Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Country Club Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1330 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2010

I cannot believe that they found human remains at that school! whoever lives near there be careful!


Posted June 18, 2010

Country Club Middle School is the BEST . the teachers are great . they have camaras everywhere .,Mr bueno makes sure nothings goes wrong .. yeah there some fights but what school dosent .. i love country club middle school .. mr.heras mr.haword , ms.roque , mr.geter ms iten , mr bueno mr.aguirre , ms. facey ms iten .. and the rest of the techer are the best ... THEY ROCK .. I LOVE COUINTRY CLUB MIDDLE SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

this a very good school i hope it says there for long time


Posted June 20, 2009

hey im a 8th grader at ccms and is the best school ever we have some awsome teacher i love you ccms!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

I am actually very happy with this school. I am a 6th. grader parent and my daughter just loved going to school, she got good grades and if she got lazy her teachers would actually let me know, so we could work as a team and that is very valuable for me. I higly recomend this Middle school to any parent who is worried about their kids safety and academic knowledge. Mr.Bueno (the principal) was great, so it was Mrs.Goodin (my daughter's home room teacher) and all the teachers.. and I thought security was very good also.. my only complain may be school food (poor & high in fat diet), but then again, school food is bad in all schools. Thanks for this year, I am really working forward for next year and so is my daughter... ^j^
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

this school is simply the best! i have teached in a lot of other schools in dade and broward, but this school is my favorite! the kids are quiet, behaved, and do not disrupt the class. they have an interest to learn. i have been teaching here for three years and i have yet to see something bad like a fight. the staff cares for the kids, and we are all one big happy family here! i highly recommend any parent to put their child in this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 9, 2009

country club is exellent!! most of the teachers are really awesome... ive learned a lot in that school. the securities are very good at what they do. I think its one of the best middle schools out there :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2008

This school is terrific! I think this is the best middle school in dade county i think paretns should put there kids in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I love my school and my Teachers!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2008

I think this school is great! The teachers and security do a good job in making sure my child learns and that he is secured. The principal can be seen at times in his golf cart by 186 street. The office staff is professional and polite. Great school!!!!


Posted December 7, 2007

I really enjoy this school's learning environment. The teachers are superb and the kids are for the most part well-behaved. Security does do everything they can do keep students in check. Sure there are fights here and there, but what school doesn't have any? Great school. 5 stars. - Joyce Lorenhall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

Terrible school. Had to transfer my child away from this school being our home school, due to bullying in the cafeteria and classrooms'. Security not around at the time. (though the Principal and staff say there are cameras installed ) no one saw anything at that time. I would think really good before rating it any better than a 2. We do not send our chidren to school to have to worry about what fight he/she is going to have to avoid. Sure there are some great teachers, but thats as far as it goes. Hope it works out for others though. Good Luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I feel the Country Club Middle school is a 4 star because of the security they have in the school, how I see my son learn more especially on the math and everyday he tells me how good his day was. I feel its very important for me to see how my son is anticipated to see me after work to tell me some news from his class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

this scholl is wonderful with the kids and learning is tops - the teachers are great - from a grandmother
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

443 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
80%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 29%
Black 20% 23%
White 3% 42%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00
School end time
  • 3:40
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jose R Fernandez
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (305) 820-8801

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18305 NW 75th Pl
Miami Lakes, FL 33015
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 820-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT