Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Beach Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1051 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2011

Hard to understand why the principal is receiving four stars for leadership... This school had a fantastic communicator and inspiring principal. Upon his retirement DR Quarrels, who insists to be called that, DR, has been a disaster in every area that I can think of. She can not even look at students, or parents, in the eyes... Out of touch with reality, the student body and teachers needs. Only interested in test results to promote her and the school ratings. Parent involvement, and some teachers are the upside of this mediocre school. School lunch is full of unhealthy choices. Office staff is unhelpful and sometimes even rude. Mrs Villar, the vice principal, is trying her best to keep the "peace" and this school together. Before rating a principal please look at all the parents comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

I have a son who started NBE this past year and was in Ms. Shaw's class. After two years of crying every morning before pre-k, I was scared a new school, new classmates, and a new teacher would be intimidating. However, it was quite the opposite. From the first day of school, my son was anxious to head to kindergarten. He loved "center time" and was reading by Christmas. But most importantly, he loved his teacher. Her classroom is warm and inviting. She greets each child every day with a smile and a hug. She plays their favorite music as they unpack and prepare for the day, and she ends each day with Circle of Kindness an opportunity for all of the children to hear something kind and positive about themselves. Ms. Shaw knows how to set the stage for a lifelong love of learning. Thank you NBE for such a beautiful teacher from the inside out, for a strong and committed PTA, for Friends of NBE, and for the dedicated administration who has made transferring to this school such a pleasure. My only request is that the cafeteria has better monitoring next year, especially for the little ones at lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

It is hard to rate a school because everyones experience is different. I personally have had a horrible experience with the teachers and the principal. There is no warmth and the kids are not allowed any self expression what so ever. Kids are treated with no respect and in return children do not respect the staff....common sense, right? Not for Mrs Quarrels (principal). Teachers my kids have had are yellers. My kids are straight A students and my son who had a terrible 5th grade year lost all interest in school. This year he attended MAC and excelled in every area. It is time to open our minds and educate ourselves about how to treat children, specially at North Beach. Hate to give bad news, but I do it when it is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

This is one of the best, if not the best, public elementary school in Miami Beach. The teachers are great, the principal is a strong leader and the parental involvement helps make this school well-above the ordinary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2011

NBE used to be a grate school. Currently, I have a third grader attending the school and my oldest child graduated three years ago. Important changes were made in the past two years with the gifted program and students no longer switch teachers in the middle of the day. The quality of education now is very questionable when I compare to what it used to be before the changes. I understand administration has the best intentions when implementing new operations but unfortunatelly they don't have the talent to realize that results for students and teachers are not positive. It is a shame. Great P.E., Music, Arts and PTA after school program. Have to congratulate second grade gifted teachers for the best spanish program. Wish they could run the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

We are new to NBE and its a nightmare. Principal does not respond to numerous attempts to contact and meet with her. My kid tested gifted but was not placed in a gifted class, because "class size is too large", teachers seem unhappy and overwhelmed. Halls and classrooms are filthy. Bullying amongst boys is a big problem that is addressed in a heavy handed hysterical manner. Only one day a week do they have a very brief recess period which is often evoked. The principal does nothing to make the experience fun and inspired but rather relies on handing out certificates at every opportunity, and empty warm and fuzzy words. We cant wait to be out of there. Must say though parents are great and their involvement exceptional if not somewhat elitist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

This school was great!!! i moved to the area just for my kids to attend NBE. this year its a mess!!! my daughters KG teacher is always texting or on her cell. this teacher follows her colleagues lesson plans and has no idea what is ever going on. i spoke to the ADMIN and they dismissed by concerns. This school is only concern with donations!!! IF YOU DONATE LOTS OF $$$$, THAN your child gets special attention. The school claims to be an A school but we are really a B school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN QUALITY OF 5TH GRADE teaching, sorry i transferred child. NO PROGRESS REPORTS, GRADE ASSIGNMENT UNCLEAR. homework assigned but not collected or graded, etc.. very random grading- what happened to the mid semester progress reports-no one knows. TEACHERS SEEM VERY ANNOYED TO BE THERE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

North Beach cares about the student's education and support parents' concern and work towards this goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

Totally unhappy first day of school. The fact is classes overcrowded , without parent consent students from bilingual classes were placed into non bilingual or inclusion classes.It is a mess. Principals biggest priority is Gifted , PTA and VIP. The assistant principal and teachers are doing their best ,big thanks to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

There is something going on with this school. School class assignment for the new year is a mess. Kids that were in billingual program are getting transfered to regular classe without parents aproval and vise versa. principal creates this mess every year and it is time for he to resign and give seat for a principal that will know how to run the school. This year the school became B school and we as a partents can just say that it is principals fault. Choose some other school is my advise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

My two sons have attend this school and I am extremely happy with everything, especially the teachers. My youngest son is always telling us how much he loves his kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Monem, and always excited to tell us what he has learned. Best school, best teachers, best PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My son has been at North Beach for kindergarten and first grade. I am amazed at all that he has learned in such a short time. The school organizes many extracurricular activities that make learning fun. The principal is very engaged, approachable, and in constant improvement mode. The teachers we've had, are also great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The best teachers and friendly staff. Parents are very involved. Principal goes the extra mile to ensure students are well taken care of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

North Beach has a caring environment with excellent education standards and a great PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

My daughter has attended North Beach for 5 years and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about it. She has loved all of her teachers who have all helped in different ways but last night she actually told me that Ms. Shaw (her favorite teacher of all time) was her role model. I feel so blessed that my daughter can attend the school that because of parent involvement feels like a private school. She will have wonderful memories of growing up at North Beach Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

the principal leadership is very poor. I know she is new but still dont know her classess start 2 weeks ago Techer quality excellent Safety very poor Extracurricular activities None
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Extremely happy with this school. The teachers are great and know how to motivate their students. The building is in outstanding condition considering that it was built in the 1920s or 30s. The students are very well behaved and parents are very much involved. The afterschool program staff is excellent. A+ school. School store should open early to benefit working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Extremely happy as a parent w/ the school save one item - the school overcrowding. Otherwise an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

Wow! What a School! Everything about North Beach Elementary is First Class. The grounds are maintained, the facility is in outstanding condition, the classrooms are up to date. All the children seem happy. Most inportantly, the teachers and staff are happy to be teaching the children. If anyone wants or needs to move and are concerned for their children's education, North Beach is the place to be. It is a private school within the public school environment. All schools should be run this well! North Beach says it
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 45%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%58%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. ALICE F QUARLES
Fax number
  • (305) 674-8425
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Prairie Avenue
Miami Beach, FL 33140
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 531-7666

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Rasg Hebrew Academy
Miami Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT