Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 49 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


56 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miami Beach Senior High School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a student
Great school that has limitless potential for those who are willing to work hard and strive to be the best regardless if they're in any special program. There is something for everyone here at Beach High.

Miami Beach Senior High School 5

Posted April 22, 2013
- a student
THE BEST SCHOOL EVER !! Compare this school to others and this school is like paradise compared to other schools trust me! I've been to to other schools because I am in the girls basketball team and we go around dade county to compete and all those other schools SUCK. Their dirty and nasty compared to our school. Trust me this school is the best the kids here are really friendly ! <33


Miami Beach Senior High School 4

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
Hard to believe the criticisms of the last few parents (some who can't use proper grammar) who claim that cheating is rampant (only) at Beach High. Cheating is a problem throughout schools all over the country. Beach High has zero tolerance for cheating and The Scholars Academy and IB Program, nor the school claims to be able to "get your kid into good universities or Ivy Leagues"....it's the hard work of the student in partnership with passionate teachers, a challenging curriculum and strong administrators which Miami Beach High has in abundance, that provides this outcome. Is it perfect? No, but no school, public or private is. Beach High is every bit as good if not better than costly, "elite" Miami private schools and it has a diverse student body, great athletic programs, great music programs and one of the best PTSA's in the country! I currently have a Senior in the Scholars Program and my older child graduated with highest honors from MBSH (also from Scholars ) and has been on Dean's List at their university for 3 years. Parents who are complaining the loudest should take a look at themselves and stop putting all the blame on Beach High for their child's problems.

Miami Beach Senior High School 4

Posted May 04, 2011
- a teacher
I think Beach High offers those students that are willing to work hard, a strong and challenging academic foundation. Unfortunately just like any othe school, there are those looking for short cuts and some might resort to cheating to achieve good grades. At the end of the day it is only themselves that they are cheating.

Miami Beach Senior High School 4

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
Unfortunately, with all the pressure of getting good grades and all the competition in getting into good colleges, cheating seems to be on the rise at all schools (public and private). However, my Scholars Academy child would never, ever consider cheating and gets top grades in all classes. No one has ever claimed that by being a part of Scholars that one will get into the best colleges. Students have to do that on their own by their own merits. However, Scholars kids are well prepared and well received at good colleges. My child is receiving a quality education in a quality program at a really good school...


Miami Beach Senior High School 4

Posted April 25, 2011
- a parent
The "Cheating Academy" is definitely an academy of excellence. Every day, after school, once I bring my child home, I always see her studying for work. My daughter is in the Scholars Academy and takes multiple AP classes, and studies so hard she barely has time for her sports and hobbies anymore. I highly disagree to the name "Cheaters Academy," because she doesn't deserve a name like that when she does the best she can to achieve better grades and make it into college. If the Scholars Academy cheats, then how do you expect other kids to do any better?

Miami Beach Senior High School 1

Posted April 22, 2011
- a community member
For a school that claims excellence and claims it is one of the best is far from the truth. This school is honestly putting up a false facade of itself claiming that it can get your kids into the top schools cause of its IB program and its Scholars Program but in reality the kids get in cause of their expertise in cheating! Cheating has become a hobby for many kids and thats no surprise considering everyone has an ego in Scholars that is larger than life. This school does nothing about the problem and does not discipline kids cause they're in "Scholars", seriously, they should have stuck with the name "Cheaters Academy" because that is what it has become. The school does get kids into Ivy Leagues but with nothing more than the help of their dear parents and changing all their ethnicities to Hispanic for those pity scholarships and higher chances of getting into top notch schools. Do not allow yourself to be put under this schools spell, it has nothing to show for and the administration has nothing to boast, its not like they do anything anyway.

Miami Beach Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
Miami Beach Senior High School is an excellent High School. Dr. Sidener, A.P. Mr. Flores, A.P. Mr. Patrice, Counselors, Teachers, Coaches and the entire staff know what they are doing and they all take pride in guiding each student to their dreams and goals. The school is very safe. If you want to volunteer, contact the PTSA. Please visit the school site at: <miamibeachhigh.schoolwires.com> for more information, or visit the school in person. My son has been attending Beach High for three years and my daughter is a Freshman this year. They are safe, learning and happy to attend Beach High! I just want to take a moment to thank the entire Beach High Family.


Miami Beach Senior High School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
MBSH is an awesome school. My oldest daughter received many scholarships to college thanks in large part to her teachers who can teach! Clearly she was ready for college! My youngest child struggles with a learning disability and she too has teachers who can teach and I feel confident she will be ready for college also. There are so many opportunities available to the students and an incredible diversity of people from all parts of the world--all very accepting of each other. As I've always said, you get out of it what you put in to it so, participate in your child's education and your child will succeed and you will be a proud parent!

Miami Beach Senior High School 2

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Gang problems and principal and teachers have a lack of professionalism.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miami Beach Senior High School
2231 Prairie Avenue, Miami Beach, FL  33139
(305) 532-4515
Last modified Miami Beach Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miami Beach Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top