Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

William A Kirlew Jr Academy

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Miami Gardens

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $66,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

Wakja is a great school as i said a couple years back and still is my daughter Jacintha still goes there and she is improving a lot. This a good environment for your children i suggest you bring your child here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

My daughter is going to WAKJA for kindergarten this year and so ar so good. Students need more structure in their life and if they are not getting it at home then they will at WAKJA. We need God in our everyday life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

WAKJA is an excellent school. The Teachers are praying teachers, they take time out to pray with students if it is needed. The principal is great and cares very much about the well being of every student. Don't expect everything will be perfect, but the God blesses every effort that is made to further His work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

WAKJA is a great school for Adventists or Non Adventists. Children grow academically and spiritually. Most parents who complain, expect their child with a failing grade to be an A student the minute they enter WAKJA classrooms. The teachers work with who they receive and grades and behavior usually improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

Wakja is a great school but come to find out at the end of the day your kid does not know anything but how to eat and play! I'm not trying to say its a bad school but it reallly does not have anything to ofer like extrcurricular activities or anything! thats horrible now my child goes to a public scchool and i see more improvement in what she is learing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

My son is a former student. I was very please with the evironment, staff and the overall presentation of the school.. I feel like we were a family when I was there. All staff members knew me and my son by name, that is due to the small student - teacher ratio. I would recommend the school to anyone whether you are seventh day adventist or not...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

My daughter is excelling socially and academically. The teachers are involved and the administration is top notch! I am very pleased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

wakja is a great place to learn all of the teacher are able to give the students 1 on 1 they teach you how to study for test if didn't study at home they give you a few minutes they make sure you understand before they give you a test so wakja is pretty much a good schoool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2007

I love WAKJA. All my children went there and some are there today. The school is a great asset to the community. The staff are great
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 23%
White 8% 42%
Hispanic 3% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18900 Northwest 32nd Avenue
Miami Gardens, FL 33056
Phone: (305) 474-4760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Brentwood Elementary School
Miami Gardens, FL


Excelsior Charter Academy
Miami Gardens, FL


St. Monica Catholic School
Miami Gardens, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT