Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kld Learning Center

Private | K-12 | 150 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Merritt Island

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

My child went to this school and it is a JOKE! It is nothing but a diploma mill and has significant dicipline issues. There was only one teacher at this school that could keep order so that the kids could learn and he is gone now. Now all the kids do is watch movies all day. The administartion has people in the community fooled and scammed. They do not care about the kids, they care about the Mc Kay money. If they cared about the kids they would create a learning environment. Do not send your kids to KLD, they will not get an education or be able to advance to college. The graduate numbers that they share are false and the kids that go here do not have success after "graduation".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

KLD Learning Center has been a blessing for our family. Our daughter has struggled in school for the past three years. The public school system would not/could not accommodate our daughter's IEP. She attended 4 different schools, along with enrolling in Virtual School before finding KLD. They have provided a caring and compassionate environment which allows our daughter to remain focused on her work. Consequently, she has excelled and actually is eager to attend school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

KLD is the best private school in Brevard County. The school is involved in every aspect of my childs education. They treat each student like their own. She attended other private schools and Never received the quality education that she has gotten at KLD. The staff and teachers go above and beyond what they are asked to do. She is taking classes that will have her prepared to enter college and for her future endeavours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Wow you can tell this school actually rates itself and that is pathetic! My child went there in 10th grade and learned absolutely nothing! I am livid at the fact that this school portrays itself as faith based and a foundation for our youth, but in fact uses the religious aspect for funding, hence Dancing with Brevard and does NOT put it into the curriculum or classroom. My child left that school with an American Govt credit and did not even take this class, so that is an example of how poor the school is. If she would have stayed there I have no doubt she would never have been prepared for college and that is sad. The other reviews are correct about bullying and vulgar issues also. Disgraceful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

Superb School! The teachers are involved and active. The staff is friendly and willing to meet with you on a moment's notice. The students are nice to each other and to others. There is no bullying, rude behavior, or suggestive dress allowed and it shows in the well-behaved students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Awesome School! So far, the teacher involvement in my child's learning has been the best in his 8 years of education! Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

It's amazing how clueless and arrogant these negative parents are. All they do is listen to what their kids may be saying instead of actually checking out their concerns. I've been attending Pillar for the past few years and any concerns I've had were worked out because I actually talked to the principal about them. How degrading do you think these terrible reviews are to the students? The reviews are completely out of control with insulting us students and the ones who see them take great offense to them. Our school is not a bad school. If you don't like it then don't attend and keep it out of your life if you think it's so horrible. Don't drag innocent people down with you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2009

Are you kidding!? I was told by another parent thats child has attended for over two years about your site and the rating you have giving Pillar.... You are soooo wrong. This school is the reason my student is advancing and even in school. It is an excellent school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

If anyone is even considering this school, I have one piece of advice....Don't. Maybe the younger children cannot convey to their parents what is going on, but my son could. Stay away, don't waste your money and most important your childs mind. Parents of students attending, go with your feelings. If they are telling you that this school is no good, believe those feelings and react accordingly. With this post , if I save one potential student or one attending student from this school, than I have accomplished my purpose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

WOW! I warn parents to check out the truth before passing up this school. I believe in its mission, its work with young people, and its effective education. Don't just trust what a stranger says - check it out. I have been there since the beginning and my son is 100% better off than when we started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

This school has been a huge dissapointment in every way it can be. Favoritism, lack of concernity for student's education, lack of safety, constant bullying and fighting among the peers, and vulgar offensive foul language spoken every minute in the school. Lack of communication from the staff and teachers to the parents is another huge issue. As a parent, I am concerned about what is going on at the school, and my child's overall progress at the school too. The environment that all the children are placed in is worse than a rough house, there is constantly negative behavior among the students. There is no discipline at all, the teachers/staff just ignore what violence is going on around them. But one thing is for sure, Pillar Institute needs at least three security guards or more, because the staff is not experienced at all to handle these type of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

My children have gone to this school for one year. It has been a huge disapointment. The unstructured environment is uncalled for. You might think so what. What school doesn't have dicipline problems, bullying problems, and vulgar cussing? But your wrong, this school's environment is a thousand times worse than an alternative public school's environment. Think twice before sending your children to Pillar Institute where the environment is extremely unstructured and poor. This school's environment will affect your children physically, socially, mentally, emotionally, and mentally in a severe negative way. The academics are also poor, and the teachers don't go out of their way for you like some schools do. You won't find anything Christian, proper, and right at Pillar Institute because everything there is immorally wrong. ~ A Concerned Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Pillar Institute is not a good school at all. Infact, Pillar Institute is so bad that it should not even be a school at all. Pillar Institute does not provide complete primary prevention services for the youth, and is not a safe place for an effective education. They do not encourage or teach students to make healthy positive life decisions. They do not strive on teaching academics or helping any student. This school is not a Christian school, when constant bullying, fighting, and cussing happens. Discrimination and favoritism is also a serious issue there. The lack of discipline among the students is uncalled for. The safety issues are another serious concern. At this school they do not care at all. The environment is worse than an alternative public school environment. The social/physical environment of this school will effect your child physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually in a negative way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I'm sorry but I have to give this school a below average rating. Its not the best school in the world. There's a whole ton of bullying, cussing, drama constantly, its sickening. I'm not learning anything academically and its not a good social environment. There changing everything this year and I don't like the changes. I'm also disapointed that most of the excellent, well educated teachers are quiting. I'm not staying at this school much longer that's for sure. Count me out for next year, unless they change the way their doing things fast. Pillar Institute is not a Christian school, neither is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2008

This school is unsatisfactory. There is constant bullying, cussing, and inappropriate behavior among the students. This is not a Christian environment and a positive atmosphere for any child to be educated or socialize in. I am disappointed because the first headmaster ran the school perfectly, but when he left the school went downhill like a flash of lightning. I am disenrolling my children right away. This is no atmosphere for my children to be in. The environment at this school is like the environment of a alternative public school but worse. Do not send your children to Pillar Institute, they will pick up bad stuff and not learn anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

I dislike this school. It is not a Christian environment at all. There is inappropriate behavior, cussing, and horseplay. This school is worse than an alternative public school. I was happy the first year, but once they got rid of the first headmaster, I remained unhappy. I am disenrolling my children right away. Although the teachers are well educated and care more than anything, that will not change my opinion on the environment my children are in. There is constant bullying, favoritism/discrimination, and there is nothing 'Christian' about this school anymore. Do not send your child/children to Pillar Institute, or you will be making a mistake that you will regret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

I do not like this school. They say that this is a Christian school when it is clearly not at all. Let me explain why. First and foremost, a Christian school does not have inappropriate horseplay of any kind, vulgar cussing, constant bullying, and lazy students that don't care to learn or put forth an effort for anything. A Christian school does not allow constant fighting, disruptions during classes from students, cheating, stealing, lying, or inappropriate physical contact of any kind. A Christian school does allow vulgar gossip and rumors. Christian schools do not allow students who constantly disrespect their peers, fellow classmates and teachers and staff and allow them to get away with it because that student or students are labeled teacher's kids. That is favoritism and discrimination of others and no Christian school allows such behavior. Pillar Institute allows all of what I said a Christian school doesn't allow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

awful school: cussing, inappropriate physical contact, horseplay, scamming, bullying, inappropriate disrespectful behavior, lack of discipline, favoritism, discrimination, lack of safety, and they call it a Christian school. This is not a Christian School at all. Pillar Institute is an awful school. Do not send your children to Pillar Institute!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Black 29% 23%
Hispanic 14% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (321) 454-7335

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

85 Richland Avenue
Merritt Island, FL 32953
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 454-7333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

KLD Learning Center
Merritt Island, FL


Merritt Island High School
Merritt Island, FL


Mila Elementary School
Merritt Island, FL



CHC Private Schools
Merritt Island, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT