Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 67 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


72 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Beach Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
My son just graduated and went to middle school and I still have a 3rd grader who is 2 years in at this school. The school is awesome, its like a private school but for free! Great education, beautiful historic building, good sized classrooms, and the school is about to get capital upgrades including new windows, new AC, and a brand new PE field, basketball courts and playground! The parents are warmly welcomed to be a part of things and there is a great sense of community. Truly an "A" school!

North Beach Elementary School 2

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointed with the administration at this school. It is so difficult to voice your concerns and actually get things resolved for the benefit of the student. Yet they are always open to discuss and accept monetary donations. The office assistant is very rude. Currently my kid is in a classroom with 28 students where the limit should be 18 for a third grade class with one teacher. Every year it's a mess with moving kids around the first two weeks of school. The classes should be distributed accordingly before classes start to eliminate all this chaos. The teachers at this school have been very kind to my child in which I am very thankful to them.


North Beach Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
I am overwhelmed by all the bad comments. I don't know what they mean, my daughter went to school here for 3 years and every time I had a problem the principle was a great help, and I'm not on the PTA or anything. Truly amazing she was in the gifted program and she loved all her teachers and her teachers lived her back. Love this school and all the great things it taught my daughter!

North Beach Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
VERY HAPPY WITH THE TEACHERS!!!!! MY DAUGHTER ALWAYS TELLING THE GOOD WHO WAS YOUR TEACHER MS DIAZ, AS WELL AS THEIR ASSISTANTS FIRST GRADE WE WERE VERY HAPPY!!!!.

North Beach Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
The school is old and nasty. It's falling apart. It really needs some work done to it. The staff is sub standard and the principal is never ever available


North Beach Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
North Beach Elementary School Rocks because we believe learning is the key to success. Our K Teacher cares about the whole being of the student. She provides her students with a academic environment that makes them eager to learn Thank You, Ms.Silva ! We love school , stuff, principal, afterschool program, and PTA.

North Beach Elementary School 1

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
I've had my child at this school for a while and have to agree that there is something seriously wrong with the principal here. A week or so ago, she was standing outside one of the classrooms yelling at the top of her lungs about a classroom door and waiving her hands around like a lunatic. She apparently was yelling because parents were outside a classroom where the children were young but were learning to independently enter their classroom. She was upset because the parents were there and the yelling was directed at them. But, the teacher was late opening the door to the classroom, so they were all standing outside waiting for her. Even worse, it was in the middle of the hallway where every parent walking by, including myself, saw the classless scene she made. And, this isn't the 1st time I see this type of behavior from her. Words to the principal: Don't yell at the hands that feed you. These same parents you are yelling at are the ones who GENEROUSLY fund your school. You should APPRECIATE these parents rather than treat them like dirt.

North Beach Elementary School 2

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
This is the problem with gifted is that it's become a label. My child is gifted and in fourth grade gifted class. My child can do far more than the others in his class. Instead of a gifted program it's a regular class. There is no difference in the two types of programs. This is all because of doctors who are taking a check and not given accurate test results for gifted program. It's sad because those who are truly gifted are suffering. I have not asked for a meeting with the principal, but may need to do so to address the lack of gifted program. Yes,I would expect a one on one from a principal if I asked. It's called a meeting and busy people schedule them. If a principal won't give one then I would call the superintendent of schools to complain. Might even file a complaint with the DOE.


North Beach Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
a well run school with an engaged principal and staff, high levels of parent participation! Fantastic teaching staff!

North Beach Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Wow - bitter people hating on this wonderful school. While there are a high number of gifted kids - did you ever stop to think that may be a reflection of the community the school is in? If parents choose to have their child tested privately and the testing shows the child is gifted - how is that the school's problem? Sounds like some kids didn't make the cut. As for the PTA, perhaps they seem to get preferential treatment because they are valued as partners in the school - unlike parents who seem to only show their faces when there is something to complain about. Not even a one on one conversation with the principal (that's how to spell it by the way)? Amazing. When you consider there are over a thousand students - do you think she has time for a one on one with every parent? Ever try the assistant principals? I've found them both to be competent and quick to address my concerns. If you can afford to live in the area, you can afford to send your kid to the most expensive private schools. The fact that so many choose to send their kids here instead is a testament to how good this school is.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Beach Elementary School
4100 Prairie Avenue, Miami Beach, FL  33140
(305) 531-7666
Last modified North Beach Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Beach Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. Top