Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Biscayne Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 665 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

Biscayne Elementary is a wonderful school! I only wish I had given it a chance from kindergarten instead of believing this "4 rating" without looking for myself. Unfortunately I chose to enroll my daughter in a nearby charter school that doesn't compare to Biscayne and wasted the first 3 years there. The staff and faculty are very dedicated and the resources available when additional help is needed is exceptional. I cannot understand for the life of me why the rating is 4. I think this should be reevaluated as Biscayne Elementary is now an A rated school! Go Tigers!! Proud mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2014

no ! is not a good school !! Ms. Costa doesn't get involved in the parents concerns, Doc. Santana also. I looked for them many times, I never found them, office stuff told me, promised me somebody will call me back. nobody did !!! very disappointed !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

My daughter is currently in Ms. Bell's 1st grade class! and I am so happy that she is. My daughter is extremely vivacious and energetic.my daughter may not be the best student in class, but with Ms. Bell I feel as though she has made great strides. My daughter reads better, is able to focus a little bit longer, and just seems so to appreciate learning so much more now. Ms. Bell is a gem! She truly cares about the children and strives to educate them the best that she can. I can't wait until my younger child is of school-age, so she can go to Biscayne Elementary as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Sy madre de dos ninos que estudian en Biscayne Elementary, solo puedo decir que cuenta con personal muy calificado y con alto sentido de responsabilidad y sensibilidad hacia nuestros ninos. Academicamente mis hijos han progresado rapida y satisfactoriamente , no tengo mas que agradecimientos !! Si algun padre esta inconforme puede sentirse libre de dirigirse a la Direccion y comentar sus inquietudes, estoy segura que seran escuchados !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

I do not recommend this school if you have a child with special needs. I have spoken to mothers with children from different grade levels and the majority do not recommend this school. The principal does not get involved with the special education classes. She leaves the decisions to the teacher of the class. If you want your child to advance academically and emotionally, then I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

This school has excellent teachers and extremely intelligent leadership, with both the principal and assistant principal's working for the best interest of all stakeholders (Parents, teachers, and students). Currently this school is now an official I.B. World School because of its teachers and students being so dedicated to worldly principles, attitudes, and studies. I have had too many great experiences to speak of at the school, the office staff are friendly, the students dress for success, the teachers take time to work with students even before or after school. There are some fantastic field trip to the Miami River, the zoo, The sea aquarium, Key West, etc. The teachers always ensure the children are safe during free breakfast and dismissal. There is a lot of heart at Biscayne and it goes a long way. It's a true neighborhood school that works with students from all backgrounds, languages, abilities and even gifted programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

The school itself embodies a lot of hard working, dedicated individuals who are there to serve the best interests of all the children. The after school programs range from karate, art, dance, and tutoring. They offer a lot of support to families. I know of several parents who have recently gone to administration with concerns and they set times and dates to sit down and talk and it proves how much they care and respect the group of people they are serving. This school is small and the building is being upgraded as it is an older structure, but it has a lot of history and teachers with years worth of experience and dedication. Mater Academy down the street boasts smaller classes, but in actuality they have double the classes size with two teachers, they also have inexperienced teachers with minimal time in the classroom. I have seen so many students who go there for a year return to Biscayne because there really isn't a better choice for free programs, after care, breakfasts, lunches, and people who really care about your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

I think Biscayne Elementary is a great school. The staff, teachers, and students are all well-behaved, and I like that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My daughter attends biscayne elementry school. They have great after care programs, with many etra curicular activites for the students to choose from that are afordable for the parents. they have many tutering programs for math and reading. and above all the teachers and staff members are very involved in helping the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My neices go to this school and this school really needs this help! It is great and the teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

Nice school and teacher but I think that parents could go to the activities of our child's. Parents could be part of each activity in this school, not children only because every parents wants to be part of each activity of their child and enjoying every activities with their child's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

The school staff is very present and with extremely qualified teacher. They go above and beyond to get their students to succeed. They show to us that our kids are not just numbers and heads, they become their kids too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

This school earned an 'A' rating again. The teachers are dedicated and highly educated. They work hard every day to make sure that they are doing everything to help each individual child succeed. There is a low turnover rate of teachers and it is a very safe environment. As another reviewer posted the kids are loud in the cafeteria, but it is after all their time to talk with friends. However, it's not correct to say that parents who drop off their students must park on the street. I only wish that there were more parents committed and interested in working with the PTA. Overall, the students have many resources at this school and are well taken care of.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 22, 2008

It is a ggod schhol, but some details needs special atention: the cafeteria is caotic, noisy and students did't show minimal courtesy and education. Teachers never take their lunch with the students because they use a separates break room. Also, the school does not provides parking lots for parents to leaves their kids every day. Parents have to park on the street if any space is found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I consider that Biscayne elementary is a good school, the teachers are very helpful with the children but the only I am disappointed is for parents that they should pick up the kids from after school there is not communication about what's going on during the day and what the child needs by next day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

If you have a child that requires special needs, this is not the school for your child. The ESE classrooms here are not supported by the principal, Mr. Luis Bello.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Excellent opportunities for parents to be involved, wonderful and helpful principal, and my child is very proficient in reading and writing now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Good school, though the art programs aren't too great. It has great academics, and I find that parents do get involved with activities and such in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

I have a son that has attended this school since pre-k and now he is finishing up the third grade. He hasn't missed one day of school this year. Before the first quarter ended he was on his 4th teacher- obviously leadership and guidance is missing for this school. Communication is minimal- for example there are gates to get into the school, just yesterday i went to pick up my kids from the afterschool the gates were locked and I had to jump the fence to get in, when asked what the situation no one knew they said the principal decided to do that and they did not know why. I'm a parent my job is to get my son to and from school and ensure he does his homework -did that. The school's job is to teach/educate - apparently they didn't do that 'FCAT'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

I beleive that biscayne elementary offers a great academic education. the extra corricular activies range to provide interests for all types of children. the staff are extremely helpful and involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 86%
White 8%
Black 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA P COSTA
Fax number
  • (305) 864-5543

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 77th Street
Miami Beach, FL 33141
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 868-7727

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Yeshiva Elementary
Miami Beach, FL




St. Joseph's School
Miami Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT