Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miami Lakes Educational Center 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a student
The best school I have ever been to! I moved here and was very nervous about going to a new school but still my first year in the Cambridge Academy was just fabulous. Everyone here is just so nice and welcoming, it is actually kind of scary. All the other academies HATE Cambridge, because they think we get special treatment, but the truth is, were all treated the same... Just so ya' know :).

Miami Lakes Educational Center 1

Posted April 20, 2013
- a community member
Speaking to the adult program. What's the point of going to this school when they do nothing for you after you graduate? Want your transcripts to advance your studies at another institution? Try again the staff here doesn't care about you. They just want to use you and your money when your attending and once you graduate their done with you. People need to be fired and this school needs to be shut down.


Miami Lakes Educational Center 1

Posted August 18, 2012
- a community member
DON'T GO HERE! The office service is slow, the schools needs to be painted and CLEANED, they need more electives and academies, It's mixed with adult ed who causally flirt with the high school girls, They don't even have sports. I suggest to not come here and if you're already in SWITCH OUT! The school is terrible and the administrators treat you with no respect!

Miami Lakes Educational Center 1

Posted August 03, 2010
- a parent
The office staff never answers their phones at this high school. On the rare occasion that I am able to actually reach a live person to speak with, they do admit that there is an issue with parents not being able to reach anyone who works at the high school. This has been an ongoing problem for years. Since students have to turn their cell phones off, what if there is a family emergency and a parent needs to reach his or her child? An operator does answer when you first call the phone number if you press 0, but once he transfers you over to the high school, no one answers. I've also tried different extensions hoping to reach someone, but I just get voicemails which are full, so you can't leave a message anyway. HIGH SCHOOL OFFICE STAFF: PLEASE ANSWER YOUR PHONES!!!

Miami Lakes Educational Center 0
no rating

Posted June 28, 2009
- a student
MLEC is the best school around the Miami Lakes area. It has academies that you can study hands on. I am currently in the Cambridge Academy in Journalism and you have to get ready for AP classes and Dual Enrollment. the school is great overall just that it doesnt have sports to brag about against other schools and the teachers really do care about your education here.


Miami Lakes Educational Center 3

Posted January 04, 2009
- a student
dont make the mistake i did getting into this school because is not for the gifted. even the camridge academy is not worth it, for that go to school for advanced studies. the school brags about the A status ut does very little for extracurricular activities and the training is mediocre. not many AP either

Miami Lakes Educational Center 5

Posted June 19, 2008
- a student
Ive been in this school all my life since kinder. There are many great teachers. Currently my little brother is in this school!! i love it!

Miami Lakes Educational Center 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a student
I am currently enrolled in the newly founded Cambridge Academy, in the Engineering strand. Being in a new academy, it has it's pro's but overall it isn't that well thought out (But being the second 'generation' of the academy it has some room to improve). The teachers that I have are top notch, from English to Science, I have teachers that care about my future and help when they see something is wrong. The standard district given food is crap to say the most. They have a 'C cafeteria' where the culinary arts students, supervised by a head chef, make food from everyday hotdogs to spaghetti and stew (among other foods). My engineering class is the best I have ever seen. We are exposed to so many things, it's hard to fit into 3 years. Sorry for the lengthy review but knowledge if power! 'Please keep your review under ...'


Miami Lakes Educational Center 0
no rating

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Every time you call to ask a question, they always transfer you to a machine. You never get an answer right there. The rest is Perfect.

Miami Lakes Educational Center 4

Posted March 28, 2008
- a student
Great school but needs more electives

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miami Lakes Educational Center
5780 Northwest 158th Street, Miami Lakes, FL  33014
(305) 557-1100
Last modified Miami Lakes Educational Center is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miami Lakes Educational Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top