellent teachers ,challenging academic programs,I was happy.The school is not for having fun it is for learning and becoming someone great in future.To the parents who are writting all the negativity about our school:unfortunatelly this school is not for you, kids, they learn a lot here with the help of Parents and teachers,if you are not willing to involve as a parent in your childs aducation thats your problem not Stevenson schoos .Love the education in Stevenson as well as challenges that comes with it.You should see my sons face whwn he reaches high score_Priceless!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

As a parent of a standard child who us to be an star in her old school, I was in shock when she finally got into Stevenson. She was retained in second grade, ask me if I was happy about it?. Now, she is a great student, she was able to jump her reading level from kindergarten to third grade in just one year of remediation. She really loves all her teachers, front offices staff and nurse. As a parent, I always feel welcome, informed and part of the school. I will be always great full for all they have done for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2012

Stevenson was my oldest child's 3rd elementary school and I cannot give this school enough praise. Students are encouraged to excel and accomplish what they never dreamed they could. Teachers are incredibly devoted and caring. And, although the principal can be a bit firm, his expectations for each student is for them to achieve their personal best and nothing less. Kids are also afraid of him, which allows him to keep discipline throughout the school. As another reviewer said, the front office is hard to get past, but I'm glad they're not allowing all these parents free roam of the school. They are there to preserve a professional learning environment, not to coddle parents with attachment issues. This environment is not for everyone, but it's only one of three choice schools in the county who give students this type of challenge and put education as a priority. They employ technology, the arts, and individualized attention to go beyond what other schools are doing. The best anecdote about Stevenson I can offer is when my daughter was asked what makes someone "cool" and her answer was, "to be smart and get good grades." That is Stevenson and I am privileged to have my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

I have to completely agree with the comments warning new parent(s) of what RLS is actually about. I too have seen what goes on there and was shocked so many parents allowed a school to operate in such a poor manner. The "drop & go" parents don't see what is really happening there. They need to spend more time inside the school. (Which is extremely hard to accomplish, since it is difficult to get past the front office) However, I have talked to many parents who have stated exactly what the reviewer twice ago said. To sum up as briefly as possible, RLS is a hositle, univiting, uninspiring enivironment that believes in a negative, rather than positive teaching/reinforcement style. Parents are constantly pulling their children out of the school. And contrary to what they may want you to believe, they do it to provide their children a better educational experience. The parents who have saved their children from RLS could open your eyes to the multitude of problems there. You should try to seek them out. Also, the Arts program there is awful. The other review is 100% right. Put some art on the walls for tours, take it down right afterwards. Back to boring gray walls. Yeah School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

Wow. The previous reviewer certainly sounds like he or she has had a very bad experience. I am sorry for their experience however I wish to respectfully disagree with all of the comments. For the past many years, my family has not experienced any of the situations listed. My children have been treated with respect, during academics and the arts (of which is infused throughout the school - any of the frequent performances indicate this). And I do have the opportunity to participate with my children but not to the extent that it disrupts their learning or that of the other children. Again, I am sorry the previous family has had such a poor experience but I don't believe that is the experience of the majority of the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

WARNING!! Terrible School! The school enforces a strict, "Closed Door" policy, and they have a good reason for it. If you are able to get past the main office, you will see the multitude of problems with this school. The children are ridiculed and embarassed on a daily basis. They believe that they can keep the masses in line by making examples of individuals whenever possible. Group punishment is used frequently and they make entire classes sit with their heads on the desks for extended periods of time in an effort to punish poor behavior of individuals. The school cares about 1 thing, and 1 thing only. FCAT grades. They begin drilling the 1st graders for the 3rd grade FCAT, and they make sure they weed out the lower performing children by forcing them out of the school prior to 3rd grade. They will create such a hositle environment for the child and parent, that they will have no other option but to withdraw. They require 20 hrs. volunteering per family, but the school does not want you there. They will not let you around your child, period. BTW, it is supposed to be the School of the Arts, yet it has absolutely no art throughout the school. Your child deserves better!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Best school I've been associated with since I went to school as a child. Parents care, teachers rock! Kids are challenged to excel, nothing bad to say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

It's a school that motivates kids to do their best while exposing them to the arts at a very early age!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

the caring teachers and the opportunity for students to explore creative arts along with regular curriculum


Posted October 17, 2008

Best school ever. Those negative ratings are mostly from parents who's children where behind academically and they preferred to leave the school to avoid a hold back. All schools are too concerned about their Test scores and ratings, but the government is to blame for that. I have my 2 children at Stevenson and we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I love Stevenson! My husband and I put our son into this school last year and are impressed with the academics, arts program, and the dedication to students the staff has. Since there is so much time spent on the arts and performances, it isn't for everyone. I keep my son there (advanced, needs challenging), and my daughter at a different school, because she needs more time in the classroom. A-plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

What can I say about Stevenson that would do it justice? It is unlike any other school. This school is driven to be the best. It drives the students to be their best and instills a sense of community and a work ethnic. The teachers have always been there..before and after school working hard behind the scenes. My child has learned something that will benefit him tremendously every year. he learned how to ace the FCAT writes, conduct science experiments, and master all math lessons and even was accepted into the high school math classes in 7th grade . It isn't a school for the lazy student or the enabling parent. I can proudly say it is a school for rigorous and challenging work.You can tell from the last day of school when the children are bawling that they LOVE their school. Go RLS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My child is completing the first year of school at RLS and couldn't be happier. He is thriving academically and socially, and has the opportunity to advance even further with the arts and music, both areas that can enhance a child's academic performance. His teacher is excellent, showing creativity, excitement, and teaches to each child's strengths. The children in his class and throughout the school appear happy, friendly, polite, behavior problems are few and academics are strong. I very strongly disagree that the school focuses on their ratings, scores, or image; I see the focus during school and during afternoon activites on building a well-rounded child. There are many opportunities for parents to be involved, to be a part of their child's education, and get to know the staff members teaching and caring for their child. My younger child is looking forward to starting school at RLS in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

I was so excited for my grandchildren to be going to this school, I had heard such great things about RL Stevenson... But I believe that most of the teachers & staff have forgotten that they are teaching 'Children' in elementary school Not high school ! They are focusing more on how the school is rated for the year than on the 'children' they are teaching. I believe they are so concerned with their Image... they take their frustrations out on the children & their parents. I would not reccommend this school to anyone, And I am very relieved that they will not be going there next year !


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
100%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 71%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 9%
Asian 4%
Black 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%58%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. MICHAEL N CORNEAU
Fax number
  • (321) 454-3553

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Martin Boulevard
Merritt Island, FL 32952
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 454-3550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Audubon Elementary School
Merritt Island, FL


Lighthouse Christian Academy
Merritt Island, FL



Wise Christian School
Merritt Island, FL


Divine Mercy Catholic School
Merritt Island, FL


Merritt Island High School
Merritt Island, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT