Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

573 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
If you have to send your child to public school, SPE is not a bad option. There are some wonderful teachers in the gifted program. However, there are a couple duds that are cruel to the children, yelling and having unrealistic expectations for them. Lots of pressure to perform. There are some great parents involved in the PTA and FOSPE, which make huge contributions to the school both financially and with their time. That is what makes this school the special place that it is. Unfortunately, approximately half of the school is out of district and it overcrowds the classrooms. The principle turns a blind eye to it because many of the out of district parents have children that are high performers or they are willing to donate their time and/or money to the school. There are compelling arguments on both sides of this issue as to whether these students should be allowed to stay. Slowly, more 'in district' parents are getting more involved though and the out of district parents are no longer becoming a necessity. Hopefully this momentum keeps up and the principal can have faith that the school will be fine without all of the out of district kids and those of us that live in district can benefit from lower teacher/child ratios.

South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 kids in the school and we love it! We've been there for 2 years now and My experience has been great from the start. The teachers, the office staff, media center personnel, cafeteria ladies are kind and attentive. We have a strong PTA that truly cares for the school and many involved parents. The school is clean and organized. This is true and real review from a parent.


South Pointe Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great people but their curriculum in reading and math is terrible. My daughter memorizes stuff for the tests, but doesn't learn anything at this school. The only learning I see happening with her is at home.

South Pointe Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much! I strongly believe that children in elementary school should never receive homework. My daughter spends at least an hour each day on homework. She is a child and needs to play - not spend her time on homework.

South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
I'am completely unsatisfied with this disgusting school! Not only is the staff rude and neglectable but the school's staff is not even acceptable to work in a school. The school looks horrible and unimaginable. I don't even know how this school is an A school. The good reviews are all lies! God forbid you sent your'e beautiful and smart child here!


South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I heard this school is great. It has great ratings and someone once told me that if they had a child/children they would bring them to this school.

South Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg g h ag s gs aga gasg asg asg asg ah hsah af asf hag asgah ash ahsha ga sfasd asd adsadad a

South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is a family school and a community school. It is special from the administration to the parents to the students. The teachers here are a team and have great love and respect for what they do. Any child would be lucky to be in such an academic, fun, and beautiful school!!!


South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2013
- a parent
Far away from being an "A" school. There is more to be an "A" school than only having students writing "A" grades. Of course, there are a few good teachers working at South Pointe Elementary but even these teachers overwhelm their students with huge quantities of homework every day not realizing that some students are bored all year long. Students who can't follow are left behind without support or additional help. Students who follow with ease don't get progress related worksheets. The absolutely worst experience I've ever made was the encounter with the school management and office administration, a group of disorganized and unfriendly people not able to deal with criticism constructively. Instead of a friendly welcome they make you feel like an intruder entering "their" territory. They prefer chewing gums, eating and talking to each other and don't mind you standing and waiting at the office desk. Is this an appropriate behavior you may expect from an "A" school? At the end of this unbelievable but true experience I feel sorry for those children who can't move to another school. We took our child out of South Pointe Elementary and are looking forward to a great new school year.

South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
Why are all the negative reviews being erased? What is the purpose of this web site if all the negative reviews are being deleted. The school is super crowded the classes have 30 to 40 kids. Some teachers are rude nasty they are over worked and the kids are suffering they are treated horrible. Before you decide to send your child there make sure you ask how many kids are in the class. Administration rude and unfriendly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Pointe Elementary School
1050 4th Street, Miami Beach, FL  33139
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. (305) 531-5437
Last modified South Pointe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top