Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Miami Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 588
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Pointe Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great people but their curriculum in reading and math is terrible. My daughter memorizes stuff for the tests, but doesn't learn anything at this school. The only learning I see happening with her is at home.

South Pointe Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much! I strongly believe that children in elementary school should never receive homework. My daughter spends at least an hour each day on homework. She is a child and needs to play - not spend her time on homework.


South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
I'am completely unsatisfied with this disgusting school! Not only is the staff rude and neglectable but the school's staff is not even acceptable to work in a school. The school looks horrible and unimaginable. I don't even know how this school is an A school. The good reviews are all lies! God forbid you sent your'e beautiful and smart child here!
6 people found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I heard this school is great. It has great ratings and someone once told me that if they had a child/children they would bring them to this school.
1 person found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg g h ag s gs aga gasg asg asg asg ah hsah af asf hag asgah ash ahsha ga sfasd asd adsadad a


South Pointe Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is a family school and a community school. It is special from the administration to the parents to the students. The teachers here are a team and have great love and respect for what they do. Any child would be lucky to be in such an academic, fun, and beautiful school!!!
1 person found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2013
- a parent
Far away from being an "A" school. There is more to be an "A" school than only having students writing "A" grades. Of course, there are a few good teachers working at South Pointe Elementary but even these teachers overwhelm their students with huge quantities of homework every day not realizing that some students are bored all year long. Students who can't follow are left behind without support or additional help. Students who follow with ease don't get progress related worksheets. The absolutely worst experience I've ever made was the encounter with the school management and office administration, a group of disorganized and unfriendly people not able to deal with criticism constructively. Instead of a friendly welcome they make you feel like an intruder entering "their" territory. They prefer chewing gums, eating and talking to each other and don't mind you standing and waiting at the office desk. Is this an appropriate behavior you may expect from an "A" school? At the end of this unbelievable but true experience I feel sorry for those children who can't move to another school. We took our child out of South Pointe Elementary and are looking forward to a great new school year.
7 people found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
Why are all the negative reviews being erased? What is the purpose of this web site if all the negative reviews are being deleted. The school is super crowded the classes have 30 to 40 kids. Some teachers are rude nasty they are over worked and the kids are suffering they are treated horrible. Before you decide to send your child there make sure you ask how many kids are in the class. Administration rude and unfriendly.


South Pointe Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2013
- a parent
South Pointe is Not a great school.If having teachers be overwelhemled with to many students and stressing the child with ridiculous amounts of HW and also teaching children that it is accepted to tattle tale on one another exc. means its a great school well then I strongly suggest homeschooling instead. Worst school I've ever had my child in. The office woman are the rudest group of people who have no personality and are very unwelcoming , I recommend just going into the office and see their friendly apporches as they continue to "work" as you stand there.
6 people found this helpful

South Pointe Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
My son goes to this school and while it is a great school, it is also OVERCROWDED because there are so many children attending that are not in the school district. The school needs to weed these children out. My sons class is a double class with 34 children and 2 teachers. The school capacity is just over 400 students and the enrollment is over 600 students.
3 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Pointe Elementary School
1050 4th Street, Miami Beach, FL  33139
(305) 531-5437
Last modified South Pointe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Pointe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top