Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,403 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Miami Lakes Educational Center 1

Posted February 26, 2015
- a student
Horrible teachers don't teach! & there's mo extra curricular activities ! High school? Or JAIL

Miami Lakes Educational Center 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a student
The best school I have ever been to! I moved here and was very nervous about going to a new school but still my first year in the Cambridge Academy was just fabulous. Everyone here is just so nice and welcoming, it is actually kind of scary. All the other academies HATE Cambridge, because they think we get special treatment, but the truth is, were all treated the same... Just so ya' know :).


Miami Lakes Educational Center 1

Posted April 20, 2013
- a community member
Speaking to the adult program. What's the point of going to this school when they do nothing for you after you graduate? Want your transcripts to advance your studies at another institution? Try again the staff here doesn't care about you. They just want to use you and your money when your attending and once you graduate their done with you. People need to be fired and this school needs to be shut down.

Miami Lakes Educational Center 1

Posted August 18, 2012
- a community member
DON'T GO HERE! The office service is slow, the schools needs to be painted and CLEANED, they need more electives and academies, It's mixed with adult ed who causally flirt with the high school girls, They don't even have sports. I suggest to not come here and if you're already in SWITCH OUT! The school is terrible and the administrators treat you with no respect!

Miami Lakes Educational Center 1

Posted August 03, 2010
- a parent
The office staff never answers their phones at this high school. On the rare occasion that I am able to actually reach a live person to speak with, they do admit that there is an issue with parents not being able to reach anyone who works at the high school. This has been an ongoing problem for years. Since students have to turn their cell phones off, what if there is a family emergency and a parent needs to reach his or her child? An operator does answer when you first call the phone number if you press 0, but once he transfers you over to the high school, no one answers. I've also tried different extensions hoping to reach someone, but I just get voicemails which are full, so you can't leave a message anyway. HIGH SCHOOL OFFICE STAFF: PLEASE ANSWER YOUR PHONES!!!


Miami Lakes Educational Center
no rating

Posted June 28, 2009
- a student
MLEC is the best school around the Miami Lakes area. It has academies that you can study hands on. I am currently in the Cambridge Academy in Journalism and you have to get ready for AP classes and Dual Enrollment. the school is great overall just that it doesnt have sports to brag about against other schools and the teachers really do care about your education here.

Miami Lakes Educational Center 3

Posted January 04, 2009
- a student
dont make the mistake i did getting into this school because is not for the gifted. even the camridge academy is not worth it, for that go to school for advanced studies. the school brags about the A status ut does very little for extracurricular activities and the training is mediocre. not many AP either

Miami Lakes Educational Center 5

Posted June 19, 2008
- a student
Ive been in this school all my life since kinder. There are many great teachers. Currently my little brother is in this school!! i love it!


Miami Lakes Educational Center 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a student
I am currently enrolled in the newly founded Cambridge Academy, in the Engineering strand. Being in a new academy, it has it's pro's but overall it isn't that well thought out (But being the second 'generation' of the academy it has some room to improve). The teachers that I have are top notch, from English to Science, I have teachers that care about my future and help when they see something is wrong. The standard district given food is crap to say the most. They have a 'C cafeteria' where the culinary arts students, supervised by a head chef, make food from everyday hotdogs to spaghetti and stew (among other foods). My engineering class is the best I have ever seen. We are exposed to so many things, it's hard to fit into 3 years. Sorry for the lengthy review but knowledge if power! 'Please keep your review under ...'

Miami Lakes Educational Center
no rating

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Every time you call to ask a question, they always transfer you to a machine. You never get an answer right there. The rest is Perfect.

Nearby schools

Miami Lakes Educational Center
5780 Northwest 158th Street, Miami Lakes, FL  33014
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (305) 557-1100
Last modified Miami Lakes Educational Center is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top