Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beacon Hill Center

Private | PK-8 | 190 students

We are best known for focus on student success.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Miami Gardens

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $66,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2013

This has been our families first year with Beacon Hill. My son has just completed the first grade and we are looking forward to next year. A special thank you to Ms. Robinson and Ms. Ambroise for helping to guide my son through the learning process, provide a fun classroom expierence and have my son waking up to look forward to going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

I am in love with Beacon Hill School. The teachers are professional, hardworking, and caring. The new principal has made a tremendous difference in the overall leadership of the school. The discipline has really improved and the teachers seem happier with her there. My 4 year old son is already reading (simple words; on his own) and can answer comprehension questions about the story. I only wish I could afford to send all 3 of my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

Beacon Hill is loosing the confidence of the parents. The teachers that are hired are excellent, but there is a high turnover rate. Gifted Teachers are valuable and should be treated and compensated as they are worth. There is a real challenge for Beacon Hill leadership to provide a strategy to attract and keep principles and teachers employed at the school despite and increase in tuition. Parents thought this year would be different , but it seems like a revolving door! Some parents are even considering removing thier child despite already having already paid registration and tuition fees... Wow, that says alot. STABILITY IS NEEDED. DON'T FAIL THE STUDENTS OR THE LEGACY OF THE SCHOOL!


Posted March 28, 2010

Beacon is known to be a great home school, however it is now loosing everything even the children. I can't understand why is it only the caribbean teachers who always put out all their effort in the children. After they are finish with them te children are done. This should not be like that. Now the principal on the other is nor doing at all. We thought that he would do a wonderful job , but no, instead he is helping to drag to school the school on its face. The discipline is very poor. There are lots of room for improvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Beacon Hill is now falling by the wayside. My child has been there since Junior K and I have seen the actual educational decay of the school. The Principal presently is trying with new ideas for the kids that are helpful. There are only a few teachers who are actually teaching. There is a general feeling of laziness and ' where is 4:30 so I can go home' atmosphere. Discipline if it exist is not consistent. The kids show up at school untidy. Is this a private school atmosphere? I am not happy about the school at present. NO extracurricular activity. Chess was a good thing for the kids. I do appreciate all that is done in music and the attempt at the debate club. Please our kids deserve so much more and especially with times being so hard and we have to pay out of pocket. HELP
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I have 2 children attending Beacon Hill. The curriculum is fantastic. My son s test scores were at a 2nd grade level when he graduated from Kindergarten. The curriculum is very intense academically, however, the students excel. The teachers are wonderful and genuinely care about the children s well being and education. There is nothing but good things to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Ever since my son been going to Beacon Hill I have not had any problem. The school is a good school which I rate at a C+ however, I truly beleve it can be an A+ school by encouraging the staff, parents and vistors. with parent teacher conference in how the shool better serve our childen and Beacon Hill Staff, how will can compete with others top private school, and what can will do more in raising money for the school with extra after school programs with an extended school hours like 6a to 7p
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

The school does employ wonderful teachers; however I feel the administration hinders its progress. They frown upon activities that don't monetarily benefit them, and create an atmosphere of apathy with towards their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

My child has attended Beacon Hill since the tender age of 18 mo. & it is my pleasure to state that the environment at that time was condusive to my child's mental development. However, I don't feel that over the years my child received the quality/somewhat secluded education that was promised during the initial registration. There are good and bad things about every school. This school in particular may differ on the bad because it is the administration that does not contribute to the success of the students, not the school, the students. There are very little extracurricular activities or actual after school activities that are diverse. The school doesn't have an auditorium (despite being est in 1959) so all school programs are held on the outside where on every occassion, parents have to stand for the duration of programs. This was only a better alternative to daycare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I am very pleased and impressed with Beacon Hill. I have always heard negative things about the school hoever, I took a chance and enrolled my two year old daughter. I have nothing negative to say because my daughter knows all of her alphabets can count to twenty and knows how to write her name. I can not take the credit for that, all credit goes out to two lovely ladies Ms. Robinson & Ms. Dozier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Beacon Hill still has the potential to be a great school for children. However, as with anything in this world, nothing is perfect. As far the teachers are concerned, the school has a good set of instructors employed (post-grads & pre-grads). The quality of education is not being affected negatively by the teachers; it is being affected negatively by how the school is being administered by the administrators. For example, how effective would certified mechanics be with fixing cars when the company he is employed by only facilitates them with screwdrivers? Furthermore, many parents have complaints about Beacon Hill and other schools, but there are very few parents who choose to actively pursue a resolution in an effective manner. There is strength in numbers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Beacon Hill still has the potential to be a great school for children. However, as with anything in this world, nothing is perfect. As far the teachers are concerned, the school has a good set of instructors employed (post-grads & pre-grads). The quality of education is not being affected negatively by the teachers; it is being affected negatively by how the school is being administered by the administrators. For example, how effective would certified mechanics be with fixing cars when the company he is employed by only facilitates them with screwdrivers? Furthermore, many parents have complaints about Beacon Hill and other schools, but there are very few parents who choose to actively pursue a resolution in an effective manner. There is strength in numbers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 2, 2007

The quality of education that Beacon Hill traditionally upheld does not exist anymore. It seems that money is more important than education. If it weren't for my daughter having a late birthday and had to attend Beacon Hill, she would not attend this school under no circumstance. The quality of education is at the lowest I've ever seen from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rebecca M. Solomon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (305) 628-4390

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • We offer music instruction and a performing drum line and xylobell chorale. Students perform and compete at the county level in various percussion ensembles, as well as oratorical and dramatic competitions.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18001 NW 22nd Ave
Miami Gardens, FL 33056
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 621-3604

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT