Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Miami Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 588
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
I'am completely unsatisfied with this disgusting school! Not only is the staff rude and neglectable but the school's staff is not even acceptable to work in a school. The school looks horrible and unimaginable. I don't even know how this school is an A school. The good reviews are all lies! God forbid you sent your'e beautiful and smart child here!
4 people found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I heard this school is great. It has great ratings and someone once told me that if they had a child/children they would bring them to this school.
1 person found this helpful


South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is a family school and a community school. It is special from the administration to the parents to the students. The teachers here are a team and have great love and respect for what they do. Any child would be lucky to be in such an academic, fun, and beautiful school!!!
1 person found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2013
- a parent
Far away from being an "A" school. There is more to be an "A" school than only having students writing "A" grades. Of course, there are a few good teachers working at South Pointe Elementary but even these teachers overwhelm their students with huge quantities of homework every day not realizing that some students are bored all year long. Students who can't follow are left behind without support or additional help. Students who follow with ease don't get progress related worksheets. The absolutely worst experience I've ever made was the encounter with the school management and office administration, a group of disorganized and unfriendly people not able to deal with criticism constructively. Instead of a friendly welcome they make you feel like an intruder entering "their" territory. They prefer chewing gums, eating and talking to each other and don't mind you standing and waiting at the office desk. Is this an appropriate behavior you may expect from an "A" school? At the end of this unbelievable but true experience I feel sorry for those children who can't move to another school. We took our child out of South Pointe Elementary and are looking forward to a great new school year.
7 people found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2013
- a parent
South Pointe is Not a great school.If having teachers be overwelhemled with to many students and stressing the child with ridiculous amounts of HW and also teaching children that it is accepted to tattle tale on one another exc. means its a great school well then I strongly suggest homeschooling instead. Worst school I've ever had my child in. The office woman are the rudest group of people who have no personality and are very unwelcoming , I recommend just going into the office and see their friendly apporches as they continue to "work" as you stand there.
5 people found this helpful


South Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
My son goes to this school and while it is a great school, it is also OVERCROWDED because there are so many children attending that are not in the school district. The school needs to weed these children out. My sons class is a double class with 34 children and 2 teachers. The school capacity is just over 400 students and the enrollment is over 600 students.
3 people found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
It is with great pride that I as a parent write this review. My daughter is heading to middle school next year and I feel accomplished of having provided a safe and enriched school in many areas. South Pointe offers the students human and society values through the IB program, the Art and Music classes add to the individual education of each student, these teachers work hand in hand with the curriculum, and the academic preparation each student receives is very closely monitored by administration, making sure each student is reaching their maximum potential. Everyone in the school works together with only one goal in mind, the benefit and well-being of each and every student. The students at South Pointe are very happy children. I feel blessed to have had my child attend her elementary years at South Pointe, and even happier to see her enjoy her school, teachers and the process of learning so much!
1 person found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
South Pointe is an amazing Elementary school with very involved parents, progrssive teachers and a very helpful administration. The additional of the IB program has brought an extra touch to the curriculum, adding a sense of morality and international mindfulness. They have an organic edible garden that is a great teaching and learning tool for the students to learn about healthier choices.
1 person found this helpful


South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
The best school my sons went to in Miami Beach. Teachers are warm, caring and the Principal has a open door policy which is very rare. As parent, I witness how students worked in a peaceful environment which gave them a sense of pride and joy. South Pointe has been an A school for many, many years as a result of excellent administrators, teachers and supporting staff. If I had to make a choice again for my grandchildren, I would choose South Pointe without hesitation. It will be my number one choice.
1 person found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
I personally recommend South Pointe, because it is a great school, with great teachers, great curriculum, great administration, safe enviroment for the students, the principal has an open door for all parents and students.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Pointe Elementary School
1050 4th Street, Miami Beach, FL  33139
(305) 531-5437
Last modified South Pointe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Pointe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top