Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carol City Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 478 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2013

My son attends this school in 7th Grade, while true most of the children have no manners and do test the Teachers we as Parents need to support the Principal and her Staff, Mr Altman does an awesome job as the ONLY Counselor there, some Teachers need to learn how to contain their class so that they can teach, call us for conferences, when a problem starts not when it has gotten out of hand, if needs be and if misbehavior becomes a problem & Security cannot handle it call the POLICE, tough luv is what is needed there sometimes,please Parents you need to support the PTA who is trying to assist the school, give the Principal a chance she is new to the School and is doing her best so please support her, they have good programs that the children can participate in, ALL STARS, 1000 Role Models,Sports etc,, come join us in making our school the best in Miami Gardens and raise our FCAT Scores..thank you, I am a concerned parent who wants to see a positive change at Carol City Middle I am inviting God to step in and Bless from the top to the bottom in Jesus's Name Amen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

The health of this school is beyond comprehension. We recently moved to the area and tranferred my child to Carol City Middle School (while I'm typing this, my son says "that school doesn't deserve to be capitalized".) The administration (in general) is welcoming, but I guess it could be because they know what's awaiting you on the other side of their offices. The following is a list of what my child has reported after his first three (3) days of attendance: 1. The kids curse more than the number of pixels on a plasma screen t.v., 2. The kids begin urinating in the restrooms from the time they cross the threshhold of the restroom, 3. The teachers spend more time disciplining (and talking/texting on their phones) than they do teaching, 4. Students talk on their phones and eat (meals) in class (w/o the teacher's permission 5. The students are negative, assaulting, insulting and bullying (an understatement), 6. The counselor is phenomenal and understanding, 7. Homosexuality is prominent with public displays of affection. This rating sounds negatively biased; I know, but with all of this going on, how do you notice what, (if any) good exists?!!?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

Yo wussup dis Rick Ro$$, I put Carol City Middle School on tha map, u know what I mean? EVERY DAY IM HUSTLIN!!!


Posted November 12, 2009

i think that school is great i went their for 6 grade but for 7th grade my mom transformed me to lawton chiles middle its no different from carol city so it didnt make no sense to change........i want to go back to carol city midddle
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

im a student of carol city middle well was but i loved it i just moved and i miss thta schoolso much the teachers r great and very good i love how things go over their''''D
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

This is a good school to have your child attend. The principle ia very involved and takes the time to help out individually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

its a good school and we learn alot and we have alot of good teachers here
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2007

The best Middle School in Miami Dade County that any child can go to....The best faculty, staff, teachers, student, etc.....just the best. Take your child there. Great through everything. Just exceptional
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I as a parent think that this school needs a clean up of administration and personell starting with the principal who I think is not annointed for this school. This school needs someone who is firm yet has a heart for the student as well as the parents. They also need teachers who are willing to teach instead of getting paid to do much of nothing. And where are the books!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2004

The Principal of this school should be replaced. She is not a good Administrator. Some of the teachers are rude. It is very disheartening as a parent to have your child attend a school where you do not feel like your tax dollars are at work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
20%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

229 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 90%
Hispanic 10%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 134%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JOYCE R JONES
Fax number
  • (305) 623-2955

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3737 Northwest 188th Street
Miami Gardens, FL 33055
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 624-2652

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Excelsior Charter Academy
Miami Gardens, FL


St. Monica Catholic School
Miami Gardens, FL




William A Kirlew Jr Academy
Miami Gardens, FL


Myrtle Grove K-8 Center
Miami Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT