Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Beach Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 2473 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2013

Great school that has limitless potential for those who are willing to work hard and strive to be the best regardless if they're in any special program. There is something for everyone here at Beach High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2013

THE BEST SCHOOL EVER !! Compare this school to others and this school is like paradise compared to other schools trust me! I've been to to other schools because I am in the girls basketball team and we go around dade county to compete and all those other schools SUCK. Their dirty and nasty compared to our school. Trust me this school is the best the kids here are really friendly ! <33
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2011

Hard to believe the criticisms of the last few parents (some who can't use proper grammar) who claim that cheating is rampant (only) at Beach High. Cheating is a problem throughout schools all over the country. Beach High has zero tolerance for cheating and The Scholars Academy and IB Program, nor the school claims to be able to "get your kid into good universities or Ivy Leagues"....it's the hard work of the student in partnership with passionate teachers, a challenging curriculum and strong administrators which Miami Beach High has in abundance, that provides this outcome. Is it perfect? No, but no school, public or private is. Beach High is every bit as good if not better than costly, "elite" Miami private schools and it has a diverse student body, great athletic programs, great music programs and one of the best PTSA's in the country! I currently have a Senior in the Scholars Program and my older child graduated with highest honors from MBSH (also from Scholars ) and has been on Dean's List at their university for 3 years. Parents who are complaining the loudest should take a look at themselves and stop putting all the blame on Beach High for their child's problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

I think Beach High offers those students that are willing to work hard, a strong and challenging academic foundation. Unfortunately just like any othe school, there are those looking for short cuts and some might resort to cheating to achieve good grades. At the end of the day it is only themselves that they are cheating.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2011

Unfortunately, with all the pressure of getting good grades and all the competition in getting into good colleges, cheating seems to be on the rise at all schools (public and private). However, my Scholars Academy child would never, ever consider cheating and gets top grades in all classes. No one has ever claimed that by being a part of Scholars that one will get into the best colleges. Students have to do that on their own by their own merits. However, Scholars kids are well prepared and well received at good colleges. My child is receiving a quality education in a quality program at a really good school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

The "Cheating Academy" is definitely an academy of excellence. Every day, after school, once I bring my child home, I always see her studying for work. My daughter is in the Scholars Academy and takes multiple AP classes, and studies so hard she barely has time for her sports and hobbies anymore. I highly disagree to the name "Cheaters Academy," because she doesn't deserve a name like that when she does the best she can to achieve better grades and make it into college. If the Scholars Academy cheats, then how do you expect other kids to do any better?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

For a school that claims excellence and claims it is one of the best is far from the truth. This school is honestly putting up a false facade of itself claiming that it can get your kids into the top schools cause of its IB program and its Scholars Program but in reality the kids get in cause of their expertise in cheating! Cheating has become a hobby for many kids and thats no surprise considering everyone has an ego in Scholars that is larger than life. This school does nothing about the problem and does not discipline kids cause they're in "Scholars", seriously, they should have stuck with the name "Cheaters Academy" because that is what it has become. The school does get kids into Ivy Leagues but with nothing more than the help of their dear parents and changing all their ethnicities to Hispanic for those pity scholarships and higher chances of getting into top notch schools. Do not allow yourself to be put under this schools spell, it has nothing to show for and the administration has nothing to boast, its not like they do anything anyway.


Posted April 8, 2010

Miami Beach Senior High School is an excellent High School. Dr. Sidener, A.P. Mr. Flores, A.P. Mr. Patrice, Counselors, Teachers, Coaches and the entire staff know what they are doing and they all take pride in guiding each student to their dreams and goals. The school is very safe. If you want to volunteer, contact the PTSA. Please visit the school site at: <miamibeachhigh.schoolwires.com> for more information, or visit the school in person. My son has been attending Beach High for three years and my daughter is a Freshman this year. They are safe, learning and happy to attend Beach High! I just want to take a moment to thank the entire Beach High Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

MBSH is an awesome school. My oldest daughter received many scholarships to college thanks in large part to her teachers who can teach! Clearly she was ready for college! My youngest child struggles with a learning disability and she too has teachers who can teach and I feel confident she will be ready for college also. There are so many opportunities available to the students and an incredible diversity of people from all parts of the world--all very accepting of each other. As I've always said, you get out of it what you put in to it so, participate in your child's education and your child will succeed and you will be a proud parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

Gang problems and principal and teachers have a lack of professionalism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

Excellent facilities and a great, hands-on staff. I am a student at the school and, though I am disappointed with the level of security and the apparent discriminatory enforcement that the school has adopted for its policies, I am more than satisfied with my experience here, and feel that my educational opportunities have nearly equaled those of private school students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

The staff care about the students the bulding is well disigned. The school had good programs. The staff in general help parent envolment on children future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Because mi son deserved the best school of Miami Beach, and because the board are working hard to do the great job they are doing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Beach high has a very good staff.... And the new campus is the best....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Beautiful new school working toward an A. Great PTSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We have the best Academy of Hospitality & Tourism in the nation. Our students win the most scholarships and get the best jobs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

What makes our school great is it works. With the diversity of children and staff it has remained a safe place of achievement. Who could ask for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

Mr. Patrice was very helpful when I needed assistance with my child's attendance. The staff really cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

I am a current student at MBSH and I honestly cannot see myself attendning another school. I am extremely proud to represent my school and everything it stands for. I am an active member in the Academy of Hospitality and Tourism here at Beach and I feel a part of a family. The Principal is the best. She really takes pride in all her 'children' and in being a Hi-Tide. She has picked us up and still remains pushing us further to excel in everything now and in the future. Beach High is a one-of-a-kind school and I am proud to be graduating in the Class of 2010.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2009

My name is Vanessa Cuba and I love this school. Its pefect like a private school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

562 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

588 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

602 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

611 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

354 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

536 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

542 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

461 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 66%
White 24%
Black 8%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 75%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN J DONOHUE
Fax number
  • (305) 531-9209

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2231 Prairie Avenue
Miami Beach, FL 33139
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 532-4515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rasg Hebrew Academy
Miami Beach, FL


Mechina Of South Florida
Miami Beach, FL


Mesivta of Greater Miami
Miami Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT