Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Beach Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 2473 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2008

As a current student at Miami Beach Senior, I think this school diserves at lease a 8. Beach High has great school spirt, teachers, students, everything. I love my school. I know your children would too. Dr. Sidner is doing everything she possibly can to boost Beach High up. I got my Hi-Tide Pride!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

It' s excellent! This school should diserve more than a 5! It should be a 9 or 8. It has great teachers and the students are educated.My child is happy in her new school. She saids the bathrooms are cleaner than her other school, theirs no gang and no violence. what so ever! If your in miami transfer your child to this school. It great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

As a current student at Miami Beach Senior High School, I am very pleased with how Dr. Friedman has handeled the school. Most people that speak about Beach High in a negative aspect really do not know the inside scoop from a childs point of view. Being the only public school on the Beach Region, Miami Beach Senior High offers a different outlook on various cultures then anyother schools. There is no race,sex,or origin segragation. I feel that MBSH after its construction will be one of if not the best school in dade-county. -current senior
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2006

Dr. Friedman has been nothing more than an inaudible cry for salvation for Miami Beach Senior High; a school more stale in recent years than ever. In this school lies all the condoments in the fridge, but no real food to eat. Dr. Friedman has done little in her career for this school and it is almost sad that we live in a country that keeps broken utilities in education for as long as it has been already. In progressive societies, when things do not work, they are chucked and a newer better things will take their place. In school, the sad reality is that the children will always starve in this semi-dictative environment. There are rays of hope however, the Scholar's Academy as a whole is a great idea. However, teachers of proper caliber Need to be matched up accordingly. Please do something people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

This schoolhas great teachers but it's on the decline. Mbsh has a rich history but its going through it s tough times.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2006

Beach High is just ok. Some of the Scholars Academy and Gifted Teachers are very good, but many of the teachers are glorified babysitters. Budget restraints have eliminated some programs like marching band. Bottom line, some of the specialized departments are good, i.e. gifted, vocational, but for the average student, mediocre at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

the school is very nice and clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

Miami Beach Senior High as it is today is a school in progress. As far as I am concerned, sports (which was something the school could have had going for it) are in shambles due to the construction of the school. Attendance is below state average, and academic work is nothing past average looking. There are some redeeming factors to the school though; including the Scholar's Academy, the link to a very wealthy community, and an extremely dynamic melting pot of culture. It will only be fair to rate this school once again later in the future when the new schedule and new school is set in full motion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2006

I'm a former student of Miami Beach Senior High, now attending Miramar High School. When I attended the school my freshman and sophmore year I loved it. The teachers are amazing and do push for their students to do better. This school gave me a feel of welcome and there is always something to do. My best memories of high school so far is mainly from Beach High. When people say negative things about Beach High, and usually are parents, about a child's grades maybe it's cause' their child isn't performing in school. Parents usually don't know what their kids are doing in school because most parents are not even involved. Dicipline and safety has always been a priority of the school for their students and it has shown. You have to experience the school for yourself to really say something about it. Construction issue: want the education, you'll get it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 15, 2006

Overall, the school can be managed better, since it is underconstruction there are amny obstacles in having a learning eveironment. The students in the scholars acadamy, get a great education while others may not. The extracurriculars are in vast amount from many clubs and sports like football and baseball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Miami beach high,is not a good school for your child to attend,thier main objective is to create as many obstacles and to withhold any vital counseling information and advice from you and your chid. We continue to pay for tutors that we can not afford but have no choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

I find it difficult to talk to the personal there since I do not understand or speak spanish. Please return to english speaking system. Also I feel the principal needs to care more for the students then just to make the school look good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2004

I'm a student at this school and it is so much fun. all the teachers care and are willing to help students in whatever they may need. teachers have a great attitude and interact a lot with students. the principal is horrible, Dr. Freidman, but that never stops teachers and students from having a bunch of school spirit. In essence, to what it all boils down to, BEACH HIGH has this sort of feel and spirit you can feel when you first walk through the enterance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2004

My experience with this school has been horrible. Some of the teachers really want to see the children excel. But there are apples in the bunch that do not need to be there. I have learned to skip all the middle and head directly to the top with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2004

I admit the school isn't in great shape and I'm constantly hearing about its great potental but what I don't understand is why no one is taking that step to change it for the better. Beach High is located in a very nice area, it should be getting the care it needs, we can definately could afford it. It has great potential.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

As a parent of two children that have attended MBSHS and an active PTA member, I have seen the school from many sides. Dr. Friedman has brought the much needed academics, organization, and tools that are necessary to keep our students on the cutting edge of todays technology. Our Scholar Academy is excellent as is our Travel and Tourism Program. Our Junior ROTC program provides leadership and great opportunity for many of our young students. As in most endeavors, the school can be what you want if your student is focused and the parent gets involved. My children have both received an excellent education here at Beach High.


Posted August 19, 2003

As a parent, I can say that the school needs a lot of improvement. The counselors do not paid attention towards the students needs. The teachers don't have the impulse that they need to teach and affect the students in a positive way. The administration is very dificult to reach and work with. I hope that for 2003-2004 term we (students and parents) can see the diference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

This school used to be a horror story and now it holds many treasures that are often over looked. and Miami Beach Senior High is a great school that just lacks funding and parental support. If you want to send your child here make sure you get involved in their education and support the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

562 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

588 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

602 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

611 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

429 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

513 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 66%
White 24%
Black 8%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 75%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN J DONOHUE
Fax number
  • (305) 531-9209

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2231 Prairie Avenue
Miami Beach, FL 33139
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 532-4515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rasg Hebrew Academy
Miami Beach, FL


Mechina Of South Florida
Miami Beach, FL


Mesivta of Greater Miami
Miami Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT