Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carol City Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 557 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2013

My son attends the this school and i think the teachers are great with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Carol City Elementary School provides a quality educational experience for students in a safe and academically stimulating environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 26, 2012

I was a teacher at Carol City from 2005 - 2012. It is a good school, but it became increasingly difficult for me to work there because I constantly being shifted around. I have approached retirement age and was in hopes of retiring from that school. There are great teachers in that school and wonderful students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2011

I love Carol City Elem. and so does my daughter. The staff is GREAT and most of the teachers I have encountered there. We most definitely love Mrs. Johnson, Ms. Wooten, and Mrs. Tarpley!!!! I love how they get the parents involved, which is greatly needed for the success of the students. I only wish that something can be do about the FCAT because too many schools are just focusing on preparing for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Mr. Gant is an excellent Reading and Writing instructor. He genuinely cares about the children and works hard to get them to reach their true potential. The projects that his class create are all fun and meaningful learning experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

The parents are increasingly beginning to involve themselves at the school. We need more of their particpation at the school and at home with their child. The teachers are hardworking at Carol City Elementary School and want to do a good job. The staff takes advantage of resources: professional devlopment and interactions with parents. All stakeholders are working towards increasing achievement for all students and will work extra hard with the bottom 25% acheivers. AYP and "A" school here we come!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2010

I feel the school is okay i just feel like they are not giving their second graders more attention being thats the grade before third grade which require alot of attention
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

They cant fail school without giving the school a chance.I love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2004

Poor quality teachers, lack accurate communication with parents. Non professional for low to middle class community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

This is my son's second year at Carol City High, and I just wanted to know, what is being done about the beautification of the school? The school badly needs a paint job, the water cooler in one hallway, is rusty, and looks like it could be replaced, among other things. Perhaps the parents could get together and volunteer some time to help make the school beautiful again, as I suppose it was before.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 76%
Hispanic 22%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PATRICIA BLOODWORTH_JOHNSON
Fax number
  • (305) 620-5638

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4375 Northwest 173rd Drive
Miami Gardens, FL 33055
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 621-0509

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT